Adolescent Growth "no training" Reviews | Glassdoor

Adolescent Growth Employee Reviews about "no training"

Updated Oct 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
Pros
  • "I like working for Adolescent Growth because of the communication between departments(in 7 reviews)

  • "Everyone's dedication from the Program Managers to the Floor staff is telling of a really good program(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "They(Upper Management will deceive you(in 10 reviews)

  • "This was an impossible task and with no training to speak of(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "no training"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Crummy Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Clinical Supervisor in Pasadena, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only pros that I could think of were caring staff and nice facilities.

    Cons

    As soon as I was hired I had to go over every policy in detail. That says a lot. Then I heard that the previous person who had my job left on stress leave. I soon understood why. I eas driving daily from Pasadena to Commerce, LA and Encino to supervise interns. This meant that I was on the freeway much of the time. Once I got back to the office I was expected to do paperwork on new clients and review the... notes of other staff at different locations. This was an impossible task and with no training to speak of. After less than a month I was expected to be more independent and not rely on assistance from colleagues. No way. I said that I needed more time, just 90 days. The HR department is conniving. They spoke with me to check on “how I was doing”. The next day I was asked to sign something that was mostly bull. When i did so they handed me a measly check and I went on my way. The Lewises care about the money and their tattered reputation, Nothing else. A wide chasm exists between management and the people that actually provide care, who on average gross less than $30K a year. Morale is abysmal and little is done about it so few people last more than 6 months. One guy was driving an Uber at night and working day shifts just to get by.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It won’t be heeded but I would suggest that the Lewises leave their bubble in Pasadena and actually invest in their employees instead of hiring and firing on a constant basis.

    Adolescent Growth2018-12-26
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Fake positive reviews - beware."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employees trying to make an honest living and always willing to lend a hand.

    Cons

    I was approached during my employment with this company to write a positive review to boost their Glassdoor image, and I know many employees who did as well. There's a reason why this company has such a high amount of turnover and negative reviews - the owners do not care about their employees. The pay is abysmal across all positions, the employees are asked to perform tasks that are morally questionable, and many... employees quit due to being burnt out by the owners expectations. In my time I saw facilities being shut down without notice and employees left without work for over a month, I've seen people hired on to one location only for them to be told they'll work at a different location with little to no notice, I've seen new employees with no training being thrown together with difficult and often violent clients, and I caught wind of some shady insurance billing in the accounting department. Read every negative review - as a former employee I can attest that they are all true.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Any advice I give will not be heard, as the owners are the most difficult and stubborn individuals I have ever met. That being said, learn to treat every employee (not just the Primary Therapists or other higher paying positions) with respect and dignity and maybe the negative reviews will stop flowing in.

    Adolescent Growth2018-05-21
  3. Helpful (3)

    "A PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Support Staff 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Adolescent Growth part-time

    Pros

    Easy way to gain some professional experience, some of the clients are truly wonderful and rewarding.

    Cons

    The rampant dysfunction in this place is a serious liability. You will receive no training. There will be no consistency or communication on how to handle challenging client behaviors. You will be placed in professionally compromising situations on a regular basis. The clients absolutely run the show and they pit staff against each other....and it works, since staff doesn't communicate effectively and there are... quite literally no rules that are enforced standard across the board. The pay is abysmal. The turnover is so high that I agree with what someone said before me; don't even bother learning people's names. I feel bad for the parents that are paying thousands of dollars in hopes of their child healing because that's not at all what is going on here. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pack it in; the ship has sunk.

    Adolescent Growth2018-02-03
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Apply at Your Own Risk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Adolescent Growth for more than a year

    Pros

    Experience for people in grad school or looking to get something on their resume that is in the mental health related...if you’ve exhausted all other options. When fully staffed with a quality treatment team, working here was a neutral-positive experience. I loved my coworkers, assistant program manager, and program manager. I enjoyed coming into work to see them and the clients. You get experience with acute... cases and become more confident in your ability to handle challenging situations

    Show More

    Cons

    So many. The main issues can be broken dow into four main categories: poor communication, micromanagement, ethics/safety concerns, and high turnover/low staffing. Poor communication: Working at AG is not user friendly. If you think you’re going to get a training period, think again. You’ll likely get thrown into the mix on your first day, as I was (more on this in the ethics/safety concerns). In addition, if you... accept a job here, insist that they provide you with a full print out of your employee benefits and when they kick in UP FRONT. You’re not eligible for any until 3 months in, if I recall correctly and, even then, I never received a comprehensive breakdown of my benefits outside of health insurance. The corporate office in California is closed on the weekend...but residential is 24/7. If you need corporate approval for something that arises over the weekend you’re going to have to wait til Monday for it. Also get comfortable asserting yourself because you’re going to need to ask for things multiple times from HR and QA. Obtaining standard paperwork from Admissions is seemingly impossible. This leads us to micromanagement: The fact that corporate must be apprised of facility operations makes total sense. However, the issue here stems from the slow and shoddy communication between corporate and the facility. The fact that it is so difficult to obtain standard admissions paperwork as mentioned above and that there is a tedious internal corporate process to obtain or provide any collateral information means quality and continuity of care suffer. Probably one of the worst examples of this that leads into ethics/safety/liability is the med consent process. I won’t get too into it but let me just say that when a process that critical is controlled by a branch (QA) that is not available 2 days out of the week, problems arise. Ethics/Safety/Liability: This is the most concerning section but it’s a pretty simple formula. No training for new employees + low staffing due to high turnover + micromanagement and poor communication = big ethical concerns/safety issues and liability concerns for those who hold licenses. I know now that there is no way it was ok for me to get thrown right into my job on my first day, or to be thrown into a different position before being told what to expect, or to not be paid on time, or working with only 1 or 2 other staff, a dangerous milieu with constant crisis situations, and zero supervisors or managers on site. I knew then that not having ANYONE in the HR department for months was wrong but I kept thinking there would be a replacement soon. Wrong! Because there is no initial training period (or at least wasn’t when I was there) many other staff did not about basic safety procedures like room checks, body checks, and AWOL protocols. Staff would be overwhelmed with work (because low staffing) and clients would use this opportunity to touch each other inappropriately, kiss, and have other physical contact. High turnover/low staffing: If you’ve read this far,I think you can see why there is high turnover. However, corporate will also occasionally purge the facility of employees for seemingly no reason (though they’re not required to provide one in IL, to be fair.) This creates a vacuum which gets filled with whoever is left and whoever is left ends up wearing more hats than they’re qualified for, working double shifts, burnt out and tired.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Despite everything I said, I truly believe this place has the potential to be much better than it is. (Maybe things have changed but when I was there, there were still some quality employees/managers.)However that will take a willingness to change that I seldom saw from AG. Provide adequate training at the outset and continue to offer trainings throughout employment Let go of the need to control every single... thing and give the facilities some autonomy to provide better quality care Get a QA person on site to do med consents as needed without delaying care. OR get someone to work in corporate QA on weekends. There’s got to be one or the other. Hire an RN to supervise med administration throughout the week Recognize when you have good employees and work to retain them through treating them and their requests with respect and appreciation Maintain an appropriate staffing ratio. Bare bones staff +many or highly acute clients = dangerous and unethical Have admissions collect essential information like custody papers, hospital discharge packets, names and numbers of all those to be included in treatment, and consents to speak with each PRIOR to client admission. Not doing this is hurting you and setting you up for potential lawsuits! All it takes is one screw up on the front end and an angry custodial parent.

    Show More
    Adolescent Growth2017-11-22
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Staff in Lombard, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Adolescent Growth for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with clients and some of the staff. Having the opportunity in working with clients who were going through some hard times. Trying make difference in their lives.

    Cons

    No training No support No protocols No nurse on site Not enough food for clients Dirty Unsafe Overnight Staff Sleeping No CPI training No weekly supervision No direct deposit Unethical Unprofessional

    Advice to Management

    You have failed clients in your care. You blame people you put in place, when you have the same practices yourselves. You do not show up for your staff on any level. Spend day in each role at your facilities. Take the time to greet clients and staff. Just don't walk in and small talk. You have lost some great staff , who got burnt out not cause they did not care. It's cause you and middle management failed.

    Adolescent Growth2017-10-27
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Some potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ccs 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    SOME nice co workers, rewarding work, a knowledgeable clinical manager that is great with kids and families. He is also good with employees, especially since he is the one that has to manage all the drama from the site and the crazies at corporate...a real professional. A nice house, good therapy, good staff, generally a good idea. The therapist meet with clinical manager all the time, but program manager doesn't... really train floor staff and has bad boundaries.

    Show More

    Cons

    Micromanagement at corporate, late checks, nice house that is falling apart, ethical issues, no training, questionable business practices with families (they tell us everything), inconsistent rules and expectations, not exactly cutting edge treatment , though its good.

    Advice to Management

    Make better decisions! Use the employees in the way their talent can really help. Supervise and train floor staff. Find a better fit for the clinical manager, his talent and ideas are being wasted at the site. Get a mentor for the program manager because of the drama she can sometimes create. Update your approach for 2017 there are a lot of things that this program is way behind on like art therapy the kids always... ask about. There are other programs that are going to take your model and make better because you don't make good decisions. You will never solve your turnover problem with crazy from the top down, poor wages, a nasty team at your corporate office, late checks, late responses to issues, and the list goes on and on. Everyone knows you lost a good floor lead and a academic coordinator within a month. You cannot afford to lose any more good employees.

    Show More
    Adolescent Growth2017-07-11
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Mismosh of emotions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Adolescent Growth

    Pros

    Moving up is optional. Expansion is in the works. Working to help prepare families and children for their futures. Flexibility for schedule. Ability to go to school while working. Reimplimenting policies. Creating structure.

    Cons

    Work life balance is impossible to have. Double shifts happen far more often than they should. Main office being in California when the Illinois office needs help in their time. Facilities are open 24/7 while the corporate office is only open 9-5pm Monday to Friday. No training or lack their of training and lack of material to train properly. Lack of orientation. No HR for MONTHS. Communication is horrible from... every end. Placing staff in position to put a body their rather than searching for the right person. Wanting money over helping families. Shutting out the kids coming from the city. Not keeping up with the current DSM 5 or current events for psychology or social work. Hoping that CPS doesn't come in and catch the staff losing keys at the facility and the client's finding them. Getting rid of good staff with no warning to the rest of the staff but hoping that calling it a family fixes it. Being paid late or not even the right amount for the hours. Not getting the sick time.

    Show More
    Adolescent Growth2017-06-02
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Don't waste your time!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Lombard, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Adolescent Growth full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is really nothing positive to say. The house decor looks nice and they have nice computers. That is really all the good things.

    Cons

    There are so many things wrong. First don't become salaried. They will require you to work well over 40 hours a week.. and the second you say something they let you go The staff has no training on how to interact with the clients.. it's a grade school lunch room all day They all the clients to kiss and sneak into each others room at night without saying something to the staff The California office micromanages... everything so nothing can be done Everyone is out for themselves so don't trust anyone They have someone in charge of meds that really has no idea what they are doing They allow people to start working without doing a background or drug test first They do not train the staff at all and only say something when it is not done right. You could have tons of write ups in your file and no one would say anything until you are fired Good luck getting paid what you are owed They have cameras all over that they sit and watch all day so anything that is said is spun way out of proportion and used against you They don't follow the ratios and are more than willing to have 1 person in the house by themselves all night They require you to fill in shifts when someone calls out no matter how many hours you have already worked They are always running out of food and supplies for the clients Lying to the parents about who works there No one actually makes it to their 6 months The list goes on and on...my advice stay away!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just close the doors. You really have no idea how to treat your employees or clients. They are people and not dollar signs

    Adolescent Growth2016-06-22
Found 75 reviews