Addus HomeCare "no benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Addus HomeCare Employee Reviews about "no benefits"

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
45%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Addus HomeCare CEO Dirk Allison (no image)
Dirk Allison
77 Ratings
Pros
  • "Have had consistent full-time work since I started and they are accommodating to your needs and concerns(in 8 reviews)

  • "Flexible hours and times some nice clients(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "While I was happy there, they had no benefits, when I was hurt took some time off, upon return I had one client with very few hours(in 10 reviews)

  • "Low pay and you must have 2 cases to get insurance(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "no benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Addus HomeCare

    Pros

    Get hands on commucation skills with assistant Living

    Cons

    There are no benefits for employees

    Addus HomeCare2016-09-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great starter job.!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Home Health Aide in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Addus HomeCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great starter job Flexible Hours Great benefits

    Cons

    Have to wait 2 weeks to start 3 Day Training No Benefits for dependents Have to wait a full year from date of hire to receive vacation

    Addus HomeCare2019-09-17
  3. "Will not recommend this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Homecare Aide in Montgomery, AL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Addus HomeCare part-time

    Pros

    Flexable schedule, enjoying working with elders

    Cons

    No benefits, poor pay

    Advice to Management

    Lack of communication poor mangement no career opportunities run is not a good company to work for especially in Montgomery alabama

    Addus HomeCare2018-12-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Pers care attendant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pca in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Addus HomeCare full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work real care and conce Rn for employees and clients. Highly recommend employment there all my clients seemed vey happy check them out

    Cons

    While I was happy there, they had no benefits, when I was hurt took some time off, upon return I had one client with very few hours

    Advice to Management

    I believe honest effort should be given to loyal, dependent employees, some benefits should be offered, employees opinions should be heard

    Addus HomeCare2018-03-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Not Worth It"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Aide 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Addus HomeCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You do good work for people who really need you.

    Cons

    Literally EVERYTHING else. Management is overworked and non-communicative. They don't actually show any care towards their workers or their clients. Pay is awful. No benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Do better.

    Addus HomeCare2017-11-28
  6. Helpful (1)

    "I dropped my hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Giver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Addus HomeCare part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Only thing is i am doing what i love

    Cons

    No benefits, very low wage, try to work you for nothing, people who have experance or who have been with company or go above and beyond get nothing for it

    Advice to Management

    Offer raises and other benefits

    Addus HomeCare2017-10-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not the Best Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Home Healthcare Aide in Litchfield, IL

    I have been working at Addus HomeCare full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love the one-on-one work and getting to know clients and their families. Have had consistent full-time work since I started and they are accommodating to your needs and concerns.

    Cons

    No real chances for advancement in the company. Have to wait a full year for any acquired vacation days. Salary is not competitive with other companies in the same field. (Raise has still not been offered after working full-time for a year. I am not allowed to have insurance through the company because my client is private pay. This means that I am working full-time (40 hours a week) and have no benefits because,... technically, the company doesn't pay me.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Care more about the people who work for you. Because without us, let's face it, you wouldn't be in business.

    Addus HomeCare2016-03-31
  8. "I work in North. Carolina"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CNA/HHA in New Bern, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Addus HomeCare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Love my clients so much

    Cons

    Poorly paid. No benefits a

    Advice to Management

    Pay aids more

    Addus HomeCare2015-05-01
  9. "Lack of communication and professional conduct among administration ex. telling aides personal information to other aid."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Program Assistant/CNA in Greenville, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Addus HomeCare

    Pros

    The people you help assist to stay within their homes is the best thing about this field of work and if it does not work out with a client you can be given to another individual.

    Cons

    There are too many promises and no follow through. The office passes the responsibility of answering questions to the next individual when it comes to schedule or pay checks being incorrect. There are No benefits not even paid Vacation nor pay raises for some that have been here for five years. When the device doesn't work correctly or is not keyed in correctly you wont get paid until management chooses to pay you... and that could be weeks later.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There needs to be a way to contact them instead of local administration due to the lack of communication about important facts such as loyal employees not being given a chance to receive pay raises nor vacation pay after a certain amount of time. A way to check on the dismissive attitudes given to those that need certain things done when using the devices that have been given in order to clock in and out and are... used in order to get paid.

    Show More
    Addus HomeCare2015-02-11
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Poor Management On Steroids."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Health Aide in Salem, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Addus HomeCare part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It was a job. I loved most of my clients.

    Cons

    The office staff were consistently sarcastic, rude, mean, and had nothing but negative things to say. One client was abusing her pills in a very dangerous way (mostly misplacing them, dropping on the floor, forgetting she had just taken them and taking more)--- since I was a mandated reporter, I tried to get them to intervene, and discuss solutions with her doctor. They solved the problem by cutting off her care.... The turnover of aides was weekly to monthly, because the bullying and abuse from the office staff was demoralizing. I was ordered to go and work with a patient whose last worker was arrested, because drugs were missing. MAYBE the worker took them---and maybe they were misplaced in the house. This situation was never resolved. Minimum wage, no benefits, and no one to "have my back" when potential danger occurred, made me quit one day. I have never in my life quit on the spot, until this time. The turnover at Addus is appalling. If they didn't "like" you, your hours would be one in the early morning, 2 at noon, and one in the evening....or whatever would be the hardest ones for you to work. Their management was worse than anything I've ever seen, anywhere in my life.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start over. Start all the way over.

    Addus HomeCare2014-12-05
Found 10 reviews