Acuity Insurance Commercial Underwriter Reviews | Glassdoor

Acuity Insurance Commercial Underwriter Reviews

Updated Mar 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
5.0
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Acuity Insurance President, CEO, and Director Ben Salzmann
Ben Salzmann
29 Ratings
  1. "Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Lines Underwriter in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Acuity truly offers Work Life balance. Other companies may advertise this balance, but the benefits of working from home, flex time, health, vision, and dental insurance, 401k contributions, our in house gym including Trainers that offer free classes to all employees, and a strong family culture, are just a few reasons Acuity creates work life balance. By offering these benefits among many many more, it creates a small company feel in a large corporation. Which results in creating the ability to manage a family and a career with minimal stress.

    Cons

    I can't say that I have any at this time, only that I hope we continue to maintain over the next decades.

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2020-03-27

    Acuity Insurance Response

    March 30, 2020Social Media Community Specialist

    Thank you for the review!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Underwriter in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -I truly feel valued as an employee. They treat us very well mainly through our benefits and random free lunches, events, parties, entertainment at work through out the year. -The company is doing well. We are financially strong and I feel like our leadership knows what they are doing. They get results and are transparent in where we are going and how we are going to get there. -Job security. Along with financial strength, I have no fear of being laid off. We have not had a lay off to my knowledge since the current leadership took over 20 years ago. - Plenty of room for professional growth as we continue to grow as a company and move into more and more states. They also offer professional development for just about anyone that is interested. -Benefits are as good as you can find nowadays including an 8% 401K contribution without putting in anything yourself. We have also gotten another 2.5% put in the past 5 years or so as a end of year bonus. -Overall, Acuity really is a great place to work. Insurance isn't the most exciting industry in the world but you are surrounded by a lot of good people that help make coming to work fun. Also, you can learn to have a passion for insurance just like anything else. If you told me I was going to end up working in insurance while I was in college I would have imagined a boring career counting down the days to retirement. That is not the case at all as I genuinely enjoy what I do and who I do it with.

    Cons

    Very few cons. I do think we treat employees a little too equal. In my department there is very little differential in pay among employees with the same amount of experience regardless of work load. We lost several good employees from my department over the last 3-4 years due to our competitors paying more. To Acuity's credit, they addressed this with department-wide raises earlier this year which brought several good underwriters back to the company. I hope this is a sign that we are going to do more to retain our good talent.

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2019-09-19

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thank you for the kind words!

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Blows me Away. Everyday."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Underwriter in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything is just amazing. Everyday I wake up feeling lucky to be employed here. The support system and culture available at Acuity makes you feel part of a family that wants nothing but the best for you.

    Cons

    All the chocolate they give you goes straight to your waistline!

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2019-09-19

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thanks!

    Continue reading
  4. "Best in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Underwriter in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Support, Recognition, Autonomy, Appreciation, Flexibility, Culture, Involvement, Teamwork, Salary, Benefits, Technology, Management Attitude, Community Service, Philanthropy, Veteran Supportive, Opportunities for Advancement

    Cons

    Can't think of anything that is a con about this company

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2019-09-18

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thanks for saying so!

    Continue reading
  5. "One of the Best Companies to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Underwriter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone at Acuity is so friendly and awesome to work with. They really care about the individual and making sure you have what you need to succeed. Plus the benefits are nothing to complain about either!

    Cons

    I do not have any cons.

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2019-09-16

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 17, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Your positive feedback is appreciated!

    Continue reading
  6. "Top notch"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Underwriter in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Acuity cares about its employees. Teamwork, training, and a genuine caring atmosphere make it a phenomenal culture. Top notch !!

    Cons

    None that come to mind.

    Acuity Insurance2019-09-15

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 17, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thanks so much!

    Continue reading
  7. "Wouldn't work anywhere else!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Underwriter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    *Flexible Schedule *Benefits!! *Respect and understand we have lives outside of work *Gifts and Even Thursdays *Christmas Basket! *Amazing coworkers and managers *Family friendly events *Donations to local charities *Creative with communicating news *Lunch n Learn topics *Great training program

    Cons

    I should have started here sooner!

    Acuity Insurance2019-09-13

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    That's what we like to hear!

    Continue reading
  8. "The Best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Underwriter in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic workplace environment. Tons of benefits. Acuity values employees and goes above+beyond to show it.

    Cons

    Didn't start working here sooner.

    Acuity Insurance2019-09-12

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thank you!

    Continue reading
  9. "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Commercial Underwriter in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Flexible Schedule - Phenomenal 401K without match requirements - Fairly healthy work/life balance - Free on-site physical fitness facility including exercise classes with trainers - Open Door Policy/Approachable upper management - Great opportunities to get involved in outside of your daily work duties - Outstanding Family Culture > Free employee & family events including food, drinks, children activities, etc - Charitable, Generous company you can feel proud to work for.

    Cons

    - Employee expectations are inconsistent between management in the same department. However, you will get this at any company due to different management styles.

    Acuity Insurance2019-09-12

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Lines Underwriter in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, company culture, flex time, upper management

    Cons

    No cons that I can come up with

    Acuity Insurance2019-09-06

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Many thanks!

    Continue reading
Found 29 reviews