Acuity Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Acuity Insurance Reviews

Updated Mar 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Acuity Insurance President, CEO, and Director Ben Salzmann
Ben Salzmann
121 Ratings
  1. "Acuity Loves You"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Compensation -Flexible work hours -Ahead of the industry in innovation -Constantly evolving to adapt to market trends -Culture and Values Acuity is an amazing place to work. They not only value their employees (and remind them frequently), but they give you the tools to succeed in your role. Senior management knows you by name, and the culture enables workers to be as productive as possible. I am very fortunate for having the opportunity to work for such a great company.

    Cons

    There are no cons that I can think of.

    Acuity Insurance2019-09-20

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 24, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thanks for the love!

    Continue reading
  2. "Benefit package is the best in the business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Ls Conto Rpresenttive in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The security that comes from knowing your medical insurance plan allows you to actually budget your annual costs is outstanding. The sick day policy is unbelievable!

    Cons

    I canot think of a single one

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2019-09-19

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 24, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thank you for the positive feedback!

    Continue reading
  3. "Acuity Means What They Say"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    When the staff at Acuity say 'We have an open door policy' they truly mean it, from front line Managers to our Officers! Working her is simply Amazing!

    Cons

    Acuity culture is to incorporate fun into the day and enjoy what we do and who we work with, however, while we play hard we certainly work hard too!

    Acuity Insurance2019-09-19

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 24, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    We appreciate the review.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "No better place to work in America"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Confidential in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    First, the company experienced in late 1999 a complete corporate turnaround financially and culturally. To then have the same President/CEO since that time, creates significant amounts of consistency and reinforcement of vision and values. Acuity has since retained, arguably, the top insurance minds with the upmost aligned personal and professional values. When you ask employees what they love about Acuity, they of course say, the rock climbing wall, ferris wheel to enjoy during social hours every even Thursday (which instills a deep rooted sense of community), the 27,000 sq ft free onsite workout facility; but what employees also focus on are the people. Time and again, we experience employees supporting one another through challenges at work and even at life. With this deep sense of community, and personally aligned values, there is a desire to show up to work and enjoy the mission together. Personally, I have experienced support from all levels of the organization to help me grow to the professional I have become. As a millennial, this is my first full-time job out of college and I have no desire to look anywhere else. God bless America and God bless Acuity.

    Cons

    The free onsite workout facility ran out of towels one day.

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2019-09-19

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thank you for the review.

    Continue reading
  5. "One of the best decisions I've ever made!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Manager in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I started at Acuity fresh out of college and have been here 10+ years. Accepting a job at Acuity has been one of the best decisions I've ever made and I honestly hope I can retire from Acuity someday. There is an excellent training program, great benefits, really friendly culture, stable & consistent company future and strong work/life balance. I am proud to work for a company that invests so much into its employees and community. Acuity has promoted my growth not just as an employee, but also as a member of the community, a parent, and spouse. To work for a company that inspires you is so special. Acuity has become a second family to me and I am so truly grateful to work here.

    Cons

    Do not have any cons.

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2019-09-19

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. "Acuity Rocks!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Coordinator in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Synergy, Flexibility, Opportunities, Innovative, Employees Matter!

    Cons

    Really can't think of one! They cater to our individuality while maintaining a top notch company that will continue to strive for relevancy and outstanding service.

    Acuity Insurance2019-09-19

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thanks so much!

    Continue reading
  7. "12 out of 10"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Analyst in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Acuity is a great place to work! We are going Agile and it is fantastic. Our President, Ben Salzmann, is a remarkable leader and is the most open CEO that you will find. He communicates with strategic vision and enthusiasm. There is no better rudder to navigate and disrupt the Insurance Industry!

    Cons

    There are no cons of working at Acuity!

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2019-09-19

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thanks for the 5 stars!

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Blows me Away. Everyday."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Underwriter in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everything is just amazing. Everyday I wake up feeling lucky to be employed here. The support system and culture available at Acuity makes you feel part of a family that wants nothing but the best for you.

    Cons

    All the chocolate they give you goes straight to your waistline!

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2019-09-19

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thanks!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Underwriter in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -I truly feel valued as an employee. They treat us very well mainly through our benefits and random free lunches, events, parties, entertainment at work through out the year. -The company is doing well. We are financially strong and I feel like our leadership knows what they are doing. They get results and are transparent in where we are going and how we are going to get there. -Job security. Along with financial strength, I have no fear of being laid off. We have not had a lay off to my knowledge since the current leadership took over 20 years ago. - Plenty of room for professional growth as we continue to grow as a company and move into more and more states. They also offer professional development for just about anyone that is interested. -Benefits are as good as you can find nowadays including an 8% 401K contribution without putting in anything yourself. We have also gotten another 2.5% put in the past 5 years or so as a end of year bonus. -Overall, Acuity really is a great place to work. Insurance isn't the most exciting industry in the world but you are surrounded by a lot of good people that help make coming to work fun. Also, you can learn to have a passion for insurance just like anything else. If you told me I was going to end up working in insurance while I was in college I would have imagined a boring career counting down the days to retirement. That is not the case at all as I genuinely enjoy what I do and who I do it with.

    Cons

    Very few cons. I do think we treat employees a little too equal. In my department there is very little differential in pay among employees with the same amount of experience regardless of work load. We lost several good employees from my department over the last 3-4 years due to our competitors paying more. To Acuity's credit, they addressed this with department-wide raises earlier this year which brought several good underwriters back to the company. I hope this is a sign that we are going to do more to retain our good talent.

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2019-09-19

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thank you for the kind words!

    Continue reading
  10. "Best in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Underwriter in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Support, Recognition, Autonomy, Appreciation, Flexibility, Culture, Involvement, Teamwork, Salary, Benefits, Technology, Management Attitude, Community Service, Philanthropy, Veteran Supportive, Opportunities for Advancement

    Cons

    Can't think of anything that is a con about this company

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2019-09-18

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thanks for saying so!

    Continue reading
Found 129 reviews