Advertising Outsourcing Services Reviews | Glassdoor

Advertising Outsourcing Services Reviews

Updated Jun 27, 2018

To filter reviews, or .
2.2
27%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
Advertising Outsourcing Services Founder & President Jim Kelley (no image)
Jim Kelley
22 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "A good place to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advertising Outsourcing Services full-time

    Pros

    A great and easy starter job in the field with a relaxed atmosphere and easy going management team. Plenty of work helps keep the day go by quickly.

    Cons

    Management is sometimes a little too relaxed, and sometimes not prepared enough for unexpected situations. Probably not the best location.

    Continue reading
    Advertising Outsourcing Services2017-03-31
  2. "Decent design work for NEPA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graphic Designer in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Advertising Outsourcing Services full-time

    Pros

    Easy work, young talent, casual dress, good equipment, good experience for NEPA

    Cons

    Poor organizational structure, software is glitchy and has dated GUI, lack of incentive or clear pathway for advancement

    Continue reading
    Advertising Outsourcing Services2018-06-28
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Not everyone is cut out to work in this industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Management in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advertising Outsourcing Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Beautiful Macs; latest software; laid back work environment; a company where you can move up the ladder easily by working hard and contributing positively.

    Cons

    Hourly employees' hours are subject to being cut during extremely slow times of the year, although as new business is being secured, this will end. Compensation could be better; the pay scale needs to be fairer. A 401k program needs to be started. Benefits and paid vacation aren't enough to entice employees anymore (even though they are appreciated!)

    Continue reading
    Advertising Outsourcing Services2016-02-02
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Psycho boss"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Advertising Outsourcing Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Employee parking and water cooler. Yep that's about it. However a few of the staff are fun to get along with and try to make the daily task of walking on eggshells not so terrible. A stepping stone but definitely not a long term career.

    Cons

    The boss is crazy and doesn't care about his employees. He has fired multiple people in front of entire staff. He doesn't understand how to run a company and has no money to pay his staff. Threatens his staff with illegal acts to avoid paying unemployment (which he openly admits to) and says he has every right to do "according to his attorney". No direct deposit of payroll checks. Only papers checks. The boss asks employees opinions of working environment however no one can be honest because they fear they will be fired for it even if he says they won't. He will fire them anyway. The company would work if the boss wasn't such a joke and let someone else run it for him. Instead he is there everyday making sexually harassing comments towards the females and making employees work days hell.

    Continue reading
    Advertising Outsourcing Services2016-03-05
  5. Helpful (5)

    "THE WORST PLACE I EVER WORKED"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    CIS in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Advertising Outsourcing Services

    Pros

    The non-management employees are really nice and friendly. The computers and mostly new or newer MACS. I wish I could say more positives but can’t.

    Cons

    This company has to be the absolute worst place I ever worked. They don't allow breaks, which were forbidden. Lucky you get a lunch. But instead of scheduling your breaks and lunch like most places do, they just forbid them and make you check in with them on your every move. They need a plan B when customers want a rush job done, you can still work and have breaks and lunches, it is possible to accomplish. Someone from AOS management has been posting responses on here. Don't be misled by their congenial demeanor and explanations. These managers have no prior management experience, and are picked as the flavor of the week. The company is still run by the same person Jim Kelley and therefore his minions are subordinate to him. So don’t expect a change in management culture no matter who is calling themselves a manager this week. I witnessed a person get yelled at in front of everyone else and get fired all because of a mistake Jim Kelley made. The manager I worked for always had a puss on his face and did not seem happy. You’re treated like you’re in high school and must tell them when on breaks before they forbid them, tell them when on lunch. The owner is very moody and won’t think twice about yelling at you in front of other employee and making you feel like an idiot. Yes Pennsylvania is an at will employer, but that doesn’t mean you have absolutely no employee rights at AOS. Check with your attorney for the specifics. The owner flip flops and changes his mind often. He might offer you a full time job one week only to tell you the next week he don’t need you an longer. Also expect layoffs, the owner will not absorb minor fluctuations in the newspaper advertising industry so if it gets slow expect to be out of work and if it’s really busy expect to work overtime all the time. The salary is almost fifty percent lower than the industry standard. The benefits are minimal. Personally not worth what you have endure on the job. They don't perform a standard type of performance review so you have no idea how your progressing. Overall this is a job adventure I would not to repeat.

    Continue reading
    Advertising Outsourcing Services2016-01-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Don't believe Negative reviews"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advertising Outsourcing Services full-time

    Pros

    Very nice MACs with like 27 inch monitors! People help each other out. Great learning experience. Usually promotes from within.

    Cons

    limited growth opportunity, Boss has some mood swings. Barking dog... you MUST be a team player!

    Continue reading
    Advertising Outsourcing Services2015-11-30
  7. Helpful (3)

    "A great place to start, but not long term oriented yet."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advertising Outsourcing Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have to begin with the people. I have been helped a lot with my time here. If there is a better way of doing something, we share it. I also have to say getting more experience with the clients we have. Clients are not always a picnic, but the experience in talking with them is valuable. Benefits are offered, and the price is helped out by the company. Promotions are offered, and are available a few times a year. All you need to do is open your mouth and prove yourself. Raises, there is a lot of debate over raises here. In my time here I received 2 raises and both came with extra responsibility. If your work stands out, you prove yourself to the company, a raise is very well possible quickly. The owner does bring in his dog daily. She can bark. She does have to be let out at times, and yes when the boss is unavailable she has to be let out. She is a dog. I happen to like dogs and understand she cannot just be locked up in the main office all day like some employees would like. I have read some complaints about fire hazards, fleas from the dog, and software being pirated. These have since all been addressed and proven wrong no matter what anyone here says, those are serious accusations that the company endured from former employees with a grudge. The company is still here and is as strong as it ever was.

    Cons

    When I began the roster was full of a lot of complainers. Some rightfully so. Others just seemed to complain for the sake of it. Employees have attempt to sabotage this company, and have since been weeded out. There are still cons of course. Starting wages could be and should be better. There should be more of an emphasis on bringing in more clients and of course raising the clients prices every year like every other company does. The owner does tend to say things he should not. I have cringed when I hear things openly said on the floor. He can be loud and grumpy at times, and I have seen employees quit because he at times has yelled. I put the dog here as well, because I know there are some employees that do not like her. I get it, not everyone is a dog person. If you can't handle a Border Collie do not apply here.

    Continue reading
    Advertising Outsourcing Services2015-11-05
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Good and Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Advertising Outsourcing Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most of the coworkers were wonderful and great to get along with when I was there. I am still in touch with many of them and became great friends. Most of the people I worked with some still there have real talent and are great at what they do. I gained substantial experience and gained valuable skills on the job. I am greatful for the experience I gained. It showed me I can do anything. When I was there they provided a parking pass no need to pay for parking.

    Cons

    Not having solid procedures across the board on turn around times and holding to them with the sales reps. Not having realistic deadlines and I found most ads the reps picked any deadline they wanted that wasn't appropriate to their "run" date. They just wanted their ad back when I would talk to them. Long hours, I can understand doing overtime occasionaly but not everyday. Needed crossover training for coverage. Handling 40+ ads everyday at one point pretty much by yourself because no one else in the company knows how to do ads in your site. Confusion on who your manager is. Failed communication instances of people not knowing certain things. I had my schedule changed and I assumed upper mangemnet would notify my manger about the change. I got a call from my manger at home wondering why I didn't show up and I told them upper management changed my shift. The owners dog constantly barked and was very disruptive to the work environment. Worse the owner would yell at the dog to be quiet which was worse than the dog barking. Employees walked the owners dog. I hope that doesn't still happen. The owner should take care of his own dog even if people vouleentered to help and he would leave it at the office when he went on a business trip and the employees would take care of it. He should have really put it in a kennel when he was away. Some of the owner's comments can be inapproprite even if he is just "joking." I heard the owner make a comment to an employee about her costume since we were having an office Halloween party and made a comment of semi sexual nature about her husband with regards to the costume. Basically I was shocked at what he said and couldn't believe she let him get away with it. They had an opportunity to take a class for an Adobe program but you had to commit to 1-2 years with the company if you did take it when I was there.

    Continue reading
    Advertising Outsourcing Services2015-07-19
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Advertising Outsourcing Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Designer in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advertising Outsourcing Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid Classes, Paid Overtime, Health Dental and Vision Insurance (You have to pay a portion), Paid Holidays, Flexibility During Family Emergency, Employee Picnic, Office Pot Lucks, Great People! This place is a growing company and is taking charge of this industry!

    Cons

    Considering it is a production job you must be available during inclement weather.

    Continue reading
    Advertising Outsourcing Services2015-06-24
  10. Helpful (7)

    "A Foot in the Door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graphic Artist in Wilkes-Barre, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advertising Outsourcing Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I think the title of my review should be the focus around the pros and cons of working at AOS. This isn't the end all be all where I would expect someone to work until retirement, but it is a fantastic starting point for someone interested in getting a foot in the door as a graphic designer. The work is fairly steady and you usually get your 40hrs a week. That said, there are weeks you may get to leave a little early and some where you may have to pull a couple hours of overtime, but for me it has never been an extreme of one or the other. I have had jobs where the schedule can be unpredictable and I appreciate that this place isn't so. Shifts are also pretty normal with a typical 9-5:30 day shift and a 3:30-12 night shift. Speaking of shifts and schedules, I have also found the company willing to work with you if time off is needed or you need to adjust your schedule to take care of something. I think that's a perk of working for a small, privately owned business like this. Let me touch on what I consider one of the biggest perks I have experienced with working here. Training. The company receives a yearly government stipend to send employees for training with things like Indesign, Flash and other Adobe programs. It's all expenses paid and would cost you a ton of money to do on your own so I'd definitely recommend it to any new hires. Also, people mention the people. Overall there's a great group of folks here and overall the office culture is pretty relaxed and neutral. You don't get a lot of the catty politics that you find in most office scenarios. The talent pool here is incredible and anyone getting hired can benefit from being around people with such experience and creativity. Beyond being coworkers, I think great connections in the field and friends can be made from working aside like-minded individuals. I mentioned creativity and I think that's important to say because this is a place where you are welcome to express yourself and your interests, be it through your work, your attire or the way you decorate your workspace. It's okay to be comfortable and I think that's important.

    Cons

    You won't get rich working here, but I think that's expected for an entry level job in the field and while working for such a small company. As I mentioned before, this is a place to cut your teeth and get experience so you can move on to bigger, better paying jobs. Redundancy can be an issue here while working on ads. Every now and then you get to use your creativity and really put out something nice, but often you're putting out pretty standard text based classifieds and just rearranging/updating an existing ad. Put in for vacation time as early as possible if you have made plans. Being that this is a small company, it can be problematic if we have too many artists off at one time and this is why it's important to request for time off well in advance. Snow days. I have personally driven in everything PA has had to throw at me without having a 4x4 and have always been fine, but some people live out in the sticks and can't make it in safely. That said, you're still expected to make it. On the flip side, someone is usually willing to come and get you and the company will put you in a hotel for the night if need be.

    Continue reading
    Advertising Outsourcing Services2015-06-30
Found 29 reviews