Activus Home Loans Employee Reviews about "loans"

Updated Feb 22, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 59 reviews

4.2
80%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Activus Home Loans President Jon M. Cordes (no image)
Jon M. Cordes
48 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on

Finance

47.6K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/finance/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Activus Home Loans~240627
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "We come across some difficult loans and management is always there to help resolve any issues that may arise.(in 6 reviews)
  • "Honest and straightforward business practices; access and support from friendly knowledgeable management team; efficiently streamlined loan process.(in 4 reviews)
Cons
    There are no cons to display at this time.
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "loans"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Solid Company

    Feb 22, 2016 - Senior Loan Officer in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This place is not your normal mortgage company. Everything seems legit and the employees have been here for a long time. They have great company reviews all over the web which makes it easier to work with clients. There are 2 types of positions. They have a JR and SR Loan Officer position. I have experience so I started as a SR Loan Officer. When you start as a Senior, you start up on inbound mail calls which are pretty much exclusive leads. Way better than working with internet leads. The juniors start with more training and making outbound calls to the companies current and past customers. Still not a bad gig for a new person trying to get into the business. They have a loan help desk to help you place and approve the tough loans, so they keep up on the guidelines for you. People are making pretty good money without having to work 100 hours a week. Lunch gets brought in every Friday and processing is very helpful. Overall, I will be here for a while and have already referred some friends here.

    Cons

    Office is far from where I live but still worth the drive.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Very Impressed

    Oct 5, 2015 - Senior Loan Officer in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been at Activus for a couple months and I am very happy. People are actually making the money here that we all made 10 years ago. The loan amounts are big and the leads are exclusive. In down time you can call their portfolio/funded loans or any other applications that weren't closed. With the whole system, I finally have a lot of leads again! Processing rocks and they don't have inflated rates like my two previous companies seemed to have, Loan Depot and Greenlight. Files move and everyone helps you get your loan approved. Which is good because they seem to have every program out there.

    Cons

    Sometimes the soda machine takes my money!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    VERY SLOW PROCESSING! Didn't represent opportunity accurately during interview process.

    Jul 1, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been a loan officer for over 8 years and am used to the sales pitch being given during the interview process. This company is no different. I'm always a top producer where ever I work and while I was at this company this was no different. I had no problem hitting their submission requirement to get the first bonus they promise and they kept their promise. However their processing department is so slow and because they work with one of the slowest lenders in the industry their loans can't close any faster than 60 days in most cases. I had a high number of borrowers drop out because we had to extend 60 day locks. This was ridiculous. So the pros are that they have a lot of marketing available including calls from direct mail.

    Cons

    The number one con is their processing. Also, they don't provide adequate marketing to the LO's who are just starting out but rather they require them to work for a while on the old database calling people who've been called 150 times in the past 2 years in order to recapture business. This was not explained in the interview process. Third, they give deals away to other LO's without notification in most cases if they feel like the client is losing motivation regardless of the actual situation.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    Activus Home Loans Response

    Vice President of Recruitment

    Your PROS: "I had no problem hitting their submission requirement to get the first bonus they promise and they kept their promise." "So the pros are that they have a lot of marketing available including calls from direct mail." Our goal is to make every employee successful and to help them achieve their goals. Thank you for acknowledging the positives. Your CONS: 1. At that time FHA changes in MIP caused a spike in FHA volume nationwide. We were taking 1000's of calls a month specifically for FHA. This large influx of business caused slower turn times at ALL lenders. This is why we were locking all FHA loans for 60 days. All lenders have a limited number of FHA Underwriters on staff. Our Processors are some of the best in the industry and work very hard for every Loan Officer. We only use lenders with superior service so that we can close high volume. There isn't time to use 2nd tier lenders who don't offer acceptable service levels. 2. In the interview process you are told that you will start on outbound calls to clients who have called in from a Direct Mail letter. This is a very large data base that includes old clients and new clients who were not closed within the first few days of the call. These must be good leads if you were able to get 8 loans Approved in your first couple of weeks. 3. We only give away files if you agree that the client is not moving forward or if you are not in the office for an extended period of time. Our clients are very important to us and when they can't get in contact with their Loan Officer they end up cancelling and stop returning calls.

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company culture

    Mar 5, 2015 - Senior Loan Processor in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In my 14 years in the mortgage industry I have never worked with a company that has such a smooth and efficient process. Management is amazing, everybody is seasoned, loans fly through quickly, great company culture.

    Cons

    No complaints! Happy Camper!

    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Traditional Mortgage Banker

    Mar 4, 2015 - Senior Loan Officer in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Number 1 Pro, processing and the speed of getting loans approved and closed. If you know what you are doing in regards to mortgages you will like this place, if you are not interested in making money and you are a slacker, probably not the place for you. Great company benefits with cater lunches on the regular, and fair introduction bonus if you hit the ground running on your start date.

    Cons

    The company needs to expand a little more, so that I could have a couple more lunch buddies. Would like to see a more aggressive 401K plan with a better match percentage.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Supportive Management Team

    Mar 5, 2015 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been a processor here for 3 years and it's been a great place to work. We come across some difficult loans and management is always there to help resolve any issues that may arise. Very supportive management team that treat us like family. The catered lunches is always a plus!

    Cons

    Bring a blanket, it can get chilly in here.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Sales Queen loves working here! I'm finally home!

    Mar 6, 2015 - Senior Loan Officer in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love how fast things move here - I've been doing loans for 15+ years as a Senior Loan Officer and my own standards on how files should move is pretty high! Activus Home Loans is meeting every requirements I've seek elsewhere.

    Cons

    A lot of lazy loan officers go through here - wait, this probably should be listed on Pros section of this thing. More for the people who earns it.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Activus creates an environment for me to succeed!

    Mar 4, 2015 - Senior Loan Officer in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The earning potential is fantastic. I made over 40,000.00 this month and never make less than 25,000.00 per month. Processing is dialed in our loans close in less than 3 weeks. We have exclusive call in leads which keep me busy all day long. The average loan sizes are BIG and the commission structure is geared for us LO's to make well into the six figures. The management has an open door policy and they are always there for support. They really care about us and make each and everyone feel appreciated and valued.

    Cons

    The only con for me is where the office is located. I commute over one hour each way.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great Company to work for...

    Feb 26, 2015 - Loan Processor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have worked as a processor for Activus for over two years. They have a great team of agents that submit good loans and maintain great relationships with their clients. Their system is streamlined which allows the files to get from submission to docs faster than anywhere I have worked before. They have in-house UWing that scrub the files before they are sent back to processing. I always have a consistent pipeline and support from the lenders to get them closed!

    Cons

    To keep all of the programs, they have different investors.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company, great people, great experience!

    Feb 27, 2015 - Loan Officer in Irvine, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been a loan officer at Activus for over 2 years now and I can say it's the best company I've worked for in my 10 years of mortgage experience. Processing is fast and communicates well, I often have loans cleared for docs in 7 to 10 business days. Even during ups and downs in the market, the phone rings consistently and a high percentage of the leads I get convert to loans. The support we get from management and the in-house underwriters is amazing, everyone here works together to get loans done, i haven't had that kind of experience anywhere else.

    Cons

    No cons to speak of.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

Popular Careers with Activus Home Loans Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Activus Home Loans? Share Your Experiences

or