AdventHealth Central Texas Reviews | Glassdoor

AdventHealth Central Texas Reviews

Updated May 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
AdventHealth Central Texas CEO Kevin Roberts
Kevin Roberts
1 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Pharmacy Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AdventHealth Central Texas part-time

    Pros

    Friendly staff, good hours, christian based organization.

    Cons

    Must know how to play the political game, especially with directors and CEO.

    AdventHealth Central Texas2017-06-01
  2. "Great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Clinical Social Worker in Killeen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AdventHealth Central Texas

    Pros

    Worked in the outpatient behavioral health clinic facilitating assessments of first-time patients scheduled to see prescriber. Great group of people; very fast-paced clinic. Management very supportive of their employees.

    Cons

    Job was scheduled to go full-time; process was very slow; however, when this job is advertised, it will be a full-time position. The only reason I resigned was that I received a full-time job offer in another city.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing.

    AdventHealth Central Texas2017-05-27
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Bad experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Killeen, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AdventHealth Central Texas full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The doctors I worked with were great.

    Cons

    Pay was lower than what was considered normal. Management was fear-based leadership. I was yelled at by my boss on numerous occasions. They expected me to do two different jobs disguised as one job. I was told at my interview that I would receive 4-6 weeks of training to be successful and I received less than a week.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like human beings. Lead by learning how to serve. Yelling, screaming, and belittling your employees only breeds bitterness towards you.

    AdventHealth Central Texas2017-02-07
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Look at all your options first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Killeen, TX
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at AdventHealth Central Texas full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Clean, well maintained facility. Growing service lines. Decent pay in low socioeconomic area. Ok improved rep in the community and marketing is strong. People are friendly.

    Cons

    Massive turnover. Numerous directors and managers gone in the last year. Poor staff retention and no effort to create retention plan. Leadership expectations are 7 days a week so don't expect any family time. Not enough staff to meet demands.

    Advice to Management

    Administration: Don't raise your voice or roll your eyes in meetings. It is bad form and your leaders don't respect you. How do you expect them to perform miracles when you are not good examples for them. Passive aggressive is not the Christian way to extend the healing ministry of Christ.

    AdventHealth Central Texas2016-11-06
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Interesting."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Killeen, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AdventHealth Central Texas full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Served community I loved. Met and got to love a great deal of my coworkers

    Cons

    Poor management. Favoritism. Racism. Too many cliques. Charge nurses sitting on behind or applying makeup at desk. Many people in charge have No leadership experience or skills

    Advice to Management

    Need to clean house within nursing admin

    AdventHealth Central Texas2016-02-24
  6. Helpful (2)

    "You should care for people more than making money!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AdventHealth Central Texas

    Pros

    Faith based health system owned by Adventist Health System

    Cons

    More emphasis on financial profits than safety of patients

    Advice to Management

    Care for people more than money

    AdventHealth Central Texas2015-11-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Hypocrits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AdventHealth Central Texas full-time

    Pros

    The people at the worker-bee level. Most everyone is friendly, helpful and generous.

    Cons

    Hypocrisy at the admin and corporate level. If you incessantly spew forth a ton of rhetoric concerning your "Christian values" you should try to live up to at least some of the basic ones.

    Advice to Management

    Treat everyone equally and stop playing favorites. Everyone with the same job title or description should have the same duties and opportunities.

    AdventHealth Central Texas2015-09-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "rn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AdventHealth Central Texas full-time

    Pros

    Staff easy to get along with, family environment in a smaller community hospital. Units are very cohesive, great teamwork.

    Cons

    Pay is not to scale with other facilities in the area. This has been addressed, and was in the process of being remedied.

    Advice to Management

    Certain departments lack the correct type of management, that make their staff feel appreciated and important. Take the time to genuinely appreciate us.

    AdventHealth Central Texas2015-04-22
  9. Helpful (4)

    "So much potential headed in the wrong direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Killeen, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at AdventHealth Central Texas for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Close to home. Has an abundance of staff who are trying to do the right thing, struggling to make a difference & eager to support the mission of "Extending the Healing ministry of Christ"; has a lot of untapped potential working for them.

    Cons

    Administration consistently makes poor decisions. Despite their mission, they fail to extend the same care, compassion & "healing ministry" to their own employees. The 'Good old Boy' network in a growing but still small town continues to allow bad behavior, particularly the misuse of resources and abuse of employees by certain physicians. Instead of correcting the bad behaviors and business practices of a handful of physicians,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Wake up! You are invisible. Stop making work harder instead of smarter. Quit putting up with bad behavior and misuse of resources by a handful of physicians. If you want to save money and control expenses, start there. Start treating the employees like humans again. There is a lack of work-life balance due to staffing practices. It feels unsafe working here now because you have cut so much staff and mismanaged the ones...

    Show More
    AdventHealth Central Texas2015-03-10
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Good place to start out nursing career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Registered Nurse in Killeen, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AdventHealth Central Texas full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Benefits Close to home Co-workers friendly Job security if not in management Good training ground for new graduate nurses

    Cons

    Leadership changes to often Role expectations are unclear Patient supplies are minimal

    Advice to Management

    Invest in retaining your employees; give them time, pay attention to the good job they do and recognize it publically and involve them in operational decision-making to accomplish goals.

    AdventHealth Central Texas2014-12-16
Found 28 reviews