AdTheorent Reviews | Glassdoor

AdTheorent Reviews

Updated 6 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
75%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
AdTheorent CEO James Lawson (no image)
James Lawson
9 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "AdTheorent Shines Where Competitors Fall Short"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AdTheorent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    AdTheorent puts its money where its mouth is regarding product, services, and employer responsibility. The company has some of the best people working toward a common goal and it reaps the rewards. In general, everyone respects one another in a genuine way. It's a pleasure working with such great people and teams. Pay is very competitive, benefits are rock solid, and it's very easy to feel taken care of and... "heard" as an employee. We also enjoy a great reputation in market. In an absurdly competitive and cloudy space, that is an incredible asset.

    Show More

    Cons

    As we've scaled, there have been missteps hiring or not being able to retain talent. This feels like a fixable problem in the grand scheme of things but it can require patience. Same as 99.99% of jobs.

    Advice to Management

    Remain focused on direction of the company and keep treating people with respect. Do this and AdTheorent will remain one of the better employment opportunities in this industry.

    AdTheorent2019-11-06
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Ignore the hater"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AdTheorent full-time

    Pros

    I am not one to normally write review, but when I see the same person here writing the same negative review over and over again I felt I needed to do something. Adtheorent is a good company to work for, not the best company in the world but not terrible either. We've had tremendous growth over they years I have been here. Just like all organizations we've experienced growing pains and we could do somethings... better. Our product are great and do what we say but some times we do have to get creative to meet customers needs. Our operations teams and client facing teams go above and beyond every day to provide customer satisfaction even if that means sometimes responding to emails or addressing issues on nights and weekends. The people who founded the company are male but they done a good job of attracting and retaining a diverse workforce.

    Show More

    Cons

    We used to have dogs in the office, but our current building doesn't allow that.

    Advice to Management

    It's in the headline

    AdTheorent2019-10-01
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Fast-growing co. carving a niche in competitive industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AdTheorent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Similar to previous reviews I am not one to post anonymous comments. However recent negative reviewer does not convey an accurate picture of this company. -Very horizontal org structure allows for easy and encouraged collaboration across teams and roles -Literal open door policy. There are no offices. -Transparent company strategy and financials -Coworkers who you dont mind spending time with outside... work

    Show More

    Cons

    -Ad tech and advertising in general are high-paced and demanding industries. Not a fit for all personalities and working styles.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    AdTheorent2019-10-01
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work. Fast paced environment, great co-workers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AdTheorent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Fast paced environment, every day brings a different challenge - React well to the changing ad eco system. Sometimes you can have a great idea which just doesn’t work, sometimes a client has an idea that you don’t agree with, AdTheorent does a great job of finding solutions that work. As Kennedy said, “Change is the law of life. And those who look only to the past or present are certain to miss the future”. -... Good interaction between teams. Sometimes problems arise which aren’t easy to solve, that’s business, but AdTheorent make a good job of getting the best brains round the table to fix it, from Data Science to Product, from Partnerships to Yield. - A crazy good Data Science team. They work closely on the front line with yield managers to provide solutions quickly. They often have to do work of other teams for this but they do it because they can. - Reward for effort. If you put the effort in, you’ll be rewarded. Good employees are promoted and looked after. Although they hire from outside where needed, they look to promote from within where they can. Some people have blown me away with how well they’ve performed in roles once they’ve been promoted. - Great sense of gender equality. High representation of women across all teams - even tech where this isn’t always the case. Many senior managers are women including quite a few team leads. - Very open management team/C suite. We have quarterly Town Hall meetings which are a full and frank presentation of the company financials followed by an open floor where all questions are addressed. Of course, you have to use that system but anonymous questions can also be asked. - Management team (CEO in particular) care about the employee’s wellbeing. Additional days are given off throughout the year, based on company performance, on top of already generous PTO and company holidays (when was the last time you heard of companies getting 5 days off for July 4th or Thanksgiving?). My friends are always telling me how good we have it. - Open plan office. No-one is stuck away in an office. I can approach the desk of the VP as easily as that of the intern - Fantastic benefits (health and PTO) - Good camaraderie amongst employees. Many of whom I count as friends, not just co-workers I have worked for a number of different employers and I enjoy working here more than any place I’ve been previously. I’m regularly head hunted for higher paying positions but I’m very happy here and don’t want to leave. It’s not perfect, but nowhere is. There are many people who came here straight out of school. They don’t know how good they have it!

    Show More

    Cons

    - Fast paced environment, every day brings a different challenge. This is the same as the first pro comment for a reason. Some people get a buzz out of this, others can’t handle it. If that’s not what you want, Ad Tech is the wrong industry. - I just spent 10 minutes trying to think of something else and I honestly can’t. That doesn’t mean that things are always a bed of roses but where I’ve had issues/concerns... in the past, these have been dealt with by management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you’re doing, don’t stop innovating, don’t stop pushing boundaries with new products and offerings. You took risks and gave up other careers to be where we are today and I for one am thankful. To end on another Kennedy quote, “Those who dare to fail miserably can achieve greatly”.

    AdTheorent2019-10-02
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A few bad apples in a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AdTheorent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I've been working at Adtheorent for several years and its a great company. There is so much opportunity to learn and the growth is tremendous. Management really cares about their employees and goes the extra mile to provide an enjoyable experience. There are a few bad apples who didn't share that experience and are quick to blame everyone else but themselves. I am guessing they are upset because they feel like they... are/were undervalued, which is unfortunate. Ultimately, its on you to go above your expectations if you want to be rewarded. The politics thing is very subtle, yes I agree there are some cases where friends get jobs, but that happens everywhere. To whoever is upset, use this as a learning experience for your professional career. Soft skills are equally as important as your job functions. I highly suggest reading the book "How to Win Friends and Influence People". Nobody wants to read your sob story on Glassdoor which is for the most part completely untrue and exaggerated for the entire company. If you worked on your own weaknesses then you wouldn't feel like a victim in your own little world. I'm sure if you have this same attitude elsewhere, you will still complain, just with longer hours and lower pay at a company that's not as good in comparison.

    Show More

    Cons

    None. Keep doing what you're doing. 95% of people are happy, the crybabies can leave and get a job somewhere else.

    Advice to Management

    Thank you for the opportunity.

    AdTheorent2019-10-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Couldn't Imagine Working Anywhere Else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AdTheorent full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, great culture. Plenty of room for advancement within. Management all readily approachable no matter where you are on the org chart. Management also genuinely cares about you - no one is just a number here which is quite refreshing compared to other job's I've had.

    Cons

    Honestly, can't think of any.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on doing what you're doing.

    AdTheorent2019-09-23
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Best company I've ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AdTheorent full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Phenomenal people at all levels/departments and extremely innovative products

    Cons

    The Ad industry is a tough business with lots of ups and downs, but that's all companies.

    Advice to Management

    As you have done in the past, continue to invest in your people and focus on innovation.

    AdTheorent2019-09-19
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company to Represent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AdTheorent full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, wonderful colleagues, caring management

    Cons

    There are no cons given the other companies I've worked at

    AdTheorent2019-09-17
  9. Helpful (5)

    "“ignore the hater”—says all you need to know"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AdTheorent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They succeed in making you FEEL like part of a family. Like other reviewers mentioned, many talented and fun employees/colleagues. Currently profitable I think

    Cons

    I wasn’t going to write a review since it seems like the most recent reviews pant an accurately negative picture, but I had to write one after seeing the strange, dismissive overly positive reviews posted by managers/directors. It’s sad that you think it’s one person or a hater who is causing the problem, as opposed the truth that adtheorent is currently a bad company if you work in sales/client services/ops—the... resistance to accepting the truth is probably because you’ve only really worked at adtheorent so don’t realize how backwards it is. Like the other negative reviews correctly pinpointed, Managment at adtheorent is a major problem. Specifically, they provide no information/guidance on the future or direction of the company—I’ve attended many town halls at past employers and adtheorent’s Managment team is the least transparent and informed Managment team I’ve seen. Middle managers seem to be a bunch of cowards, unwilling to make any process change to alleviate pain points for their teams and eager to throw team members under the bus if the temperature is turned up a tad on them. No wonder all of the 5 star reviews are from managers/directors, they don’t do their jobs and get to collect a check by sitting around and telling their teams to suck it up. On a related note, management have little experience outside of adtheorent and aren’t interested in learning or growing, so be prepared to suffer through any number of painful experiences with no-name clients/agencies who have baby budgets—that’s not a formula for growing team or for developing as a professional. It feels more like an agency (low pay, no work/life balance, weak HR) than a real tech company, if you want to be treated badly, go somewhere at least where you can get paid or have some upward mobility without sucking up to your immature and inexperienced Director.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Build an actual HR department. Focus on employee pain points and not Best Small Company or whatever dumb list you’re always trying to make. Hire and train actual leaders, not just someone with a director title because they have been there, and only there, for probably too long

    AdTheorent2019-10-01
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Unethical company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AdTheorent full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They are located in NYC.

    Cons

    When I was working there, management would write fake glowing reviews about the company. So take the fake positive reviews with a grain of salt. 1. Manipulative- senior management will do whatever it takes to get clients. Often times, they will lie through their teeth to sell, sell, sell. 2. Incompetence- most of management are plain dumb. There's not much to it. 3. Low pay, bad benefits 4. Marketing sham- the... product is a joke. This is a scam, whatever it takes to sell.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None, continue to do what you do. I'll be bringing the popcorn.

    AdTheorent2019-09-27
Found 27 reviews