Addus HomeCare "low pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Addus HomeCare Employee Reviews about "low pay"

Updated May 20, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
47%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Addus HomeCare CEO Dirk Allison (no image)
Dirk Allison
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Have had consistent full-time work since I started and they are accommodating to your needs and concerns(in 8 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours and times some nice clients(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "While I was happy there, they had no benefits, when I was hurt took some time off, upon return I had one client with very few hours(in 10 reviews)

  • "Low pay and you must have 2 cases to get insurance(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "low pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Perfect extra check!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Health Aide in Homewood, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Addus HomeCare part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No bosses or micro management

    Cons

    Low pay and you must have 2 cases to get insurance

    Addus HomeCare2018-05-21
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Home Health Aide"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Health Aide in Truth or Consequences, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Addus HomeCare part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I must use 5 words so again NONE!

    Cons

    Low pay started at 8$ an hour after 5 years ended at 8hr. When I started all clients were considered separate jobs so they could work you 60+ hours a week with no overtime pay, When it changed they cut everyone's hours to less than 35 a week. No full time no OT. They take on clients knowing they have no help to send them. When I reapplied in January the office manager said she'd love to have me back. Filled out the... online application and 3 months later got an auto reply stating that "after reviewing your skills we have determined that your background is not a match for the requirements for this position". Really?? They matched fine for 5 years. I had already been working when I received the email but I found it hilarious.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you have a no rehire policy that's fine but spare us the trouble of applying and just say NO! lol

    Addus HomeCare2018-04-21
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Springfield, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Addus HomeCare full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Mileage reimbursement Decent pay Works with your personal scedule

    Cons

    Lack of organization Starts slow Low pay

    Addus HomeCare2018-02-08
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Addus HomeCare

    Pros

    Lots of flexibility with schedules and nice staff

    Cons

    low pay, usually minimum wage

    Addus HomeCare2017-11-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Cna"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Addus HomeCare part-time

    Pros

    Pretty Good hours to work... very flexible

    Cons

    Low pay...have to work a second job

    Addus HomeCare2017-10-12
  6. Helpful (3)

    "It's a JOB, not a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Coordinator in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Addus HomeCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked here for over a year and watched it move from a very caring team to an individualist group of clock watchers. I left of my own accord, my position was not "eliminated" as they had done with many others. Clients are generally very nice people, grateful for services they receive. There are still some very caring individuals, but they are mostly in other branches.

    Cons

    Very low pay in office and in the field, making it difficult to keep good employees. Attrition is HIGH. When an employee tried to cash her check at a branch where the check was drawn, it could not be processed. Corporate payroll personnel literally said, "it's not my problem!" Corporate made the decision to change pay schedules and withheld 6 days of pay (this was in July 2017). When I left the company, those six... days were not on the final paycheck. All calls were ignored and sent to voicemail. When another employee attempted to get an answer on how to correct, the response from payroll was that payday is on Friday (this was Thursday) and they would not consider, or even look, at payroll issues until Monday. When expense reports are submitted with receipts, it takes upto 2 - 3 months for reimbursement.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit spending all day looking at graphs and statistics and learn the aspects involved in running the business. Address the attitudes and actions of payroll personnel, they may not be to blame for corporate decisions, but even a modicum of empathy would go a long way when a person's livelihood is at stake. Raise the standards on who you hire to tend to your client's needs. Quit accepting new clients when you don't... have personnel to take care of them.

    Show More
    Addus HomeCare2017-08-26
  7. "If you love caregiving it's for you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Addus HomeCare part-time

    Pros

    Caring for the patients

    Cons

    Unprofessional office, low on caregivers, low pay, no lunch

    Addus HomeCare2017-07-06
  8. "Addus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pca in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Addus HomeCare part-time

    Pros

    great flexible work schedule cool supervisors to work with

    Cons

    low pay no room for advancement within the company

    Addus HomeCare2017-03-21
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Doesn't care about employees or clients"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Health Care Aide in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Addus HomeCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not sure there are any pros to working for Addus. The ability to manage oneself...

    Cons

    Low Pay Inflexibility Poor Benefits: No dental, takes 3 months to actually see a physician, very limited options Little respect for HCA's Required to falsify information at training session Cronyism

    Advice to Management

    Stop disrespecting HCA's and treating them like children. Facilitate the flexibility that you claim is available to employees. Acquire REAL medical benefits for HCA's. Be more professional and stop hiring the bottom of the barrel to work in supervisory positions. Stop treating us like we're stupid and threatening to fire us when we question your immoral tactics (falsifying documents at training session).

    Addus HomeCare2013-05-22
  10. "Supervisors should do their job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Care Aide in Salem, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Addus HomeCare full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Meet a lot of interesting people. Insurance and benefits with full time status.

    Cons

    Quite a bit of wear and tear on your vehicle. Low pay with little or no raises. Little recognition for the hard, and sometimes, difficult situations that are encountered. No communication between supervisors and workers in the field.

    Advice to Management

    Local supervisors lack the ability to communicate effectively with clients or staff. Communication makes a business run smoothly and effectively. Clients need to know when their worker is sick and unable to make it to their house. It's the supervisors job to make sure another person is sent out to cover that client. It's also the supervisors job to make sure the staff have the proper information when they go to a... client's home. It would be nice to have a schedule and not have to rely on my memory of what my schedule was six months ago. It would also be beneficial for the staff if we didn't have to give our personal number to clients because that's the only way the client can communicate with the company. It would be nice if the supervisors would return client's calls. Especially when it involves getting a new client. I gave out business cards with the local number on it and no one from the office ever called back. You have lost a client. I also don't like to have my clients asking if there is a different agency they can get their services from. It has happened more than once and I feel that it reflects badly on how management doesn't care whether they give good service to their clientele or not.

    Show More
    Addus HomeCare2013-04-12
Found 10 reviews