Adventureland Amusement Park Reviews | Glassdoor

Adventureland Amusement Park Reviews

Updated 8 May 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Anthony Gentile
1 Ratings
  1. "Favorite Job I've Ever Had!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Prep, Cook, Server, Cashier in Farmingdale, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Adventureland Amusement Park part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The management is amazing! They're highly respectful and a lot of fun! The way they run the establishment was well organized. I've always had a positive experience working there for many years.

    Cons

    They tend to hire lots of younger people. Although this is a great place to grow and learn responsibility, sometimes it was difficult working around a younger kid's schedule (sometimes they were only allowed to work til 8 or 9 due to federal law) This left us short staffed often which was stressful.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Adventureland Amusement Park2019-05-08
  2. "If you like standing and being in the hot sun for 8 hours then you will like this job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Adventureland Amusement Park part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    East job and fun if you have friends

    Cons

    very clicky people and often never got a break.

    Adventureland Amusement Park2019-02-24
  3. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Adventureland Amusement Park part-time

    Pros

    Meet a lot of new people and be in a fun environment

    Cons

    If you work outside, you are stuck outside no matter what the weather is like.

    Adventureland Amusement Park2017-02-28
  4. "Housekeeping"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Housekeeper in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Adventureland Amusement Park full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    team work and hard work

    Cons

    Dependable and flowing rules

    Advice to Management

    I am very active and hard work

    Adventureland Amusement Park2016-12-08
  5. "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Adventureland Amusement Park for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Family owned business with extremely flexible hours and understanding management, the work is something a monkey could do.

    Cons

    The weather can be grueling and some other employees can feel entitled or clicky

    Advice to Management

    Don't let the kids boss you around

    Adventureland Amusement Park2016-11-27
  6. "Game operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Game Operator in Farmingdale, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Adventureland Amusement Park part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great management and co workers. A good summer job for college students. Lots of other employees around the same age. I made many lasting friendships during my years working there.

    Cons

    Some employees move up to supervisory positions based on who they are friends with not on productivity or how long they have worked there. Lots of stupid high school drama among employees.

    Advice to Management

    Promote based on productivity and work habits

    Adventureland Amusement Park2016-08-16
  7. "Ride Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Adventureland Amusement Park part-time

    Pros

    It was a great first job. It gets your feet in the water on basic knowledge and skills that you will use in future jobs. Ex) How to handle difficult situations and how to work a cash register.

    Cons

    The heat is unbearable. More than likely you deal with very rude customers. You will find children to be annoying very quickly.

    Advice to Management

    More fans at work stations. Other than that it's all great.

    Adventureland Amusement Park2016-06-29
  8. "Was Fine"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Adventureland Amusement Park part-time

    Pros

    Was a decent first job to have. No experience needed. Flexible hours. They will hire pretty much anyone.

    Cons

    The pay was bad and standing outside for hours in the heat was not fun. Employee food was awful.

    Adventureland Amusement Park2016-04-02
  9. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Kiddie Ride Operator in Farmingdale, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Adventureland Amusement Park part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice management and supervisors Great co-workers Great job for high school students

    Cons

    Gets really really hot in the summer

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Adventureland Amusement Park2015-06-08
  10. "What you would expect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Rides/Games Operator in Farmingdale, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Adventureland Amusement Park part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    hours, over time, you get 2 P.O.P. bracelets per month (can't be carried over to the next month), 25 cents raise for each year you come back

    Cons

    takes a long time to get a break, rude customers, you can't always get the ride/game you want to work at, bad weather, you start at minimum wage

    Advice to Management

    Rides/games/supervisors should be paid more than $10 per hour because they bust their butts arguing with customers in Hot and Cold weather.

    Adventureland Amusement Park2015-03-28
Found 14 reviews