Adolescent Growth Reviews | Glassdoor

Adolescent Growth Reviews

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (6)

    "therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very little. Growing experience and supportive coworkers in the facility.

    Cons

    Too many that led to me leaving. The main issue is the way the company is run. The management doesn't value their employees. It would take weeks to hear back regarding important issues such as needing money to buy groceries, home repairs, not getting back paid on a review that was done months late by corporate. It would take management or HR no time to call and tell us to adjust our parking situation or that we left... a light on, but the important things would take weeks to hear back on. Also very little to no support. When working in such a high stress environment, supervision is key and also a requirement that was not met. Also there were situations that occurred that were unethical and risk to the safety of the clients and staff. Also only a week of vacation time and a few days for sick days a year! Burnout happens for a reason and hopefully management will open up their eyes and learn a few things in order to avoid such high turn around.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees and offer them the genuine support they need. Have an HR representative for each facility, pay your employees a comparable salary to other places out there. Overall, treat your employees like humans and not another body bringing you in money.

    Adolescent Growth2017-10-30
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Apply at Your Own Risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Adolescent Growth for more than a year

    Pros

    Experience for people in grad school or looking to get something on their resume that is in the mental health related...if you’ve exhausted all other options. When fully staffed with a quality treatment team, working here was a neutral-positive experience. I loved my coworkers, assistant program manager, and program manager. I enjoyed coming into work to see them and the clients. You get experience with acute... cases and become more confident in your ability to handle challenging situations

    Show More

    Cons

    So many. The main issues can be broken dow into four main categories: poor communication, micromanagement, ethics/safety concerns, and high turnover/low staffing. Poor communication: Working at AG is not user friendly. If you think you’re going to get a training period, think again. You’ll likely get thrown into the mix on your first day, as I was (more on this in the ethics/safety concerns). In addition, if you... accept a job here, insist that they provide you with a full print out of your employee benefits and when they kick in UP FRONT. You’re not eligible for any until 3 months in, if I recall correctly and, even then, I never received a comprehensive breakdown of my benefits outside of health insurance. The corporate office in California is closed on the weekend...but residential is 24/7. If you need corporate approval for something that arises over the weekend you’re going to have to wait til Monday for it. Also get comfortable asserting yourself because you’re going to need to ask for things multiple times from HR and QA. Obtaining standard paperwork from Admissions is seemingly impossible. This leads us to micromanagement: The fact that corporate must be apprised of facility operations makes total sense. However, the issue here stems from the slow and shoddy communication between corporate and the facility. The fact that it is so difficult to obtain standard admissions paperwork as mentioned above and that there is a tedious internal corporate process to obtain or provide any collateral information means quality and continuity of care suffer. Probably one of the worst examples of this that leads into ethics/safety/liability is the med consent process. I won’t get too into it but let me just say that when a process that critical is controlled by a branch (QA) that is not available 2 days out of the week, problems arise. Ethics/Safety/Liability: This is the most concerning section but it’s a pretty simple formula. No training for new employees + low staffing due to high turnover + micromanagement and poor communication = big ethical concerns/safety issues and liability concerns for those who hold licenses. I know now that there is no way it was ok for me to get thrown right into my job on my first day, or to be thrown into a different position before being told what to expect, or to not be paid on time, or working with only 1 or 2 other staff, a dangerous milieu with constant crisis situations, and zero supervisors or managers on site. I knew then that not having ANYONE in the HR department for months was wrong but I kept thinking there would be a replacement soon. Wrong! Because there is no initial training period (or at least wasn’t when I was there) many other staff did not about basic safety procedures like room checks, body checks, and AWOL protocols. Staff would be overwhelmed with work (because low staffing) and clients would use this opportunity to touch each other inappropriately, kiss, and have other physical contact. High turnover/low staffing: If you’ve read this far,I think you can see why there is high turnover. However, corporate will also occasionally purge the facility of employees for seemingly no reason (though they’re not required to provide one in IL, to be fair.) This creates a vacuum which gets filled with whoever is left and whoever is left ends up wearing more hats than they’re qualified for, working double shifts, burnt out and tired.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Despite everything I said, I truly believe this place has the potential to be much better than it is. (Maybe things have changed but when I was there, there were still some quality employees/managers.)However that will take a willingness to change that I seldom saw from AG. Provide adequate training at the outset and continue to offer trainings throughout employment Let go of the need to control every single... thing and give the facilities some autonomy to provide better quality care Get a QA person on site to do med consents as needed without delaying care. OR get someone to work in corporate QA on weekends. There’s got to be one or the other. Hire an RN to supervise med administration throughout the week Recognize when you have good employees and work to retain them through treating them and their requests with respect and appreciation Maintain an appropriate staffing ratio. Bare bones staff +many or highly acute clients = dangerous and unethical Have admissions collect essential information like custody papers, hospital discharge packets, names and numbers of all those to be included in treatment, and consents to speak with each PRIOR to client admission. Not doing this is hurting you and setting you up for potential lawsuits! All it takes is one screw up on the front end and an angry custodial parent.

    Show More
    Adolescent Growth2017-11-22
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Therapist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Therapist in Lombard, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great program structure for the clients and their families. Coworkers can be supportive and helpful in working with the clients.

    Cons

    All positions are underpaid, even if you have years of experience. Management positions are a revolving door, which has continued the lack of communication and effectiveness of leading the programs. The leadership is inconsistent which also leads to employee turnover, poor morale, and dissatisfaction with the company.

    Advice to Management

    Show appreciation to employees for their hard work in keeping the programs up and running and providing great work with the clients.

    Adolescent Growth2017-10-04
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Ok experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Staff in Lombard, IL

    I worked at Adolescent Growth

    Pros

    I left several months ago and it was not bad work helping kids and just talking with them. I enjoyed going to work most of the time and didn't have any real problems in spite of all the things the corporate office needed to fix. Some stuff make it hard to do your job and it don't always feel like support for simple things from the California office. Things could be a little better with some real time and effort.... I learned a lot and enjoyed my conversations with the assistant program manager. A lot of really nice young people that just needed basic training. Black owned company.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you believe in the spirit realm, the environment can feel real negative at times. You can really feel it. Little things don't get taken care of and so they turn to big things. Some employees never figured out what their real responsibilities were and so some people ended up carrying more responsibilities than others. I heard the negativity finally got to the assistant manager, which is a shame because he was... the glue there. It was bound to happen, no one can endure that long. One of the best people and young black professionals i have met. Gave a lot of former employees a sense of pride. Nothing really bad to say other than start with the basics and focus on the kids.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There were some nice talented young people when I left. Work with them.

    Adolescent Growth2017-10-04
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Staff in Lombard, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Adolescent Growth for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with clients and some of the staff. Having the opportunity in working with clients who were going through some hard times. Trying make difference in their lives.

    Cons

    No training No support No protocols No nurse on site Not enough food for clients Dirty Unsafe Overnight Staff Sleeping No CPI training No weekly supervision No direct deposit Unethical Unprofessional

    Advice to Management

    You have failed clients in your care. You blame people you put in place, when you have the same practices yourselves. You do not show up for your staff on any level. Spend day in each role at your facilities. Take the time to greet clients and staff. Just don't walk in and small talk. You have lost some great staff , who got burnt out not cause they did not care. It's cause you and middle management failed.

    Adolescent Growth2017-10-27
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Floor Staff in Sherman Oaks, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Adolescent Growth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great floor staff. Work with kids.

    Cons

    Greedy, inexperienced owners lead to dangerous work environment for clients. Lack of food and safety, unclean environment.

    Adolescent Growth2017-10-11
  7. Helpful (5)

    "READ EVERYTHING BELOW BEFORE CONSIDERING THIS JOB!!! AVOID AT ALL COSTS!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Therapist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Mostly anyone who works there is nice and efficient. You will have some nice co-workers.

    Cons

    UHH where Do I begin? First of all, there are MULTIPLE locations for the facilities. If you interview for the LA location, most likely they will move you to another location hours away, hence creating the problem of commuting. How is it fair for someone to interview for one place end up on the other side of LA? There is no accommodating and you are FORCED to drive a long distance if you are scheduled. Now when... they do move you to a different facility, they tell you just a day before. So unprofessional. I remember I would always work overtime because the work would pile up on me- I did not even take any breaks! This place will drown you with doing papers and other kinds of documenting. The corporate people are NEVER happy with your notes! They send it back to you in a condescending manner and tell you to correct it giving only a short deadline! They do not care about clients or their well-being, they ONLY care about the therapists completing the notes for insurance billing!! Pathetic!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Paying minimum wage to a therapist who is the reason how your company gets money in the first place, is not such a good idea. Since your Therapist turnover rate is abnormally high, you might want to consider what you are doing wrong. No therapist=no one there to do notes for billing= no money for the company. Stop being cheap!

    Adolescent Growth2017-10-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great staff and wonderful environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Group Therapist in Sherman Oaks, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Adolescent Growth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The staff, the rules, the great locations, the great program that the clients are offered, structure

    Cons

    The pay is not the best but it is gratifying work, sometimes the hours are not so great, the staff who do this for money are in it for the wrong reasons

    Advice to Management

    Make sure this is the job you want because everyone works hard and deserves praise. The thing is you have to want this job because the clients can be a challenge however, no day will ever be the same and it creates a great overall experience!

    Adolescent Growth2017-07-26
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Some potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ccs 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    SOME nice co workers, rewarding work, a knowledgeable clinical manager that is great with kids and families. He is also good with employees, especially since he is the one that has to manage all the drama from the site and the crazies at corporate...a real professional. A nice house, good therapy, good staff, generally a good idea. The therapist meet with clinical manager all the time, but program manager doesn't... really train floor staff and has bad boundaries.

    Show More

    Cons

    Micromanagement at corporate, late checks, nice house that is falling apart, ethical issues, no training, questionable business practices with families (they tell us everything), inconsistent rules and expectations, not exactly cutting edge treatment , though its good.

    Advice to Management

    Make better decisions! Use the employees in the way their talent can really help. Supervise and train floor staff. Find a better fit for the clinical manager, his talent and ideas are being wasted at the site. Get a mentor for the program manager because of the drama she can sometimes create. Update your approach for 2017 there are a lot of things that this program is way behind on like art therapy the kids always... ask about. There are other programs that are going to take your model and make better because you don't make good decisions. You will never solve your turnover problem with crazy from the top down, poor wages, a nasty team at your corporate office, late checks, late responses to issues, and the list goes on and on. Everyone knows you lost a good floor lead and a academic coordinator within a month. You cannot afford to lose any more good employees.

    Show More
    Adolescent Growth2017-07-11
  10. "Difficult but rewarding work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Utilization Review in Pasadena, CA
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can be very rewarding to see the clients succeed through their notes. The main office building is also beautiful with spacious offices for the employees.

    Cons

    A lot is asked of you and it can be high stress some days. Working with the insurance companies can be difficult at times.

    Advice to Management

    The birthday potlucks were fun and I'm sure the employees would love to see them come back. Otherwise nothing to add!

    Adolescent Growth2017-06-19
Found 75 reviews