Advanced Energy Reviews | Glassdoor

Advanced Energy Reviews

Updated Dec 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
44%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
Advanced Energy President, Chief Executive Officer Yuval Wasserman (no image)
Yuval Wasserman
27 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advanced Energy

    Pros

    It is a professionally run company, with a casual, friendly environment. The people are nice to work with, right up to senior management. The company is always improving the way things are done. They do nice things for us. We had a great holiday party and a summer barbeque and everything was done nicely. We have free coffee and fruit. We have other events or celebrations throughout the year, so they try to make it a fun place to work. I feel appreciated. We have a 401k plan with a company match. They offer tuition assistance. There is flexibility for work/life balance. They want our opinions and suggestions and some are actually implemented. There are employee programs that allow employees to show appreciation for each other. If you make a mistake, they are forgiving. There is a women's leadership forum where you can listen to a variety of speakers and learn. There are various employee committees to join so you can make a difference. They will pay for you to attend seminars if you want to continue learning. This is a nice place to work and I am happy working here.

    Show More

    Cons

    No company is perfect. Advanced Energy could use some improvement in the area of communication; sometimes people don't share the information they should with the appropriate people. Sometimes things don't happen the way you think they should, but that is anywhere. Sometimes things take too long to get approved. But the pros of working here far outweigh the cons.

    Advice to Management

    It would be nice to see more promotion opportunities.

    Advanced Energy2016-09-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoying the Experience So Far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advanced Energy full-time

    Pros

    Have friendly colleagues who are also very experienced in the field. My manager has been approachable and very accessible form day one. The campus is nice and well maintained too.

    Cons

    From my understanding to this date, there are no bonuses which more of a downside to some than to others. The training is in more of a do it yourself structure, however, all other engineers have been happy to answer questions.

    Advanced Energy2016-09-28
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great opportunities in a growing company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Collins, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advanced Energy full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Advanced Energy is a great company focused on growth, both in the market and for employees. There are a lot of intelligent, hard-working employees that help drive the company forward.

    Cons

    It can be a fast paced environment, and you have to be open to changing priorities (which is both a pro and a con).

    Advice to Management

    Keep recognizing good employees.

    Advanced Energy2016-09-27
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Advanced Energy full-time

    Pros

    Good company to start at. Easy work. Friendly Co-Workers.

    Cons

    Constant fear of being let-go/laid off. Sub-par training. Low pay increases/pay raises.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the floor workers, don't hire so many people so quickly just so you can lay them off later.

    Advanced Energy2016-09-16
  6. "Nice people - poor pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Collins, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Advanced Energy full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The work environment is decent depending on the department you work in. The people are helpful and nice. Everyone wants to do a good job.

    Cons

    There is a culture of fear and mistakes are not tolerated, which is not the impression during the interview stage. The pay program is not competitive. In this day and age who has heard of a company not offering a bonus?!

    Advice to Management

    Start listening to employees instead of dictating.

    Advanced Energy2016-09-27
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Stop Hiring Unqualified People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Program Manager in Fort Collins, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Advanced Energy

    Pros

    None at this point in time.

    Cons

    Too much hiring of unqualified people just because someone "knows" someone. For example, hiring a person who has a degree in FASHION!! for an engineering position and then moving them into a development position when they fail miserably at the engineering position. This person is neither qualified nor competent.and brings the level of accomplishment and success down to zero. Check the facts and backgrounds of new hires before bringing someone on board just because they are "acquainted" with someone.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Check the facts and backgrounds of new hires before bringing someone on board just because they are "acquainted" with someone.

    Advanced Energy2016-07-24
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Engineering Technical Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advanced Energy

    Pros

    The People are Great to work with!

    Cons

    Several Layoffs while I was there!

    Advanced Energy2016-06-01
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Really happy to be here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Collins, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advanced Energy full-time

    Pros

    Terrific, knowledgeable, supportive employees in a positive atmosphere. Recent changes (last 2 years) have redirected company's focus in a very good way - people first. Also, compensation is above average and benefits are exceptional. AE has been a part of Fort Collins for a long time and glad I'm here.

    Cons

    really can't think of anything worth mentioning

    Advice to Management

    Please continue the current path

    Advanced Energy2016-05-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Advanced Energy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Advanced Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fast paced environment that offers the opportunity to wear multiple hats and gain experiences that may not be offered in other publicly traded, international companies. Great group of people that allow you to partner cross functionally. Change is a constant. Strong benefit package and the flexible work hours are awesome.

    Cons

    Work life balance is challenging. No bonus.

    Advice to Management

    More monetary recognition for lower level employees and managers would go a long way for engagement and encouragement.

    Advanced Energy2016-04-26
  11. Helpful (1)

    "Current employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Colorado in Fort Collins, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Advanced Energy full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great, smart people. People will go the extra mile for co-works and for the customer.

    Cons

    Advanced Emergency. Every issue seems to be raised to crisis level, so people are often working frantically rather than intelligently.

    Advice to Management

    Cut down on status updates and crisis mangement, while focusing on our vision and winning.

    Advanced Energy2016-04-03
Found 82 reviews