Advia Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Advia Credit Union Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Advia Credit Union CEO Cheryl A. DeBoer (no image)
Cheryl A. DeBoer
36 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Fantastic culture and great staff from the tellers to the CEO. Highly recommended!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advia Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great culture with pleanty of movement upwards if you are motivated to do so.

    Cons

    Constantly changing loan goals can make the job stressful but all in all it is a good place to work.

    Advia Credit Union2019-08-20
  2. "Advia"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in Comstock, MI
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advia Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits for Full and Part-time employees

    Cons

    It's very stressful in branch dealing with members.

    Advia Credit Union2019-10-17
  3. "Quickly Losing Sight"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advia Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co-workers are great for the most part. Culture is fairly relaxed. Depending on your region, benefits are excellent and pay is competitive.

    Cons

    Management here is often clueless and disrespectful. Adding more and more layers of "strategic thinkers" without enough employees at the specialist and administrative levels for support. Requests for such employees are often denied, resulting in a stagnant environment. Workplace politics prevent any true progression. Advia is becoming less about people and more about profits.

    Advice to Management

    Employees and members need to be put first. Management needs to be encouraged to have better people skills and build better relationships at all levels. If you want to be as big as you dream, career opportunities need to be available and supported.

    Advia Credit Union2019-09-30
  4. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advia Credit Union full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pay fair, great benefits, Health Benefits, 401K with employer match, generous PTO,

    Cons

    could career path more with internal staff

    Advia Credit Union2019-08-29
  5. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Summer Teller in Parchment, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advia Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Advia has an amazing training program and is a great program to get your feet wet in the world of finance. I attend university elsewhere and was glad to be able to come back multiple summers to work full time hours with decent pay.

    Cons

    Extremely hard to move up from a teller position, as tellers can typically only become an MSS. Management can play favorites and does not always actively seek to help employees.

    Advice to Management

    play a more active role in assisting member facing staff, as this means a lot to members.

    Advia Credit Union2019-07-16
  6. "Bank teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bank Teller 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advia Credit Union part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I love advia goals and mission

    Cons

    I didn’t like I had to wait 12 moths to become full time

    Advia Credit Union2019-04-05
  7. "Mixed Bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teller in Kalamazoo, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advia Credit Union part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great entry training, engaging work for tellers, advancement opportunities, some fantastic branch-level management

    Cons

    Inconsistent branch experiences, senior management more focused on M&A than running the company, office politics issues, teller pay is lower than market, HEAVY sales/loans focus for a credit union, advancement opportunities frequently used as a carrot on the stick without any realistic likelihood of being hired for that position

    Advice to Management

    Focus on building member support and solid foundation, the belt-tightening we've experienced in 2019 was a long time coming. Take employee considerations seriously, stop using causal days as a replacement for actual proactive culture development

    Advia Credit Union2019-03-04
  8. "N/A"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Advia Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    None, it is a bullying culture where if you are not in the "it" crowd you are ostracized and labeled as a problem. Even if you do your work and meet your goals, if one person doesn't like you, then they will create reason to discipline you.

    Cons

    On top of being a horrible employer, there bank services are terrible. Especially their loan department, cannot answer any questions and pass the buck and blame to the consumer. Do yourself a favor and stay far, far, far away from this place.

    Advice to Management

    Stop being terrible.

    Advia Credit Union2018-12-13
  9. "Good company and great environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teller in Plainwell, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advia Credit Union part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved the people I worked with, and the company atmosphere was great. Management always seemed to care and wanted to help.

    Cons

    The job can be pretty sales heavy and sometimes seems scripted

    Advia Credit Union2018-11-19
  10. "Senior Teller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Teller in Parchment, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advia Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to development, serious investment from management and leadership, constant challenge, requires wholehearted engagement.

    Cons

    New goals and processes are rolled out somewhat haphazardly. Lack of space and resources to accomplish given goals.

    Advice to Management

    Consistency in leadership is a must. I've been very lucky to have leaders I deeply respect. Not all management is held to the same expectations.

    Advia Credit Union2018-10-29
Found 45 reviews