Advantage Security Reviews | Glassdoor

Advantage Security Reviews

Updated Jul 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Advantage Security CEO Vic C. Evans (no image)
Vic C. Evans
23 Ratings
  1. "Not worth the headache"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Colorado in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Advantage Security for more than a year

    Pros

    Experience Many sites are Downtown Some people at some sites are great to work with

    Cons

    Bad treatment of employees, often neglectful. Office staff is very unpersonable, every mishap is never their fault. Have been known to have clients discriminate against employees (race, sexual orientation). Have had many cases of Unemployment brought against them for not-at-fault firings. Falsify Time Cards. Home office is not located near main work sights. Outdated dress code. Cheap looking uniforms. Some... client sites have overly demanding job requirements.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat employees with more respect. Client needs are half of your business, employee needs are the other half, remember that.

    Advantage Security2016-09-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Best security company in Colorado"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Security Officer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advantage Security

    Pros

    I have worked for 5 different security firms and have associates who have worked with many others. To be frank, security has always been a shady business: unqualified clowns to fill a uniform put on a post with zero training, not getting paid for overtime, being expected to purchase uniforms without compensation, being asked to do legally questionable things. That is the baseline. Advantage ASI, in contrast, is... by far the most professional and we'll organized outfit I've ever worked with. It is a privilege to be part of the ASI team. Also, PLENTY of overtime if you want it.

    Show More

    Cons

    The health insurance offered is the absolute worst package I've ever seen, you don't want Kaiser insurance with a sky high deductible. Practically worthless. Offer better insurance options. Pay is fair to start out with, but raises are non-existant. If you have the "soft look" (blazer and tie) uniform it is hot in the Summer and cold in the Winter, and you're never allowed to take off the blazer or tie while... you're on duty or risk termination. Perhaps offer blazers and slacks in a lighter material for Summer.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are doing a great job, but some clients have unreasonable or unrealistic expectations, and if a guard is suddenly expected to double their workload at the whim of a client they should be compensated fairly for that. A meager .25 an hour raise for every year with the company would be greatly appreciated.

    Advantage Security2016-05-18
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Operation Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in Aurora, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advantage Security full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quality Management team - compensation is above average

    Cons

    No downsides unless you create issues

    Advice to Management

    account managers should all be on same page and not operating as independent

    Advantage Security2016-01-11
  4. "Not Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Security Officer in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advantage Security

    Pros

    Plenty of hours. fairly easy job but you still had a lot of responsibility. Fair pay for a security job.

    Cons

    Short staffed. Benefits are not very good. Mediocre management depending on the site you work.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to you employees and offer pay raises even if they are small. We have people that have worked here for 10 plus years that make the same as when they started. There is also little to no room for advancement.

    Advantage Security2015-12-16
  5. "DECENT COMPANY, BUT WAS FIRED OVER ONE MISUNDERSTANDING!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Security Guard in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Advantage Security

    Pros

    I was employed at ASI for just under a year. the company was good at placing me in ideal locations that suited me, was flexible and understanding. As far as I knew, I was in good standing. THEN, I was assigned to a temporary ("special") assignment at a hotel in Littleton. I was offered the hours of 3:00-11:00PM, but explained I could only work 7:00-11:00PM. The scheduler I thought said that would be OK. Then,... around 4:00 of the first day of the assignment (3 hrs. before my start time!), I got a phone call from the ASI scheduler asking me why I wasn't on post. I explained I thought my start time was 7:00, not 3:00. I was asked to come to the ASI office to meet with the Supervisor, and to bring my uniforms. It was there I was fired, even though I explained this was due to a misunderstanding, NOT negligence! (Maybe both me and the scheduler could be faulted for not confirming the schedule.) One mis-step, and you're fired!!

    Show More

    Cons

    After nearly a year at ASI, I was fired over a misunderstanding of my schedule. (However, I would gladly return to ASI if they offered to rehire me)

    Advice to Management

    Having been fired over a misunderstanding of scheduling, I would recommend ASI have their Schedulers confirm schedules with guards over the phone or via e-mail to avoid misunderstandings of schedules in the future.

    Advantage Security2015-10-13
  6. "Good company overall, small-company feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Advantage Security full-time

    Pros

    Still feels like a small company, even though it's one of the largest in Denver. Vic, the president, says hello to people and remembers most everybody. Management is good -- I heard alot of coworkers complain, but I think they just didn't know how to compare with other companies, which aren't as well run. There's always some schedule confusion and occasional payroll confusion in security companies. It's... generally worse with others.

    Show More

    Cons

    I get the impression they're losing market share, slowly, but they still have alot of jobs so it should remain a good company for the forseeable future. Pay rates remain stagnant, but still better than working retail or fast food.

    Advantage Security2015-08-15
  7. "ASI "as we see it""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Thornton, CO
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advantage Security full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Awesome family owned company. Quick to respond to customers needs. "As a company; Personable, responsive, has great integrity, honorable, has never failed to deliver on payroll, and personal attention in the front office.

    Cons

    Not up to standards with "Today,s organizations" Still uses old school methods of paying individuals. Will allow you to go for years before giving you a pay raise. Will allow you to go for years without a personal employee review.

    Advice to Management

    Change style of pay practices. Do SOMETHING (besides an annual Christmas Party) to help employees feel like they are a part of a healthy, growing, advancing, organization.

    Advantage Security2015-08-24
  8. "Declining very fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Security Officer in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Advantage Security

    Pros

    You can usually make your own schedule as a "floater", until they try guilt-tripping you into working or ask "What do you have going on?". Working with some people who also understand and know how this company can really be.

    Cons

    Working with negligent people. Working for 3+ years without a pay raise. Being harassed by some clients. Working with countless liars who tell the most outrageous BS stories. Working with strange and absolutely freaky people. Not a career, nor any chance of advancement. A $10 movie pass for being officer of the month. Being told I am a liar to my face in so many words. They don't care about those who are... overqualified for every job they have.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you care at all about the company, try and fix it - fast. You were at one point a decent employer, but not anymore. You've lost huge accounts, and there shouldn't be any question as to why you lost those accounts. Vic Evans I never really dealt with, but the company overall is declining and very fast.

    Advantage Security2015-08-06
  9. "great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Albuquerque, NM

    I have been working at Advantage Security full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly supervisors, bosses who care accommodating to your days off needs, understanding of personal issues, takes care of the officer

    Cons

    Curently the only I have is pay, but as a 19 year old full time student it is really great pay. Just not career worthy,

    Advice to Management

    Do not stop the good work, I love working for yall. Fantastic company, you all provide a service that exceeds any other security company I have worked for.

    Advantage Security2015-06-10
  10. "Decent job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advantage Security full-time

    Pros

    Offers flexible hours; multiple locations; lots of opportunities for paid overtime

    Cons

    The schedulers are very stressed out and constantly calling and pressuring you to work shifts that they need covered.

    Advantage Security2015-06-13
Found 36 reviews