KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Addepar

Engaged Employer

Addepar

Add a Review

Addepar Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Sep 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 10 of over 134 reviews

4.5
97%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Addepar CEO Eric Poirier
Eric Poirier
99 Ratings

The latest conversations about Tech

Join the conversation on

Tech

1y

a 

Technical Account Manager

Being a woman in tech, I only recently started advocating for myself at work about advancement opportunities. Because of this I wanted to ask this question to my male counterparts. When you have 1:1's with your direct reports and talk about career growth / aspirations what is your managers’ response typically? I’d like to gauge how my experience (negative) differs from others. For instance are you met with blockades, enthusiasm, dread, etc?

403

60 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "Lack of structure and clear leadership(in 7 reviews)
  • "centric phony managers(in 3 reviews)
  • "Keeping that will make this company successful, so be prepared to deal with passive or aggressive management, individual contributors that catcall and use choice words to describe management, and so on.(in 3 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Administrative Assistant

    Mar 30, 2017 - Administrative Assistant in Mountain View, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The employees are great, great pay, flexible time off and work schedule, managers strongly encourage a healthy lifestyle & work/life balance for their employees, great financial perks & benefits.

    Cons

    I would love to see more African Americans represented at Addepar.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Addepar Response

    VP, People

    Thanks for your review. We are working hard on diversity and inclusion. It is a top priority for us.

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Best company I've ever worked for

    Mar 29, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You're opinion is heard and you are able to contribute in a way that highlight your strengths. Free breakfast lunch and dinner Unlimited PTO Flexibly work life balance options Clear expectations and outlines of opportunities for career enhancements CEO and all leads care about you personally

    Cons

    Is gaining 10 pounds from free food a con?

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Addepar Response

    VP, People

    Tell me about the Addepar 10! Glad to hear you are having a positive experience!

  3. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing place to start a career

    Aug 11, 2015 -  in Mountain View, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - The engineering team is incredibly talented, motivated, and friendly - Generally good support for new hires without much experience - Good perks: retreats, catered meals, etc - Flexibility to move between different parts of the app or stack - Easy access to management, and ability to voice concerns - Great work/life balance, vacation policy

    Cons

    - Growing pains - lots of organization shuffles, frequent changes in priorities and structures - Communication issues - lots of rumors, information is not distributed well - Employee churn - people come and go often - Location

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    Addepar Response

    VP, People

    Thanks for this feedback. I'd be interested to hear what you think now about the cons you mentioned since its been a year and we've been working hard to address the issues you mention.

  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Overall a good firm

    Jul 11, 2016 - Sales/Business Development in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance Seasonal work retreats

    Cons

    Engineering focus and therefore sales/business development opinions are not valued.

    3 people found this review helpful

    Addepar Response

    VP, People

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts with us.

  5. 4.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    An Engineering Company

    Oct 19, 2015 - Anonymous Intern in Mountain View, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome company, great perks, and really great learning experience. The management did a great job of communicating company-wide goals and issues across the organization, and three meals a day and subsidized housing for interns made life a lot easier. Everyone within the company is really nice, which makes it super easy to meet people on other teams, participate in company events, and reach out to grab coffee or talk to members of different teams. Almost everyone is really excited about the product too.

    Cons

    Not the best place to work if you're not an engineer. The culture is highly engineering driven, which is really cool if you're interested in tech and don't have the skills, but frustrating at times because it feels as if they're completing the most meaningful work. Some of the non-engineering teams also work much longer hours, resulting in a fairly poor work life balance. That being said, the company is still growing and if you want to work at a start-up there's really no way of getting around the hours.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Addepar Response

    VP, People

    Thanks very much for your feedback about your intern experience!

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Collaborative culture, intelligent people, good vision, and respect for employees makes Addepar a great place to work

    Apr 2, 2017 - Software Engineer in Mountain View, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Great work/life balance -Long term plan is clear and well explained -Really bright engineers -Interesting challenges -Everyone's voice can be heard -Pretty good benefits

    Cons

    -Lots of paradigm shifts for how planning gets done can be confusing to track -No shuttle or Caltrain Go-pass for SF commuters

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Addepar Response

    VP, People

    Thanks for the great review and feedback on what we can do better.

  7. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Former Employee

    Aug 8, 2017 -  in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Impressive Technology Solid Benefits Outstanding Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    Too Many First Time Managers Too Many Opinions Not Enough Action No Accountability and Weak Leadership

    Continue reading
    18 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    So much potential, such disappointment

    Oct 18, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Potential mission is very compelling. Legitimately important problem which has the potential to dramatically improve the financial industry. - Great work life balance; flexible hours and vacation (unless you are on one of the teams with defined coverage times like Support or Recon) - Some legitimately intelligent, passionate, and amazingly capable people

    Cons

    - Pay is median so we're not competitive in pulling the cream of the crop; company is filled with B-players - Much of middle management is incompetent and throws around processes and buzzwords while saying nothing of substance; many people who've decided they want to retire from Addepar or from industry and get paid to do nothing and go on vacation all the time - Instead of firing mediocre people we reward them if they stick around long enough with promotions and made-up job titles - Tech debt up to our ears, fragile QA, releases break things all the time and have embarrassing impact on clients - Outsourcing tedious brute force workflows to an SLC office instead of implementing tech solutions; throwing bodies at the problem is not innovative, it's what everyone else is finance is already doing

    Continue reading
    28 people found this review helpful

    Addepar Response

    Sr. Director, HR

    We hire talented people with a passion to learn and to change the world. We try to find the areas of strength in each person who works at Addepar and provide them with the right opportunities to set them up for success. We expect everyone at Addepar to act as an owner of our culture. A few values we have are: Demand-Transparency, Build-Together, Take-Action. If you feel that people are not meeting their potential, please speak up, we would like to help people grow and learn how to work better together. On these and other issues you see, we invite you to speak with us so we can learn about your perspective and hear your ideas on how to improve. Thank you for your feedback.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Strong leadership and mission

    Mar 29, 2017 - Anonymous in Mountain View, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Strong leadership Powerful, lofty mission Swift pivots which may offer internal growth opportunities

    Cons

    Swift pivots (also what makes it an exciting place to work, but at times can prove challenging) Work/Life balance can be hard to achieve because there's a lot to tackle

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Addepar Response

    VP, People

    Thank you for your comments on leadership and our commitment to people development. We take it very seriously and glad you feel it!

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great opportunities, great culture

    May 15, 2020 - Data Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Addepar has always been very supportive of career growth and also provides some pretty awesome perks. They have also handled the COVID-19 response extremely well and it is clear they genuinely care about the well-being of their employees.

    Cons

    Sometimes the work/life balance can be difficult but Addepar is usually good about working with you on that stuff if you are vocal about it.

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Addepar Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Addepar? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Addepar

116 days ago

Employee Story
Next up in our ‘Meet the Team’ blog series: Hear from Tamar Weseley, Senior Software Engineering Manager about how she's bringing impactful solutions to technical and product challenges, while also mentoring the next generation of software engineers
Shared image - Meet the Team: Tamar Weseley, Senior Software Engineering Manager
Meet the Team: Tamar Weseley, Senior Software Engineering Manager
addepar.com
See all

Addepar Photos

+ Add Photo
Addepar photo of: Leading With Purpose: Addepar's Social Impact Initiative
Addepar photo of: Engineering Offsite!
Addepar photo of: All Smiles With Our Addepeeps!
Addepar photo of: Axe Throwing Class!
Addepar photo of: Catered Lunch Everyday in Offices
Addepar photo of: Sushi Making Class
Addepar photo of: We Love Our AddePeeps!
See All Photos