Advisor Group Reviews

Updated May 21, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 225 of over 242 reviews

3.5
59%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Advisor Group Chief Executive Officer Jamie Price
Jamie Price
134 Ratings

The latest conversations about Finance

Join the conversation on

Finance

47.7K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/finance/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.com&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Advisor Group~1403632
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "workers will openly yell at managers about our low pay.(in 13 reviews)
  • "A lot of information can only be “heard through the grapevine” especially when employee's direct manager is at another location.(in 7 reviews)
  • "Thus, quick training and high expections for completion of the new document type is pushed constantly.(in 7 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Advisor Group and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Amazing

    May 12, 2022 - IAM Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work from home Promotes learning Engaging work

    Cons

    There were no downsides to working there

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Not Perfect, but Better than Many

    Dec 15, 2021 - Financial Advisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    SagePoint is a large broker/dealer firm that offers support for financial advisors. Their tech platform needs some work, and I believe they are sincere about trying to implement a new improvements. The compliance department is thorough, and to advisors that are conscientious, this is an asset because it prevents problems for us in the long run. The people are genuine.

    Cons

    Tech can be glitchy. They nickel and dime advisors on fees, but that is not exclusive to this b/d; they all do it. Management sets expectations for themselves and systematically fails to meet every single goal. It is to the point where no one believes a word that is uttered at the annual conference. Advisors actually joke about it regularly.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great opportunities in IT and EPMO fields

    Mar 21, 2022 - Senior Program Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The hiring process can be slow but once onboarded, I was immediately empowered to contribute in meaningful ways. Management really listens and respects the experts. The politics are mild in comparison to most places. It’s a growing company so lots of opportunities to have influence and potential future advancement. Great group of folks. They tend to contract-to-hire and favor seasoned experts over cost saving newbie’s. Work from home is allowed and they provide the technology to make it possible. Benefits are good. Bonus is excellent. Great group of folks.

    Cons

    If you need order and predictability, this is not your spot. With growth comes disruption. And they have both! Collaboration skills are critical, as is being op n to shifting priorities. With that said, I’ve always felt I had a voice in course changes. The CEO’s vision is not clear, not clearly aligned to goals and budget.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Too much micromanagement

    May 21, 2022 - Anonymous Former Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I guess having this job at that time allowed me to pay my bills so it was still a good job to have when you're in need.

    Cons

    I didn't like the feeling of not being trusted to do my own job. There was too much micromanagement here that I never felt that I had freedom to do my job independently without someone hovering over my shoulders. It wasn't a good feeling.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Fast paced, leading the industry

    May 5, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of growth at the company which brings with it opportunities to contribute in new ways. Exec team has a good strategy in place for the next several years. Great colleagues to work with as well. Benefits package is really good.

    Cons

    The pace can be dizzying at times.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    No incentive to keep valuable employees

    May 17, 2022 - Anonymous 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Generous PTO Provided education assistance for career advancement

    Cons

    Overworked and underpaid Insignificant max merit increase annually Short maternity leave Mediocre health insurance Cost of living is not factored into salary High turnover, often have to work double or triple the amount for months after another employee leaves.

    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Place to Work

    Mar 29, 2022 - Executive Assistant in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started as a contractor and was offered to come on board full time. The AG recruiter was very kind and knowledgeable. The application and interview experience was quick and easy. Even though I began as a contractor I was welcomed warmly and was given the tools I need to do my job. I’ve had great training and the resources are abundant. Great benefits as well. My experience has been nothing but positive.

    Cons

    No cons to share from me.

    2 people found this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Most disorganized and unethical places to work

    Apr 12, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They cater food sometimes. Most non-managerial employees are nice and pleasant to work with.

    Cons

    Advisor Group is one of the most disorganized and unethical places to work. Everything they preach to you in orientation is a lie. Work Life Balance only exists for the management staff and executive. The pay is horrible and below any other company of the same business type. The moment you ask for a raise they tell you "what have you done to deserve it". I would advise anyone who is thinking about working here to apply elsewhere.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Advisor Group Response

    CHRO

    In alignment with our value of Do What’s Right. Always., employees have multiple options to report improper activity including reaching out to their manager, functional Executive leader, HR Business Partner, and have the option to report anonymously through AG’s Open Reporting Hotline (information available on the intranet). We are authentic and honest, even when it is hard, and we need the details from you to make it right.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Great Company

    Apr 8, 2022 - Sales Manager in Oakdale, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Good Benefits -Flexible Work Arrangements -Competitive Pay

    Cons

    Too Many layers of decision making Behind on Technology upgrades

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Poor Sense of Direction, Great People

    May 2, 2022 - Technical Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people who really care and want to make the culture and product better

    Cons

    Upper management that makes short sided decisions and does not seem to value employee feedback. Also, everything is priority 1 so nothing is.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 225 Reviews

Advisor Group Reviews FAQs

Advisor Group has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 242 reviews left anonymously by employees. 59% of employees would recommend working at Advisor Group to a friend and 54% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Advisor Group employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.3 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Advisor Group. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

59% of Advisor Group employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Advisor Group 3.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.3 for culture and values and 3.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Advisor Group to be senior leadership, career development, benefits and the cons to be management, compensation.

Popular Careers with Advisor Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Advisor Group? Share Your Experiences

or