Advance America Employee Reviews about "advance america"

Updated Mar 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 46 of over 823 reviews

3.6
55%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Advance America CEO Jessica Rustin
Jessica Rustin
8 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on

Finance

60.5K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/finance/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Advance America~20104
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Advance America and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "advance america"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A great company to work for!

    Mar 19, 2021 - Divisional Director of Operations in Crossville, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Advance America is a well established company that cares about the employees ensuring that they have all the training and tools needed to be successful. They strive to meet the customers needs by giving multiple product options to include online services.

    Cons

    We just upgraded to a new system and awaiting another upgrade to have all products combined.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great

    Feb 20, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I love working for advance America

    Cons

    I honestly have nothing bad to say about this company

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Women Representations alive and thriving!

    Oct 4, 2020 - Center Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In all areas and levels of employment Advance America has Women Represented.

    Cons

    Field Level Centers are not upgraded and tend to look dated, making it difficult to keep a clean and pristine look.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work!

    Dec 27, 2020 - Store Manager in Sapulpa, OK
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Hours were great and customers very friendly.

    Cons

    All jobs have cons, Advance America has more pros and very few cons.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company!

    Oct 3, 2020 - Assistant Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Advance America Is A Family Oriented Company.

    Cons

    Not Wanting To Adapt To Change

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Pros

    Advance America offers CAREERS not jobs but only to those that put the work in. As with anything, you get out what you put in. In my 10+ years with AA, it has been the most rewarding of all my past places of employment. There is nothing more rewarding than to help a customer (person in need) with a financial solution when they feel there is NO solution! AA offers competitive pay,bonuses, and great insurance benefits BUT the best reward(pay) I receive is the relief and gratitude that I see in my customer's faces DAILY! The work atmosphere is not that of co-workers but that of a TEAM! I am a proud TEAM member of Advance America and love the team with whom I work including those I supervise as well as those whose supervision I'm under. Job security is wonderful because the company consistently looks to provide more needed services to our community. If you like a rewarding career and not just a paycheck than YOU too should come be apart of our TEAM!

    Cons

    The only CON that I have working for Advance America is with misrepresentation! Some like to down play the important role we play in the community and even say negative things about us. Those are obviously the ones that have never NEEDED a financial solution to a day to day financial obstacle.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Advance America Response

    Human Resources

    Wow, what a wonderful review! We are so happy to ahve a proud team member liek yourself. not only do we appreciate your attitude, but also the countless customers you have helped. You advance America.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Best Company Ever to work for!!!

    Apr 15, 2014 - Divisional Training Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working for Advanced America has been the most fulfilling job I have experienced. I am proud of their marketing department and how they drive in clients and are getting their business name out there. I enjoy the customer base that has been built by these efforts. These customers rely on our judgement and become very loyal. They have the best training program I've seen for any company. Everyone receives 1 on 1 attention as the company develops them to set them up for success in their career with Advanced America. We are constantly learning new things and receiving critical feedback. I work with a supportive team of upper management as well as a supporting staff that cares about each others success and becomes like part of your family. This company has excellent benefits with a generous amount of vacation time, holiday pay, and even floating holidays. The company also has plenty of room for advancement as long as you apply yourself.

    Cons

    I appreciate the current benefits and the 401K program the company offers but would like to see a company contribution program some time in the future. The most challenging part of working for Advance America is the misconception by some that don't know the valuable role we play in the community.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Advance America Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear of your positive experience at Advance America, The Divisional Training Manager is a vital role in our organization. We appreciate your advice and will keep it in mind to continually improve Advance America.

  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Overworked, Too Much High Turnover

    Sep 16, 2019 - Store Manager in Silver Springs, Optional[FL]
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Helping customers with there financial need, Sunday's off, 1 day off in the middle of the week, work 1/2 day during the week.

    Cons

    Advance America does not appreciate the excellent customer service you give out to your customers, Underappreciated by the overworked load you must do, Constintly high turnovers it's hard to find extra help to help you at the store. You are constantly working by yourself. By making your numbers, Calling Collection calls on NSF or Writeoff customers to make payments on there accounts, If you are not collecting money, You will be notified as if you are not doing your job correctly. You are Assisting new customers with new accounts, Company wants you to recommend customers to do Installment loans, But if you are doing too much, They will get upset because you are not doing regular loans to get the fees in every 2 weeks, Its hard to keep the Corporate office happy with the business you are trying to do for them. You have to Balance money every hour, Balance safes throughout the day, You have to update Board each day on numbers of inactive, Writeoffs, How many payday loans, Installment loans, How much is coming and going. Basically treated this business as if you were the big boss that owns the store without the big pay. You are expected to call inactives every 3months even if it's the same customer you spoke to 3 months ago prior, Let them know about are new services, Have them to come in for a loan etc, You are constantly being monitored for each customer to log into their portals, Also verify there telephone numbers each time by calling them while they are in the center, Big boss constantly stressing you out, About why are your numbers down, They want you to go Marketing even though you are the only one working the store, You are expected to give a 100% percent on customer service, Even if you have 6 to 12 customers waiting for you in the lobby, While your working by yourself, With no help & Support, You are not allowed to sit down while helping customers back to back. The counters are very high, So customers cant tell if your sitting down. You get no overtime, Work hours are from 8:30am till 8:00pm. Your hours per week have to be between 32 to 38 hours a week. You have no life on the outside of Advance America, You can only have 1 Saturday off every 6 weeks. Per customer policy says By Corporate, This company could careless about you, & how stressful your work load is, They difiantly do not want to hear your negative feed back on your job duties, To make it better for you, They dont want to hear what good ideas you might have to make your store better. High ups will find a way to fire you, Company likes to micromanage each Employee, Its so stressfulI. If you are making to much money, This company will fire you or demote you in seconds, You are just a number. They want you to treat the business as if it was yours with out the pay, Benifits. No matching 401k, Health insurance is expensive. Pay starts from 10.50hr-15.00 hr. Plus you get no bonuses after all the hard work and effort you did for the month, Even if you opened 30 new accounts, Bring in bad debt, All of the money goes to the higher ups.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great Place to Work

    Dec 2, 2018 - CENTER SALES MANAGER in Chiefland, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Advance America is truly a great company to work for. The customers are wonderful and very appreciative when you are able to help them with their financial needs. That is what the job is all about. We help people. That is why we are number one in the industry. We strive hard to help our customers and to give them the best customer service we can and offer the best service and products for their financial needs. Upper management including the DDOs and RDO are totally amazing and have been very supportive to help you succeed as a manager and to help you grow your center. This kind of caring and support is what has made Advance America the great company it is and will continue to be. Advance America cares about its customers and also cares about its employees. As long as you listen to upper management and follow the companies policies and work hard to grow your center it’s a very rewarding job.

    Cons

    Nothing I can think of.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    I love my TEAM @ Advance America!

    Apr 11, 2014 - Manager in Pensacola, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Advance America offers great career opportunities not just jobs. As with anything, you get out what you put in! AA offers competitive pay, great insurance benefits, advancements, and a rewarding work environment. In my 10+ yrs with the company the thing I enjoy most is the gratification I see on a daily basis from my customers. I love my work. It is not a coworker atmosphere but one of a TEAM. I'm a proud TEAM member of Advance America and if you would like a rewarding and self satisfying career with job security you too should join our team.

    Cons

    The most challenging part of working for Advance America is the misconception by some that don't know the valuable role we play in the community.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Advance America Response

    Human Resources

    Thank you for your feedback. We apreciate the dedication you've had for Advance America for the last ten years. We are glad that you have been a positive experience in our customers' lives. A valuable resource that educates on the importance of our industry in the community is YouMightBeSuprised.com. Share it with your friends, family, and customers!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 46 Reviews

Popular Careers with Advance America Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Advance America? Share Your Experiences

or