Adolescent Growth Reviews | Glassdoor

Adolescent Growth Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Fake positive reviews - beware."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employees trying to make an honest living and always willing to lend a hand.

    Cons

    I was approached during my employment with this company to write a positive review to boost their Glassdoor image, and I know many employees who did as well. There's a reason why this company has such a high amount of turnover and negative reviews - the owners do not care about their employees. The pay is abysmal across all positions, the employees are asked to perform tasks that are morally questionable, and many... employees quit due to being burnt out by the owners expectations. In my time I saw facilities being shut down without notice and employees left without work for over a month, I've seen people hired on to one location only for them to be told they'll work at a different location with little to no notice, I've seen new employees with no training being thrown together with difficult and often violent clients, and I caught wind of some shady insurance billing in the accounting department. Read every negative review - as a former employee I can attest that they are all true.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Any advice I give will not be heard, as the owners are the most difficult and stubborn individuals I have ever met. That being said, learn to treat every employee (not just the Primary Therapists or other higher paying positions) with respect and dignity and maybe the negative reviews will stop flowing in.

    Adolescent Growth2018-05-21
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Just say No!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Academic Coordinator in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having the opportunity to make a difference in the lives of troubled adolescents.

    Cons

    Do not expect support from management, competitive pay, and/or paycheck and scheduling consistency. Job announcement read different pay. When brought to HR's attention, management would not allow HR to honor their printed pay offer. It is nothing unusual to show up to work and find the business locked up and shut down. Employees are not notified in advance. Management quietly does the "client shuffle" when counts... get low. Clients are shuffled like cattle, moved to one house and employees are unexpectedly sent home for undefined amounts of time. Requested time off, even according to policy, results in denial with fictitious reasoning. The management is quick to judge and non-responsive. When you have concerns, management will run, hide, and make excuses. You must force them to talk face to face. Unfortunately, it is quite clear that money means more to management than employee or client support. No consistency of scheduling and EXTREMELY shady pay. They will call you in to cover, then renege at the last minute, only because they located a lower payed employee to cover instead. The hours you punch on the time clock never match the hours on your paycheck. You might get your check on pay day...you might not. There is no direct deposit and checks are hand delivered well after banking hours. I could go on and on.....I'm sure you get the picture. Unless you're extremely desperate, do not work for this company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit bullying your employees. During my short employment, your lack of appreciation, constant suspicion (you do know that suspicion is typical rooted by personal doubt and something to hide, right?) and shady practices ran good employees off like scalded dogs. Allow employees time off without repercussion...they are SEVERELY overworked and underpaid anyway. Your banty rooster approach to management will never work.... Take heed to karma!

    Show More
    Adolescent Growth2018-05-06
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Stressful but sometimes worth it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Pasadena, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Despite the high turn over, I worked at the corporate office and had had incredible coworkers. I felt like I was making a difference for the clients even though I was behind the scenes of the facility.

    Cons

    Overworked and underpaid. After a while, upper management stopped showing any kind of appreciation toward staff. no HR for so long, or one person running the department. benefits weren't great. Even when you were given a chance to train someone, they didn't give you enough time to do it thoroughly, so the result was underwhelming work, which led one to become overwhelmed by trying to correct mistakes and collect... information.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please be kinder and more considerate toward employees.

    Adolescent Growth2018-03-15
  4. Helpful (2)

    "not worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time

    Pros

    being left to work fairly independently, decent office location.

    Cons

    unorganized, does things half way, hyper sensitive upper management. Not prioritizing health of the client over $$.

    Adolescent Growth2018-03-21
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Instability at the Top"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Adolescent Growth full-time

    Pros

    The facilities are very nice. Coworkers are generally very supportive.

    Cons

    There is a lot of turnover, both at the facility and corporate level. Micro-management, impulsive decision making, and poor communication limit the growth of the company.

    Advice to Management

    Trust the leaders that you have hired to do their jobs.

    Adolescent Growth2018-02-08
  6. Helpful (3)

    "A PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Support Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Adolescent Growth part-time

    Pros

    Easy way to gain some professional experience, some of the clients are truly wonderful and rewarding.

    Cons

    The rampant dysfunction in this place is a serious liability. You will receive no training. There will be no consistency or communication on how to handle challenging client behaviors. You will be placed in professionally compromising situations on a regular basis. The clients absolutely run the show and they pit staff against each other....and it works, since staff doesn't communicate effectively and there are... quite literally no rules that are enforced standard across the board. The pay is abysmal. The turnover is so high that I agree with what someone said before me; don't even bother learning people's names. I feel bad for the parents that are paying thousands of dollars in hopes of their child healing because that's not at all what is going on here. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pack it in; the ship has sunk.

    Adolescent Growth2018-02-03
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Opportunity for Growth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Adolescent Growth full-time

    Pros

    Coworkers are supportive. The facility feels like a "home."

    Cons

    You are required to work on the weekend and holidays.

    Advice to Management

    Increase the length of the on-boarding training and hire more staff.

    Adolescent Growth2017-11-29
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful opportunity for employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Utilization Review Specialist in Pasadena, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employment here at Adolescent growth has been a great experience. I learned so much about how synergy is a key component to a thriving company and mental health treatment facility. Every department needed to be in communication with each other for things to run smoothly. It was a true team effort in helping Adolescent growth serve our youth in healing from mental health, substance abuse, and eating disorder issues.... I learned immensely from my immediate supervisors. I'm grateful for them sharing their knowledge with me.

    Show More

    Cons

    The corporate office was a bit to far from my home and the commute was stressful.

    Advice to Management

    But now faith,hope, and love, abide these three; but the greatest of these is love.

    Adolescent Growth2017-11-17
  9. Helpful (3)

    "I don't want to pile on but, this is not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Floor 

    I worked at Adolescent Growth part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There is not much to say that hasn't been said already. This company has potential, but the owners creates a lot of conflict which makes you wonder what type of people would self sabotage they own business. It wasn't that bad working for the managers that were there because they at least knew about this field and brought stability to the place. With the right corporate office and owners this place could have really... grown. Every place you work has problems and there are conflicts and different views on how to do things, but this place wen t downhill fast because the owners never put anyone in the best position to really do their jobs and manipulated frustrations that came from the top down to pit employees against each other. I enjoyed the managers and some of the old employees at corprate office for different reasons and so did other employees. We watched them spend a LOT of their own money to make sure the clients who were paying a lot of money, didnt get cheated on food, games, crafts. I never heard of any division until recently and so that really says they tried to hold it together. Now after the one mamager left every thing fell apart. The other manager, all four therapist and any floor staff that didnt leave a lot of them were pushed out by owners. really good people. I wish that all of the former employees even the ones that were there before the managers were still around because this place could be nice, but the owner will never accept that they have simply made poor decisions. I will say is just look at what you have left behind to manage your facility now. People who only ever cared about theirselfs and who no one ever really trusted or got long with..

    Show More

    Cons

    Not even worth restating ALL of the issues that people already talked about.

    Advice to Management

    Hope the next time you find good employees you don't run them away or turn everyone against each other. Its sad because you really don't realize how much everybody that is no longer there did for those clients and your company in spite of your nonsense.I honestly have never missed colleagues but I think about the people there all the time.

    Adolescent Growth2017-12-07
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Horrendous Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved working with the clients and getting them the help they needed.

    Cons

    Upper management is horrendous. Management are petty, rude and unhelpful. They transfer employees and clients to different facilities with no notice or permission. Managment threaten to fire employees if they dispute being transferred. They do not give employees breaks and will take a lunch break out of employees time card even when no lunch was taken. They do provide enough coverage for employees to take... breaks or lunches on time and do not pay overtime when lunches are taken after the 5 hour mark which is illegal according to California state law. Management has horrible communication and does not schedule according to availability. Management cut hours of employees who disputed the incorrect schedules and threatened to fire employees for asking to take time off.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to run a company.

    Adolescent Growth2017-12-04
Found 75 reviews