Advantage Security Security Officer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Security Officer

Advantage Security Security Officer Reviews

Updated May 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
83%
Approve of CEO
Advantage Security CEO Vic C. Evans (no image)
Vic C. Evans
12 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Best security company in Colorado"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Security Officer in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advantage Security

    Pros

    I have worked for 5 different security firms and have associates who have worked with many others. To be frank, security has always been a shady business: unqualified clowns to fill a uniform put on a post with zero training, not getting paid for overtime, being expected to purchase uniforms without compensation, being asked to do legally questionable things. That is the baseline. Advantage ASI, in contrast, is... by far the most professional and we'll organized outfit I've ever worked with. It is a privilege to be part of the ASI team. Also, PLENTY of overtime if you want it.

    Show More

    Cons

    The health insurance offered is the absolute worst package I've ever seen, you don't want Kaiser insurance with a sky high deductible. Practically worthless. Offer better insurance options. Pay is fair to start out with, but raises are non-existant. If you have the "soft look" (blazer and tie) uniform it is hot in the Summer and cold in the Winter, and you're never allowed to take off the blazer or tie while... you're on duty or risk termination. Perhaps offer blazers and slacks in a lighter material for Summer.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are doing a great job, but some clients have unreasonable or unrealistic expectations, and if a guard is suddenly expected to double their workload at the whim of a client they should be compensated fairly for that. A meager .25 an hour raise for every year with the company would be greatly appreciated.

    Advantage Security2016-05-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Plenty of work available at Advantage/"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advantage Security full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of overtime is available.

    Cons

    Some of the co-workers are overzealous.

    Advantage Security2019-05-01

    Advantage Security Response

    July 9, 2019HR Manager

    We appreciate your feedback and hope to continue to provide extra hours when needed. Thanks for the great review!

  3. "Former Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer - Site Supervisor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advantage Security full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    As a former Military member of the armed forces I recognized that Advantage Security's family owned business was a beginning for my journey back into the private sector. I was welcomed and trained from the beginning as a an asset to this company. Many different sites across all the Denver Metro Area.

    Cons

    Pay is competitive, however each site or place of work within the company has its own pay scales written down in the contract. As such it can be difficult to see significant pay increases even after advancement.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, strive to increase the pay for your young leadership so that so that you do not loose resources and can capitalize on rising stars.

    Advantage Security2018-08-06
  4. "Security Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advantage Security full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Team, decent pay, many chances for working overtime.

    Cons

    Lack of care from management, no chance of raise.

    Advice to Management

    Please pay more attention to your employees, and increase the pay rate of individuals who are committed to your company.

    Advantage Security2018-08-14
  5. "Working for advantage security"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Security Officer 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advantage Security for less than a year

    Pros

    Overtime is great, you can earn a lot if you're willing.

    Cons

    Some of the locations they send you

    Advantage Security2018-03-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good for Military to get into Civilian life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Officer - Site Supervisor in Denver, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advantage Security full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Very flexible for school Very easy to get back into the swing of being a civilian Networking while offering security services Good mentors at many of the security sites

    Cons

    Hard to move up Difficult to make a name in the company Young officers have a steep climb

    Advice to Management

    Be more willing to accept the young superstars!

    Advantage Security2017-07-18
  7. "Good people bad pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advantage Security full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work is always a fun time

    Cons

    Pay is crap, hours are long and boring

    Advice to Management

    Give raises to all employees. More hours

    Advantage Security2017-07-14
  8. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Security Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Advantage Security

    Pros

    Lots of overtime if you want it.

    Cons

    Management will do everything it can to step over you for a promotion so they don't lose you at that spot. EEO is preferred over everything else.

    Advantage Security2016-12-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "I would not recommend working here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Advantage Security full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to exercise every day doing your duties if you work in one of their larger corporate buildings.

    Cons

    Blended pay, no concern for employees on a whole and poor hourly wages. We are paid minimum wage for training and then our regular hourly wage after that. I worked Thanksgiving and was looking forward to holiday pay based on my regular hourly wage, but no. Since they do this thing called blended pay (AKA, corporate greed allowing them to keep more money) I was paid a wage in between minimum wage and my regular... hourly wage, which seriously reduced the amount of my check. Furthermore, I told them about some medical restrictions I am on for an issue that is going to require surgery, and they said; well you can't work until you are released from the restrictions. They did not even try to find a position that I could do with the restrictions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the blended pay and don't stop people from working due to medical restrictions.

    Advantage Security2016-12-08
  10. "Officer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Security Officer in Aurora, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Advantage Security

    Pros

    They had decent places to work and the duties were not that difficult. It was good to interact with people who weren't security.

    Cons

    Extreme unorganization and lack of empathy or even going to bat for officer when it came to removing an officer from a site. They often side with every account from clients without doing any investigation. They treat their guards like imbeciles and as if they are not intelligent people.

    Advice to Management

    Get organized and go to bat for good guards. Look for the good qualities in your guard pool and try getting to know them.

    Advantage Security2016-09-16
Found 18 reviews