KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Advance America

Engaged Employer

Advance America

Add a Review

Advance America Employee Reviews about "collections"

Updated Oct 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 26 of over 822 reviews

3.6
55%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Advance America CEO Jessica Rustin
Jessica Rustin
8 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Advance America and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "collections"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Very good company. I loved the work

    Jul 2, 2016 - Csr1 in West Livingston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Helping others and forming bonds with my customers and learning the state and federal laws

    Cons

    Collections can be rough depending what center you're in. And always a chance of robbery..

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    no work-life balance

    Oct 25, 2021 - Store Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Building relationships with a variety of customers.

    Cons

    The company demands that you complete a tremendous amount of paperwork, collections and marketing while you work by yourself in an office. The management style is criticism without coaching.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Advance America Response

    Field Recruiter

    Thank you for your feedback. Part of Advance America’s Unifying Beliefs is “We respect our colleagues, our customers and our communities”; therefore, we take such concerns seriously. If you have not done so already, you may contact our Employee Relations Department to discuss your concern by calling 1-888-801-7533, Option 3 or e-mailing www.whistleblowerservices.com/aea. Thank you.

  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Job Review

    Sep 30, 2020 - Assistant Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    customers location pay area address

    Cons

    long hours collections returned checks

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Keep looking...

    Sep 5, 2019 - General Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I learned a lot about loans

    Cons

    Collections has its various challenges

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Shady company

    Apr 26, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Usually no upper management present daily. Also can get out of the office for marketing and bank runs.

    Cons

    Pay sucks, rules change daily and high turnover rate so be prepared to be overworked due to short staff. Collections is a big part of job. Which you have to call family, friends and jobs of anyone who owes. It gets hard to see the same people trapped in the payday cycle and try to get out. But you are told to keep them in the cycle to keep revenue flowing. Just shady!!!

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Typical 9 to 5 except collections and swiping people's money from accounts

    Jan 24, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy work, quite office setting. Nice boss.

    Cons

    Collections included going to people's house

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Center Sales Manager for 3 years.

    May 8, 2017 - CENTER SALES MANAGER in McMinnville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I see a lot of promoting from within. I was made Manager after only 4 months. My DDO started as a CSR, etc. Uncapped bonus potential. I once had an extra $2500 and then an extra $3000 on my paycheck. Pays well above minimum wage. Could be a good way to get your foot in the door of a career in finance. The amount expected of you gives you a really good looking resume if you stay a couple years and pay your dues. I MIGHT not have the job I have now if not for the things I learned at Advance America. You wear many hats, which means there is always something to do, which I love. You are never watching the clock. In fact you will often feel there's not enough time in a day to get everything done that is required of you because there isn't! They do work with customers to pay back bad debt, which is better than most of their competitors do. I like sales and marketing, and there is a lot of that with this company. They have shred bins, and "Shredit" recycles.

    Cons

    READ THIS BEFORE ACCEPTING THEIR OFFER!!! Their motto is, "loan it like it's not yours, and collect it like it is". And if you can't collect it because of many, many reasons not in your control, they write you up, and make you work insane hours to try and collect. People close their accounts and change their phone numbers, and Advance America does nothing about it except yell at the employees to do better, without offering help, or feedback on how to do better. Ridiculous expectations for the pay they offer. If you look at the job expectations on there website for a CSM, and multiply that by 100, you may have a better idea of what's expected. The pay IS NOT competitive like they claim. I changed jobs, and now make double my salary for the same position, and it's a lot less stress. There is no work/home life balance. Hours are long, a lot of late nights, especially when forced to do everything alone, and they expect you to go in an hour early and stay an hour late if they feel your collections could be better. I lost 5 out of 6 vacations I was supposed to take because they can't keep anyone staffed. I was required to run a 4 person center, by myself, and still do everything required of managers. They hound you about collections, yet do NOTHING themselves to collect on bad debt. I was given two weeks computer training, an hour away without mileage compensation, and then sent to a center that had one person working it with the same amount of training 3 weeks prior. The training is supposed to be 8 weeks! Then WE are the ones written up because we didn't know the proper way to do something. When we asked how to do something, they would tell us to go look it up in policy. That was often times not helpful because not every situation can be listed in there. You will feel overwhelmed, and highly unprepared when you get to your center. The amount of reports you do, the amount of paperwork you print daily and the amount of paper we waste is insane. The trees could probably house ever single person in the world. Be prepared to use recycled sandpaper for toilet paper. Upper management contradicts each other. So you never really know what you're supposed to do. I have to attend trial later this month. Management knew this for over a year. I had to quit, so that I could attend trial because they claimed they had no one to cover me. I guess they'll be able to find coverage now, or close the center! You are required to do quarterly events. This is not so much a con except the fact that you are still required to do them regardless of how shortstaffed you are. They want you to go out into the community and get other businesses involved, but when you're the only person working at Center, when are you supposed to leave? You will always feel overwhelmed and behind. You have to find time to do almost 600 calls in one day, everyday! On TOP of all the other demands!

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Asst Manager

    Apr 20, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Helping people when they are in their biggest time of need

    Cons

    Mgmt was not very helpful and depending on what store would determine how collections were

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 1.0
    Current Employee

    Assistant Sales Manager

    Nov 25, 2016 - Assistant Center Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Sunday off. That is the only pro I can think of.

    Cons

    No work life balance No job security Too many regulations Impossible goals Dangerous Industry coming to an end Dealing with customers with attitude issues most of the time No room for growth Punish employees by making them stay late for collections even though their store has some good numbers. Reduce hours from 40 to 35 hours

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Assistant Manager

    Sep 10, 2016 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good hours Flexiable schedule Decent pay

    Cons

    Collections No bonus Field calls

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 26 Reviews

Popular Careers with Advance America Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews