Ad Council Reviews | Glassdoor

Ad Council Reviews

Updated Feb 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
44%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Ad Council President & Chief Executive Officer Lisa Sherman (no image)
Lisa Sherman
6 Ratings
  1. "A place where it is easy to love your job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Ad Council full-time

    Pros

    Amazing co-workers, strong emphasis on people development, opportunities for increasing responsibility, great connections to agency/industry/non-profit worlds

    Cons

    You won't make as much money as in the private sector but coming to work every day with a mission and an important role to fill makes it worth it!

    Ad Council2018-12-01
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great organization committed to making a difference in the world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Marketing Director 

    I worked at Ad Council full-time

    Pros

    Smart and passionate people who are committed to excellence and making a difference.

    Cons

    Better define career paths/growth will help people stay motivated.

    Ad Council2019-02-10
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ad Council full-time

    Pros

    There is opportunity to grow if you prove yourself and management is working to find ways to bring Ad Council to the forefront of the ever changing industry. Love everyone I work with directly and appreciate the constant collaboration.

    Cons

    Some individuals are given a lot of favoritism and it hurts others' growth who want long-term careers at the Ad Council. You can get ahead from a title perspective pretty quickly but compensation doesn't reflect titles.

    Ad Council2018-10-10
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Disparity at it’s finest."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Campaign Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Ad Council full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The benefits, PTO and work sponsored events are great. If you are lucky and work for a fair manager your work/life balance will be wonderful.

    Cons

    Unfortunately, my manager is unfair and my work/life balance and pay is sad to say the least. I’ve spoken with my manager numerous times regarding this issue and she couldn’t care less. I brought this issue directly to HR, along with the pay disparity and HR’s response was almost as if I was bothering her. My colleague and I have worked at AC for the same amount of time and have the same job title, however she is... paid 10k more than me. I am a minority and she is not. My colleagues in other departments with fair management do not have this issue.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please re-evaluate your management team and hire someone competent in HR that is not cold and makes employees feel welcome. This can be a great company.

    Ad Council2018-07-16
  6. Helpful (3)

    "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - N/A in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ad Council full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance, good benefits package, free snacks all day, flexible work schedule(s), bereavement time off.

    Cons

    Although the organization embraces diversity, it's the complete opposite. Employees who aren't white aren't paid the same as whites (male or female) are paid, especially black employees. Some of the executives take advantage or abuse the company's entitlements.

    Advice to Management

    To the CEO -- you need to pay MORE attention to everything that's going on in the company. Some people who have been there longer than others have not benefited their loyalty. Also, the executive get away with too much, you need to curb their benefits, because some of them take advantage.

    Ad Council2018-05-21
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ad Council full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wonderful people, treat you great, great benefits and culture, good work. Never a dull day.

    Cons

    The pay is a little low

    Ad Council2018-05-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Limited Growth Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Campaign Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ad Council full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pleasant people - great work life balance. Exposure to many facets of the advertising industry.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for growth from the junior level - senior and mid level management are comfortable in their roles and going nowhere. Some portions of mid level and senior management are cliquey to a fault. Major strategic decisions are outsourced to consultants with limited input from the boots on the ground. Lots of lip service paid to culture improvements by senior management but transparency is limited.

    Ad Council2018-01-08
  9. "Best job in advertising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ad Council full-time

    Pros

    Best place to work, best partners, best creative, best people!

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons

    Ad Council2017-10-06
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Leaving the Ad Council was my best career decision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Ad Council full-time

    Pros

    Location is good, comp & benefits and work/life balance are decent.

    Cons

    Poor culture (in spite lip service), cliquish and the place is run by people who are neither smart nor skilled in their respective roles. All critical thinking is outsourced!

    Advice to Management

    Replace yourselves with lesser-paid and more competent counterparts!

    Ad Council2017-08-08
  11. Helpful (7)

    "Not the best job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Campaign Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Ad Council

    Pros

    Liaising with well-known ad agencies, non-profits and gov't agencies is cool. Some of these campaigns are very well-known, so it's exciting to have this on your resume.

    Cons

    Office politics were extremely brown nosy. Pay was absurdly low. VPs in particular are extremely cliquish. I echo another review below about questionable results. Generally, I don't think it's appropriate that the government is seeking to influence behavior change through advertising - very paternalistic IMHO.

    Ad Council2016-11-13
Found 29 reviews