Adlens Reviews | Glassdoor

Adlens Reviews

Updated Feb 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Adlens CEO John Kennedy  (no image)
John Kennedy
12 Ratings
  1. "Great to be with a company on the leading edge of technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Adlens full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is exciting to work for a company that is paving a path to new technologies. I have worked for a number of top name technology companies much larger than Adlens and find Adlens to be a better culture and atmosphere than all the large companies I have worked for. I find the company has a great work life balance and good benefits.

    Cons

    I don't have any cons at this point.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing - continue to be open to all ideas from employees and keep pushing to create new products and enhance the current ones.

    Adlens2018-09-13
  2. "accounts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Adlens full-time

    Pros

    A fun, fast startup company

    Cons

    quality control with their product

    Advice to Management

    -

    Adlens2018-01-25

    Adlens Response

    August 22, 2018HR Assistant

    There’s been a huge change at Adlens in the past 18 months – we’re still committed to the original purpose of using the power of technology to help people see, but a new team have come in (I’m ex MOO, Green & Blacks, Richard worked on the 2012 Olympics and Sian’s from Dyson & Xerox). The culture is transformed, we’re working with some of the biggest names in AR/VR world and also developing cutting edge glasses. Come and see for yourself – we need we need talented creators to work on both augmented reality and variable focus glasses. John (the CEO)

    Show Less
  3. "Great Company with Innovative Products."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Adlens full-time

    Pros

    Startup feel to the company even though it is growing. Your voice and opinion matter.

    Cons

    New technology that will take time for the general public to accept.

    Advice to Management

    Set a plan and stick to it.

    Adlens2017-11-27
  4. "A remarkable culture and team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Customer Service in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Adlens full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For nearly five years I have been a part of the Adlens team. The culture is remarkable. My position is fast paced, challenging, interesting and constantly evolving. Adlens is a unique company with a very fascinating set of products and technology. The executive team are all thoughtful leaders and the general atmosphere of Adlens is one of mutual respect. I truly look forward to every small step toward future... success and we all play a part in the bigger steps. Adlens is the world leader in variable power optics. It is amazing to experience.

    Show More

    Cons

    I can say that while no company is perfect we do constantly strive to improve communication, processes and service levels.

    Adlens2017-11-21
  5. "Adlens"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Adlens full-time

    Pros

    Good compensation, benefits, travel reimbursement

    Cons

    Spread out, based in London

    Adlens2017-09-12

    Adlens Response

    August 22, 2018HR Assistant

    There’s been a huge change at Adlens in the past 18 months – we’re still committed to the original purpose of using the power of technology to help people see, but a new team have come in (I’m ex MOO, Green & Blacks, Richard worked on the 2012 Olympics and Sian’s from Dyson & Xerox). The culture is transformed, we’re working with some of the biggest names in AR/VR world and also developing cutting edge glasses. Come and see for yourself – we need we need talented creators to work on both augmented reality and variable focus glasses. John (the CEO)

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Disaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Anonymous in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Adlens

    Pros

    Quite a few nice people. If you are fortunate, you will travel the world, and eat well while doing it. As in other enterprises, if you are lucky to report to certain people, you will be well remunerated, regardless of your performance

    Cons

    Completely dependent on the whims of a CEO well past his prime, and unwilling to surrender any power. Horrific financial management, with money wasted shamefully on travel and entertainment. Abundant hypocrisy that tries to leverage the single owner's personal philanthropy into the fallacious claim that this commercial enterprise remotely cares about charity. Complete incompetency in manufacturing, marketing and... selling a product that is actually quite useful

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    My advice to the owner, who is based in Asia, is to completely replace all the senior management or divest.

    Adlens2016-02-08

    Adlens Response

    August 22, 2018HR Assistant

    There’s been a huge change at Adlens in the past 18 months – we’re still committed to the original purpose of using the power of technology to help people see, but a new team have come in (I’m ex MOO, Green & Blacks, Richard worked on the 2012 Olympics and Sian’s from Dyson & Xerox). The culture is transformed, we’re working with some of the biggest names in AR/VR world and also developing cutting edge glasses. Come and see for yourself – we need we need talented creators to work on both augmented reality and variable focus glasses. John (the CEO)

    Show Less
  7. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Chandler, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Adlens for less than a year

    Pros

    The company has great products and is trying to change the optical industry for the better but unfortunately they don't have enough credibility. There have been so many other companies who have tried and failed when creating a similar product and if Adlens wants any credibility moving forward they're going to have to think outside the box.

    Cons

    Adlens has a great product but they are trying to move too fast because they're excited. They need to slow down. This is a new product (which has been tried by other companies and failed) so it needs to stand out and differentiate themselves from the similar products who have been introduced to the market before.

    Advice to Management

    Training for employees needs to be way more intense than it is. To become an expert on any product you need time. Also, moving forward managers should be more involved in the training process with each employee instead of other employees training new ones and giving feedback. It seems as if once you start receiving positive recognition from managers certain employees shut down and aren't willing to help you.

    Adlens2015-09-18

    Adlens Response

    August 22, 2018HR Assistant

    There’s been a huge change at Adlens in the past 18 months – we’re still committed to the original purpose of using the power of technology to help people see, but a new team have come in (I’m ex MOO, Green & Blacks, Richard worked on the 2012 Olympics and Sian’s from Dyson & Xerox). The culture is transformed, we’re working with some of the biggest names in AR/VR world and also developing cutting edge glasses. Come and see for yourself – we need we need talented creators to work on both augmented reality and variable focus glasses. John (the CEO)

    Show Less
  8. "Fantastic Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Adlens full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Adlens consists of some of the best and brightest minds around, focused on furthering really exciting technological innovation. Yet the company manages to remain relaxed and friendly, with a fantastic culture. There is no red tape or bureaucracy, instead it fosters an environment of openness, honesty and transparency; it is a place to genuinely share ideas - everyone here has a voice. The management team is... impressive too with a good attitude to work/life balance. Overall, an exciting, fun and friendly place to work

    Show More

    Cons

    Genuinely can't think of any

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the excellent work!

    Adlens2019-02-25
  9. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Eynsham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Adlens full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Genuinely new and interesting technology that no-one else it working on, nice people, lots of toys

    Cons

    Been a bit of a roller-coaster over the last few years (expand-contract-expand), but not more than you might expect from a start-up

    Adlens2018-12-10
  10. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Design Engineer in Eynsham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Adlens full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting work in a dynamic field, good atmosphere, nice people, good working conditions.

    Cons

    The office is a little bit out of the way but easy enough to get to.

    Adlens2018-12-10
Found 28 reviews