Addus HomeCare "flexible hours" Reviews | Glassdoor

Addus HomeCare Employee Reviews about "flexible hours"

Updated 17 de Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
45%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Addus HomeCare CEO Dirk Allison (no image)
Dirk Allison
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Have had consistent full-time work since I started and they are accommodating to your needs and concerns(in 8 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours and times some nice clients(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "While I was happy there, they had no benefits, when I was hurt took some time off, upon return I had one client with very few hours(in 10 reviews)

  • "Low pay and you must have 2 cases to get insurance(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Caregiver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Addus HomeCare full-time

    Pros

    Addus offers flexible hours, and management was great.

    Cons

    The hourly pay is low

    Addus HomeCare2018-09-12
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great starter job.!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Home Health Aide in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Addus HomeCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great starter job Flexible Hours Great benefits

    Cons

    Have to wait 2 weeks to start 3 Day Training No Benefits for dependents Have to wait a full year from date of hire to receive vacation

    Addus HomeCare2019-09-17
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNA in Kankakee, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Addus HomeCare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I get to take care of a great client. Flexible hours. Not demanding. Great in house help don't have to call the other offices I can stay local

    Cons

    They don't always pay you properly, or at all. Hours aren't always the best. Don't know who to talk to about union issues.

    Addus HomeCare2018-03-31
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Horrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Addus HomeCare full-time

    Pros

    Flexible hours and times some nice clients

    Cons

    When they say "we will call you back" that's a joke and if you want to receive a paycheck on time or millage rembrsment do the hold your breath on that have worked for the company for a month now and still no signs or answers to where my first payment check is no one else can or will give you a straight anwser

    Advice to Management

    Return phone calls emails you guys do absolutely nothing you say your going to do always dragging there feet or avoiding the subject people live paycheck to paycheck and can't go without but that's ok to you and for you as long as your pockets get lined when they are supposed to screw everyone else who works to live entertainment your pockets

    Addus HomeCare2017-02-01
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Home health care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - HCA in Lewiston, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Addus HomeCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Somewhat flexible hours but always on sorry notice call. Nothing makes you feel better about yourself than helping and Caring for someone in need.

    Cons

    Pay check never correct. Always short. Constant fight to get what they owe you. Took me 3 months to get paycheck still not complete. Finally had to find new job. Took me 6 months to get bonus check. Very unorganized. Supervisors don't follow through and don't turn in paper work so you can get paid. Office staff sucks all the way to the top. They don't care about their employees our clients.

    Advice to Management

    Very important to make any business work. Organization, completing tasks, caring about clients and employees. Treat everyone with respect. But most of all just do your job!

    Addus HomeCare2015-09-01
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Loved working with the Clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Healthcare Provider in Kennewick, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Addus HomeCare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Place to work overall. I enjoyed meeting every client that I had. Management was very welcoming for all employees. Very Flexible hours, great for Student's just looking for a part-time job.

    Cons

    Management is in need of better communication skills between people in the office and people in the field (Clients Homes). Didn't get the hours I was told I'd get when hired.

    Advice to Management

    Management is in need of better communication between people in the office and people in the field (Clients Homes).

    Addus HomeCare2014-04-22
  7. Helpful (3)

    "From Crisis to Crisis"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Health Care Aide in Central, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Addus HomeCare for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay for home care aides is ( nominally) above minimum. Can work part time and flexible hours. Flexible clothing policy including scrubs or street wear. Payroll is accurate and on-time. Have electronic deposit.

    Cons

    A downstate branch office has major issues with being reactive, not proactive. They go from one crisis to another and ignore or delay issues until the issue blows up. . Have even told clients "what we don't know won't hurt us" regarding major violations of policies. Managers don't seem to have good time management or organizational skills, but rely on deceptive handling, maniuplation or rude, abrasive comments... to staff to intimidate them and control them. They don't seem to have the experience or knowlege to make judgements but rely on a small clique of union homemakers to tell them what to decide, or call another branch manager for mentoring which seems to help them to personally career build and network but not provide any better knowlege or ethics in their operational decisions. Managers are very punitive towards clients or staff who "annoy" them by presenting issues they don't want to deal with or are co-opted on. They seem unable to string facts together to see a "large" picture. The are scared of losing clients even if the clients are in the wrong and will sell aides out rather than appropriately re-educating the client.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire independent outside auditors or quality assurance people with good experience and job qualifications (not just political or union-oriented) to survey clients and front line staff anonymously for feedback on downstate branch offices. Send a every-six-months review form to aides for them to anonymously evaluate their branch director and office supervisors. Make downstate offices more accountable, and not... just in their stats or pleasing, placating demeanor to Corporate officials.

    Show More
    Addus HomeCare2013-03-16
Found 7 reviews