Adolescent Growth Reviews | Glassdoor

Adolescent Growth Reviews

Updated Aug 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 73 reviews

3.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "I like working for Adolescent Growth because of the communication between departments(in 8 reviews)

  • "Everyone's dedication from the Program Managers to the Floor staff is telling of a really good program(in 7 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great people, reasonable salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Specialist in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Adolescent Growth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Small company, intimate settings (CEO sitting with you in the same office, glass doors allow you to see the CEO and vice versa); 2. Receptive to Feedback (Even though I'm pretty new to my position, I've made several suggestions to the company and they took them very well.) 3. Equal opportunity environment and diverse workforce (I have Muslim, Christians, Atheist co-workers from at least 4 countries all sitting under the same roof and being kind and nice to each other, love it!) 4. Clean and professional work environment (the office is on the 2nd floor of an office building, gorgeous interior designs, clean and cool). 5. Sincere and kind people (So far my impression on everyone in the office is that they are all very kind and nice, not to say that they are perfect, but I think their kindness is sincere and not fake.)--I think the people might be the most valuable assets of this company. 6. This is a growing company--which means that you will have opportunities to make a difference. However, if you just want to find a job and settle, you might as well find a larger firm and settle there. This company will help you to thrive if you are a self-starter, a leader, someone who is courageous and have an entrepreneur spirit. 7. Good surprises--since this is a small company, it has pleasant surprises for people here and there. For example, on my first day to work, I was invited to a super nice theater 2pm in the afternoon and watched Lion's King for free and was offered free drinks of my choice! After the movie, we were all sent back home to rest. That made my day.

    Cons

    1. Room temperature might be a little bit too low (this is the building manager's issue, though, not the company's issue)--still can't fix the AC, but I think it might be due to the fact that I'm female--all my previous male co-workers would think it's just right. (My previous company had the same struggles) I fixed this by adding on myself several layers of clothing...lol... 2. All the cons you might think of as a small company... might apply here. 3. I will write more as I continue in my current position. I want to be honest with people who are out there looking for jobs: expect a reward, only if you put your efforts and hard work into your job, you will shine and be rewarded! (Gold will shine wherever it is!) I'm the type who works hard and expect to be paid afterwards, if they don't, I will let you know!

    Continue reading
    Adolescent Growth2019-08-29
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Believe the negative reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Therapist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Adolescent Growth full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    do not beleive the positve reviews

    Cons

    Believe the negative reviews, all the others are fake.

    Adolescent Growth2019-08-13
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Don't recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Care Specialist in Montebello, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Adolescent Growth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Impact kid's life. Brighten their day. Rewarding.

    Cons

    Horrible management. Horrible pay. They don't care about their employees.

    Adolescent Growth2019-07-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "They secretly record employee conversation!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Therapist in Pasadena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pros are positive employees who truly care for clients.

    Cons

    The owners only care for money (as they take more than $1,000) per client per day and provide very minimal care. Upper management constantly micromanages everything and engage in unethical behavior such as recording employee conversation at the corporate office WITHOUT employee CONSENT! Owners don’t care for anything other than monetary gain and will place the blame on employees when in reality they make the mistakes. They don’t care about their employees at all and will step on employees to gain more money. They continue with client intake even when they know the clients insurance will not pay for full 60-90 stay. They milk from insurance companies as much as they can without informing clients that their insurance may not fully cover. They accept clients based on false hope and evict (due to insurance not covering) client without notice. They prefer clients who pay cash and treat such clients much better than clients who present with insurance. They do not provide enough food at the facility. Although they say there’s 12 step, they read material unrelated to 12 step and lie in documentation. They lie to parents stating clients are doing great and are being treated well when clients are actually complaining of not being treated well. Again, these people are money hungry, unethical people and no client deserves to be treated as poorly as they treat clients and staff. They’ve also rebranded several times due to having such negative reviews!! Be aware folks! That is all!

    Continue reading
    Adolescent Growth2019-07-10
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Crummy Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Supervisor in Pasadena, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pros that I could think of were caring staff and nice facilities.

    Cons

    As soon as I was hired I had to go over every policy in detail. That says a lot. Then I heard that the previous person who had my job left on stress leave. I soon understood why. I eas driving daily from Pasadena to Commerce, LA and Encino to supervise interns. This meant that I was on the freeway much of the time. Once I got back to the office I was expected to do paperwork on new clients and review the notes of other staff at different locations. This was an impossible task and with no training to speak of. After less than a month I was expected to be more independent and not rely on assistance from colleagues. No way. I said that I needed more time, just 90 days. The HR department is conniving. They spoke with me to check on “how I was doing”. The next day I was asked to sign something that was mostly bull. When i did so they handed me a measly check and I went on my way. The Lewises care about the money and their tattered reputation, Nothing else. A wide chasm exists between management and the people that actually provide care, who on average gross less than $30K a year. Morale is abysmal and little is done about it so few people last more than 6 months. One guy was driving an Uber at night and working day shifts just to get by.

    Continue reading
    Adolescent Growth2018-12-26
  6. Helpful (6)

    "It's Been Good Working for This Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Adolescent Growth full-time

    Pros

    I like that it's near my house. Everyone's been very welcoming and my department has great team work - we all work well together. I really like my co workers.

    Cons

    Cant think of anything right now.

    Adolescent Growth2018-10-18
  7. Helpful (3)

    "A Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Adolescent Growth full-time

    Pros

    I like the people that I work with - it’s a very positive and uplifting environment. I feel very supported here and everyone is working towards the same goal of helping people.

    Cons

    It’s all good at this work place.

    Continue reading
    Adolescent Growth2018-10-10
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Adolescent Growth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Adolescent Growth is client and care driven. We put our clients first and it is a team effort. Upper management is super supportive and open to new ideas. The company is dynamic and growing and the owners are dynamic and positive. Employees matter. I love the work environment, my colleagues, upper management and most of all the clients we help.

    Cons

    Can't think of any at the moment

    Continue reading
    Adolescent Growth2018-10-07
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Great team of honest professionals working hard to make a difference."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Adolescent Growth

    Pros

    I have worked for this organization for nearly 7 years. I have grown as a professional and as an individual. I have been treated respectfully and honorably. In turn, I have had the opportunity to work with the very best therapists, psychiatrists, medical assistants, client care specialists; across the country. I have always been listened to and my thoughts and ideas have always been considered and welcomed. I have been given opportunities to gain knowledge, advance my education, and further my career in the field of mental health and addiction. I have witnessed talented, young interns grow and blossom into licensed clinicians. My co-workers are like my second family. The environment can be very intense as we heal hurting families who come to us for help in all areas of their life. We answer the call every time. The admissions department, quality assurance department, accounting department, human resources department, utilization review department, our clinical teams, dietitians, floor staff, culinary staff, and outreach coordinators are top notch. The work culture allows for everyone to have the opportunity to collaborate and branch out in our organization. Our entire organization works hard each and every day to help the most vulnerable humans gain their lives back and enter recovery in a very challenging society. I feel fortunate to have a great job and I have been given the tools to be successful. My work ethic and my core values are in alignment with this organization. Working alongside the owners has shown me what it means to be a worker amount workers.

    Cons

    It’s hard work. It may not be the ideal job for someone who is not able to fully commit to the clients and their families.

    Continue reading
    Adolescent Growth2018-10-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Anonymous"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Adolescent Growth full-time

    Pros

    Great team workers and very nice people to work with; work and life balance

    Cons

    Employees turnover is a bit high.

    Continue reading
    Adolescent Growth2018-10-11
Found 73 reviews