Acuity Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor

Acuity Insurance Reviews

Updated Mar 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Acuity Insurance President, CEO, and Director Ben Salzmann
Ben Salzmann
120 Ratings
  1. "Great First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Unerwriter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Recent pay improvement -Great benefits -Fun environment to work -Enjoyable job

    Cons

    -Very flat organization -Little room for advancement -Centralized power at the top

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2019-09-12

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback.

    Continue reading
  2. "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Commercial Underwriter in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Flexible Schedule - Phenomenal 401K without match requirements - Fairly healthy work/life balance - Free on-site physical fitness facility including exercise classes with trainers - Open Door Policy/Approachable upper management - Great opportunities to get involved in outside of your daily work duties - Outstanding Family Culture > Free employee & family events including food, drinks, children activities, etc - Charitable, Generous company you can feel proud to work for.

    Cons

    - Employee expectations are inconsistent between management in the same department. However, you will get this at any company due to different management styles.

    Acuity Insurance2019-09-12

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback.

    Continue reading
  3. "Acuity Truly Makes a Difference In the Lives of Employees as well as many others."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Empowered to make a difference in the lives of others! When there is a difficult situation, there are people in every department willing to help figure it out. Acuity gives back to the community on many levels.

    Cons

    We are truly spoiled and sometimes forget how good we have it.

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2019-09-12

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Many thanks!

    Continue reading
  4. "I love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Processor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing people everywhere! Managers, coworkers, everyone is friendly & always willing to lend a helping hand

    Cons

    I don’t think I can think of any!!

    Acuity Insurance2019-09-12

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Wonderful to hear this!

    Continue reading
  5. "The Best!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Underwriter in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic workplace environment. Tons of benefits. Acuity values employees and goes above+beyond to show it.

    Cons

    Didn't start working here sooner.

    Acuity Insurance2019-09-12

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thank you!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Pick your poison"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some work from home, flexible schedule, decent pay and benefits, lots of extras: food days, chocolate etc

    Cons

    difficult to manage number of claims and provide good customer service, some coworkers do not get their work done causing more work for others , different expectations between managers. overall very stressful and not enough work/home life balance

    Acuity Insurance2019-09-12

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 12, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thank you for your feedback.

    Continue reading
  7. "Top tier employer, but room for improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Lines 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great training/on boarding. Unbelievable 401k plan. Good health/dental. Culture of work hard/play hard. Employees shown appreciation via gifts and events. Quarterly town halls. CEO and most executives are very approachable and there are lunches with officers throughout the year. Big company with small business feel.

    Cons

    Lack of diversity. They do hire and promote women, but other than that not diverse. Lack of transparency on how to advance in career.

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2019-09-12

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 12, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Your feedback is appreciated.

    Continue reading
  8. "Great company, lagging in tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Programming in Sheboygan, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great community, great people, amazing facility

    Cons

    Texhnology is outdated and the title programmer is a little misleading.

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2019-09-11

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 12, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thank you for the comments.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Overall an enjoyable place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Processing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great flexibility. Management is friendly. Variety of work. Generous 401k and HSA contributions. Lots of gifts/events.

    Cons

    Pay isn't as great as you would think. Not all departments get treated equally. Suggestions/complaints usually go nowhere. Not much room for advancement.

    Acuity Insurance2019-09-10

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 30, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    Thank you for the feedback.

    Continue reading
  10. "Employer that goes above and beyond"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Underwriter 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acuity Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been with Acuity for about 3 months. During that time Acuity has exceeded my expectations from the interview process through now. The interview process was painless. HR was prompt and to the point throughout the process. They showed their transparency as a company from very early on. My training has been superb thus far. All employees are here to help each other and are invested in each others and the companies long term well being. Acuity offers quite a lot of social perks for employees to utilize. Including events both in and out of work. Sheboygan is a nice area as well.

    Cons

    Few and far between in my first few months. I'm sure there will be something to complain about at some point but until then I have nothing.

    Continue reading
    Acuity Insurance2019-09-06

    Acuity Insurance Response

    September 9, 2019Social Media Community Specialist

    That's terrific, thank you!

    Continue reading
Found 129 reviews