Advanced Business Acquisitions Reviews | Glassdoor

Advanced Business Acquisitions Reviews

Updated Feb 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
95%
Approve of CEO
Julie Strait
23 Ratings
  1. "Great Career Potential! Love Everyone Here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Advanced Business Acquisitions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    When I first applied to ABA, I was so used to my previous jobs where I had a limited opportunity for growth. I didn't quite understand my opportunity with this company until my second week when I was getting my first promotion. This company is a rare find because it is truly up to the individual to map out their own success. I have so many leaders and mentors that I have built relationships with in this business who have...

    Show More

    Cons

    You have to be self motivated to work here. If you are not it is not going to be a good fit. People need to have a strong desire to learn, have positive attitudes, and want to be a good leader in order to succeed in this business.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing more sales contests! Last month I got a lobster dinner and I want more chances to win things!!!!!!

    Advanced Business Acquisitions2016-01-21
  2. "Alright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Alba, MO

    I worked at Advanced Business Acquisitions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Steady employment in my field

    Cons

    Commute is already an issue

    Advanced Business Acquisitions2019-02-15
  3. "Multi Level Marketing..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Account Manager in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advanced Business Acquisitions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Surrounded by fun people. Learn great sales skills. Team-based activities. Julie is a very nice boss.

    Cons

    Door to door sales. The business model gives false hope for many as it focuses on people recruiting people to their "team", who then recruit under them and so on, but very few actually succeed. Many people working here are without a college degree/pursuing a degree so they have limited alternative options to work. The employee turnover is ridiculously high.

    Advice to Management

    I would say change your business model; however, it thrives on giving people false hope so I don't really have any advice that could make tangible change.

    Advanced Business Acquisitions2017-02-02
  4. "Great first sales job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advanced Business Acquisitions full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed working with Julie and her team. Very fun place to work! Loved teams culture

    Cons

    100% commission, long hours, sometimes my sales got cancelled

    Advice to Management

    Pay hourly wages and don't make people work from 11am-9:30pm.

    Advanced Business Acquisitions2016-06-14
  5. Helpful (2)

    "This place is called Global Business Acquisitions now. New management, I guess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Entry Level Account Manager in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Advanced Business Acquisitions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cool friendly and young coworkers. You play games in the morning and have classes/training when you're new. Lively atmosphere and can be fun if you're pitching with somebody else in the field

    Cons

    10 hours a day, 6 days a week Door to door sales (which they didn't tell you during the interview, they just tell you it's direct marketing. Very vague) 100% commission. If you earn $500 a week from your 4-5 sales, it's like you're earning less than $10 an hour Field immersion may happen in far cities. They don't pay for food or gas and you use your own car Probably only the owner and assistant manager earns the big bucks...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be honest in the hiring process!! Don't waste people's time because people quit after a month anyway

    Advanced Business Acquisitions2016-06-12
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Better Opportunities Out There"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advanced Business Acquisitions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment with good people. Definitely learn how to do sales and face rejection.

    Cons

    ABA is door to door sales, which is not worth it IMO. At the time, I had no better options but I think most people are above it. It is also 100% commission and only a few people excel with this pay structure. They will hire literally anyone as well. It's a shame.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees. CEO is very nice.

    Advanced Business Acquisitions2016-04-12
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Door-to-Door sales.. They won't tell you that in the interview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Advanced Business Acquisitions full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere Play games which is fun Good team bonding A lot of advice given Thursday team nights are fun

    Cons

    100% commission 10+ work days 6 day work weeks (don't do less that's frowned upon) No base salary Have to dress business professional for no reason A lot of walking and rejection Pretty much lie to customers to get them to buy

    Advice to Management

    Have a base salary and tell people its door sales in the interview

    Advanced Business Acquisitions2016-02-27
  8. "Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Advanced Business Acquisitions full-time

    Pros

    Excellent coworker relationships. Friendly atmosphere. Many opportunities for career advancement

    Cons

    Tedious, sometimes unrewarding work. Employers tend to lose you as soon as you get past entry level. At times feels punishing if you're not giving 120%.

    Advice to Management

    Be a little more realistic on the outset about what the job entails.

    Advanced Business Acquisitions2016-01-29
  9. Helpful (3)

    "RUN FOR YOUR LIFE. WORST JOB"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Door to Door Sales in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advanced Business Acquisitions full-time

    Pros

    You meet nice people & do fun games in the morning meetings that pump you up. Make a lot of friends and nice people to work with.

    Cons

    EVERYTHING ELSE. 1. You work 10+ a day and with a commute I didn't get home until 10pm or 1030pm every night 2. COMMISSION ONLY. So some days you will work for free - outrageous. I made more money in high school working for minimum wage 3. Think you got 4 sales for the week only to find people canceled - so your once $400 ish paycheck would be lucky to fill your car with gas since management makes you drive EVERYWHERE...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    PAY YOUR EMPLOYEES IF YOU'RE SO RICH. Be honest. Tell people it's door to door sales & that they won't have benefits (since they're too expensive) and that they will not be able to pay rent or buy food. JUST BE HONEST

    Advanced Business Acquisitions2016-02-25
  10. Helpful (4)

    "ABA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advanced Business Acquisitions full-time

    Pros

    The firm's employees have a motivational entrepreneurial spirit. Leaders provide informational packet and go out of their way to teach you the basics. After work get togethers. Pretty good first job in sales if you're young and without experience in sales.

    Cons

    100% commission based salary, little compensation for gas/vehicle costs in outdoor sales position. A large time commitment involving mandatory morning meetings, without compensation, nor a guaranteed return on investment in time. DS-MAX style office and selling tactics.

    Advice to Management

    The manager of the office seems to be a genuinely nice person. It really is just a tough cutthroat business where profits are maximized at the cost of ethics. Promote the entry level position in a more honest manner to prevent less employee turnover.

    Advanced Business Acquisitions2016-01-12
Found 32 reviews