Adolescent Growth Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Adolescent Growth Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (8)

    "Just NO."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Adolescent Growth for less than a year

    Pros

    Great coworkers. If you’re there for clinical experience there will be a lot to learn.

    Cons

    Almost everything. The facilities are so micromanaged that it took days for purchases to be approved for items that were needed immediately, including food. Management will continually ask you to do things that challenge anyone’s ethical standards. I witnessed several instances of illegal behavior. The high turnover rate produces a “treatment program” in which clients (and employees) with abandonment issues are... retraumatized over and over again. Do not expect good training in how to interact with troubled teenagers. Do not expect to receive much support in figuring out how to do your job correctly: it’s “sink or swim.” The instability combined with no one knowing how to do their jobs makes for dangerous working conditions that only harm, not help, clients and staff. Because hardly anyone stays around you are not only worked to the bone but exposed to constant emotional distress from people leaving. The pay is atrocious. A floor staff member cautioned me when I first arrived at the facility: “No one has been here that long. The only thing good about this place is the kids. They’re going to work you to death.” Unfortunately, she was 100% correct. Based on my experience I’m not convinced that the owners are actually interested in helping clients. Money and cutting costs matter more to them

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You cannot run a successful treatment program using a structure with high turnover, extremely difficult working conditions, terrible pay, and no training for employees. Please close your doors. You have no ethics or concern for helping people.

    Adolescent Growth2018-09-21
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Helping Families"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Chef in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Adolescent Growth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great staff who really cares, we truly are making a difference in the lives of our future men and women. It is a great place to work if you are truly committed to helping the youth and helping them make the right choices in their lives.

    Cons

    The down side of this industry is seeing Insurance not allowing full treatment by removing clients too soon

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work. We are changing lives and truly making a change in families that really need our help. Continue to support the employees that are here daily giving it their all. Together we are changing lives one client at a time.

    Adolescent Growth2018-07-03
  3. Helpful (8)

    "Do NOT recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Client Care Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good food Nice neighborhood Nicely decorated house

    Cons

    Micromanaged by the owners (who live in California) No nurse (passing out medications without one) High turnover rate for ALL positions (besides floor management) Under staffed Underpaid positions No raises (if you ask for one they'll write you up) No proper training (for any staff) Many things broken inside the house (window screens in bedrooms, fan in day room, television works on-and-off, and dishwasher)... Difficulties with parking

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    This facility is an absolute MESS. How this facility is still up and running really surprises me. Long story short- the facility is micromanaged by the Lewises who live in California. The Lewises own multiple facilities that ALL have problems. The Lewises will visit this facility about once a month and show up "out of the blue". They've tried to hire new HR people at corporate to manage all of their facilities, but... constantly find reasons to fire people. Due to this, the Lewises act as HR themselves and don't tell any of their staff this. There is no offical nurse at this facility and medications are given to clients by "trained" staff. (I believe this is not legal in the state of Illinois. A nurse is needed to train staff to handout medications.) This facility also has a high turnover rate for ALL of their positions. All positions are underpaid. Raises are not given. If you ask for a raise, they'll find a reason to write you up so they can avoid giving you one. NO training provided to floor staff. Many things in the house are broken and they call in a man to fix these things. (I believe this could be a HUGE HIPPA violation.) All in all, I do not recommend this place for employment or for parents looking for treatment options for their children. There are MANY options in state and out of state that I believe can more effectively treat your teenager.

    Show More
    Adolescent Growth2018-07-15
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Facilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff such as Medical Assistants, both group and individual therapist that are working there are what make the facilities a nice place to work.

    Cons

    The entire company in itself. The owners are greedy and expect you to over work and they do not appreciate the hard work any staff does. They hire people just to fire them or push people to quit so they don't have to pay unemployment. They are disrespectful to all employees but expect respect. Something you learn as a child you have to give respect to get respect. staff overworked just because they hire people to... fire in a week so in turn other staff have to bend over backwards to fill in the holes in the schedule without any advance notice.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to appreciate and treat the people that are willing to help your business thrive and learn how to treat people as human beings that we are and not robots.

    Adolescent Growth2018-07-03
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Owners need a lesson in running a business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Able to work with children in need. Ability to shape young minds.

    Cons

    Schedule is constantly changing due to owners cutting hours to save money. Paycheck was a few days late at times. Owners are clueless with therapists input on patients and have zero motivation to learn what is wrong with the children.

    Advice to Management

    Become passionate about improving the lives of these children.

    Adolescent Growth2018-06-29
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Amazing place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Lead in Lombard, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Adolescent Growth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been working for Adolescent Growth for a little over two years. It has been an amazing and very rewarding experience. Our clients are amazing and the staff becomes your second family. Everyone on the team has a passion for what they do and together we change the lives of many families. The facility is clean and we'll kept and has a very homey feel to it. Overall, Working for Adolescent Growth has been... great and I am happy to grow with the company.

    Show More

    Cons

    The parking isn't ideal but we work around that :)

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you do. Things are going great !

    Adolescent Growth2018-05-16
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Assistant Program Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Assistant Program Manager in Lombard, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Adolescent Growth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I recently started working at Adolescent Growth and I find this experience to be exciting and very rewarding so far. Every day I seem to learn something new, so I’m having fun! I’d also like to say that I am very impressed with the professionalism of the staff as well as their passion for working with teens struggling with a variety of tough issues including: depression, anxiety, substance abuse, family discord,... interpersonal issues, school difficulties, anger, and trauma. The house itself is well-decorated, clean, and very comfortable, giving it a homey atmosphere. I believe that kids being away from their families really benefit from feeling like they are in a safe home, not in an “institutionalized” facility like some residential programs have. And, the programming is great because the kids are busy in structured, therapeutic activities all day long and they eat well and exercise every day. Lastly, I’d like to say that Adolescent Growth has welcomed me into their home and I feel proud to be a part of the team and look forward to a bright future with this organization.”

    Show More

    Cons

    There is not much vacation time.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on supporting staff-we appreciated it.

    Adolescent Growth2018-05-14
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great Place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Assurance Specialist in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Adolescent Growth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I started out as an medical assistant working with clients for this company, and to my disbelief was promoted to a corporate position that I truly enjoy doing. Very thankful for an opportunity to grow within a company that has integrity, good ethics, and staff of caring people would love what they do and play a huge part in helping families in need of some TLC.

    Cons

    I use to work 12 hour shifts. This isn't a downside, some people enjoy working those type of hours, it just was hard on me personally.

    Advice to Management

    Keep helping families in need.

    Adolescent Growth2018-05-01
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Save yourself grief Do Not Work Here!!! Parents, do not send your kids here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chief Executive Officer in Lombard, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no Pros in Working for this sick company.

    Cons

    This company is micro managed to death. They hired me as Chief Executive Officer of the Lombard facility and gave me no authority to do my job. The owner and top management could not stand that I wanted to make the place a world class treatment center instead of the sham it was and fired me in a week. Top management micro managed to the max, to the extent of telling clinical people, and I how to treat clients. ... We were told what modality of therapy to use even when it was obsolete and in no way fit the needs of the client. Insane is all that I can say. As CEO I was told to sniff around for smells and make sure the lights were turned off. I was reduced to a bombs sniffing dog and was demoted from my clinical position withing 3 days of hire. I was never so happy to be fired in my whole life.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire people who know what they are clinically doing and stay out of there way and get the psychological help you need.

    Adolescent Growth2018-06-04
  10. Helpful (9)

    "CEO's Let Down-disgrace"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Floor Staff in Lombard, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Adolescent Growth for less than a year

    Pros

    The clients are the best ever! An opportunity to make a impact on a young life is top here. The staff at the local level is decent and they care.

    Cons

    Run Run Run!!! They(Upper Management will deceive you. They lack integrity. They are not understanding for the concerns of the staff. Micro managing at all times. Buyer Beware! You are always under the microscope even when you are hard working and doing your very best! They always find some reason to gripe on you. That is how you don't get a raise. They make sure to tag your what they call down falls. So No Raise... for you ! Real Slick to operate like that. Immates in prison get better treated than staff in this facility. No one is trying to do them in but they think people are. The California administrative staff are puppets to say the least.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please go to training and workshops on how to make a happy workplace. This place could be magnificent for all. Management needs to take self inventory. I believe it is called Karma. It has to stop.

    Adolescent Growth2018-06-01
Found 75 reviews