Acumen Fund Reviews | Glassdoor

Acumen Fund Reviews

Updated Aug 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Acumen Fund CEO Jacqueline Novogratz (no image)
Jacqueline Novogratz
12 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Intern 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Acumen Fund

    Pros

    Great office, a lot of learning opportunities, high impact

    Cons

    Internships are not super well paid but could lead to employment or good opportunities elsewhere

    Acumen Fund2019-05-22
  2. "Aspirational peers and mission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Contractor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Acumen Fund for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are invested in the mission, and have a real sense of optimism. Leadership is working on moving forward, being transparent, and changes are happening.

    Cons

    Gratitude for time and energy are overlooked; performance is as good as the last project completed. There are too many chefs in the kitchen, preventing decisions being made in timely manner.

    Acumen Fund2019-08-02
  3. "Great team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Acumen Fund full-time

    Pros

    Passionate team members, great mission

    Cons

    Direction wasn't always clear and middle level management was chaotic

    Acumen Fund2019-06-18
  4. "Fantastic place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 

    I have been working at Acumen Fund

    Pros

    Inspiring work and inspiring people.

    Cons

    I honestly can't think of any.

    Acumen Fund2019-02-24
  5. "I am a Summer Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acumen Fund

    Pros

    Very great place to work everyone is nice and willing to teach and help you learn. As a Portfolio Associate I work with lots of different people.

    Cons

    Pay is low because it is a non profit. But that is ok because the culture is great.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work

    Acumen Fund2017-07-10
  6. "Acumen is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acumen Fund full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture with inspiring leadership. Your teammates inspire you to become better versions of yourself and you get to work on exciting projects that aim to help the world's poor.

    Cons

    Acumen is a non-profit so you have to be willing to work hard and operate in lean and entrepreneurial ways, but that brings rigor to the work.

    Acumen Fund2017-04-07
  7. "Summer Associate, Portfolio"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Acumen Fund

    Pros

    Very inspiring work and very professional team

    Cons

    Generally a small team, so limited positions available.

    Acumen Fund2017-02-10
  8. "Incredible place to work! Good work, great people, and challenging yourself on so many levels."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Acumen Fund full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The People....followed by the mission and vision of their leadership. The companies which Acumen invests in are at the front of innovation and social impact around the world. If you want to make a difference in the world, this I the place to work.

    Cons

    None...I can not say anything negative about the organization. Personally, my issue was the high costs of living of having a job in NYC.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to grow and do great things for the world!

    Acumen Fund2016-09-11
  9. "HR Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Acumen Fund full-time

    Pros

    greath growth opportunities and culture

    Cons

    - nothing in my experience

    Acumen Fund2016-04-07
  10. "It's a Job... But it's also changing lives!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Acumen Fund for more than a year

    Pros

    You have to want to do more than make money. If you are serious about change, serious about making a difference and willing to contribute intellectual capacity and a lot of patience to that end -- this is the place for you! The organization never stands still - management is always asking how things can be done better, how more lives can be impacted, how the mission can be fulfilled, the impact can be measured.

    Cons

    Lots of smart people in a room can sometimes mean some large personalities and disparate opinions. The good news - everyone in the room has a similar objective and once that is revisited, its easier to let go of personal pride. Don't work at Acumen if you expect market rate compensation in all positions.

    Acumen Fund2014-08-04
Found 21 reviews