Advisor Group Reviews

Updated May 19, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
72%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
Advisor Group Chief Executive Officer Jamie Price
Jamie Price
81 Ratings
Pros
  • "Within my first 3 months of being at Advisor Group I had already met the CEO which was exciting(in 16 reviews)

  • "They promote a healthy work/life balance(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "No Cons for working for Advisor Group/Woodbury Financial Services(in 8 reviews)

  • "We're doing a lot of growing and sometimes it feels like we can't keep up with everything the leadership team is doing to grow the company(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Personal touch during COVID-19"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisor Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Looking around at other companies during the COVID-19 pandemic, we are fortunate for the early work-from-home decision at AG. More importantly, that the company had made the investment years ago in a full laptop-based workforce and strong VPN servers that enabled that. We are able to stay connected w/each other and our customers during this difficult time.

    Cons

    Seeing key execs leave during a crisis doesn't send positive signals

    Continue reading
    Advisor Group2020-04-06
  2. "A great place to work and grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisor Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic response to COVID-19 pandemic: The entire company switched to remote work before Arizona even instated a stay at home order; the leadership team has been communicating clearly throughout; and employees aren't being forced to go back into the office before they're comfortable doing so even though Arizona lifted restrictions. Great, competitive compensation and benefits with the opportunity for everyone to earn a bonus based on company performance. The bonus opportunity makes me feel more invested in the success of our company and like my efforts are rewarded. 20 days of PTO: I've never worked somewhere that gives you that much PTO without working there for at least five years, sometimes ten years. Health insurance from day one of employment: Again, I've never worked at a company that does this, and it gave me so much reassurance when I switched jobs to come here two years ago as my family's primary income and insurance provider. Company invests in your career growth: One of my favorite benefits is an online education pass that keeps me up-to-date on the latest best practices and new features in the software I use for my job. A culture that celebrates and rewards each other's success

    Cons

    The downtown Phoenix office location can mean a long commute with lots of traffic. Lots of mergers and acquisitions and regulatory changes over the past few years have created a fast paced work environment where it can sometimes feel difficult to keep up and remember all of the details. We'd probably benefit from adding some more employees to distribute the workload.

    Continue reading
    Advisor Group2020-05-19
  3. "A Great Start"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervising Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisor Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a nice place to start a career

    Cons

    There are alot of moving parts making things inefficient

    Continue reading
    Advisor Group2020-05-12
  4. "Lots of potential"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisor Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great CEO, innovative thinkers, trying to create a positive culture

    Cons

    Usual office politics, lack of accountability by some leaders

    Advisor Group2020-04-16
  5. "Employee-focused company with good growth"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisor Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Advisor Group's growth has really accelerated over the years, especially recently with the merger with Ladenburg Thalmann. It is comforting to be with a company that is in growth mode and is becoming a large contender in the marketplace. Beyond that, there is a lot of opportunity for stretch assignments that get you exposure to other things. The challenge is you have to do those stretch assignments in addition to your normal workload, so you have to be motivated to want to do more and take on more, which will get you ahead. The executive team is solid and the senior leadership team has a lot of really great talent. Benefits are good and time off is great (PTO, paid sick time, volunteer time are all offered). 401k match is good and you get it from day one of employment.

    Cons

    Advisor Group is not for employees that don't want to put an honest day of work in. There are challenges everyday that we work to solve and successful employees take those challenges head on and move on to the next. So if you don't want to work hard, this isn't the place for you.

    Continue reading
    Advisor Group2020-04-08
  6. "Chaotic and unsecure place"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Advisor Group full-time

    Pros

    Smaller Group and less bureaucracy.

    Cons

    Chaotic, No uniform direction form leadership.

    Advisor Group2020-04-17
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Sales Assistant in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisor Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High quality back office staff and support

    Cons

    Good pay no real benefits however.

    Continue reading
    Advisor Group2020-03-19
  8. "Company has lost its way"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisor Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Helping an underserved consumer with financial advice.

    Cons

    Large increase in benefit costs, recent layoffs, lot of recent “retirements”, no chance at promotion, low cost of living increases, in my area of compliance lack of leadership

    Continue reading
    Advisor Group2020-03-28

    Advisor Group Response

    March 31, 2020SVP, Human Resources

    Thank you for recognizing the important role each AG associate plays in supporting financial professionals who aid the needs of middle America. In uncertain times, it's prudent to closely watch all fixed and variable costs for the benefit of all our stakeholders. Many steps have been taken to mitigate negative impacts on employees, while at the same time make good investments in talent & technology to ensure a strong future. We're all in this together, and we depend on leadership in every role, not just those with the title of “manager.”

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not the best environment"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advisor Group full-time

    Pros

    Well-funded, strong industry name, growth

    Cons

    Pay, HORRIBLE attitudes, restrictions on advancement, I was told one salary during interview but was offered considerably less

    Continue reading
    Advisor Group2020-03-24

    Advisor Group Response

    March 31, 2020SVP, Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share your experience. As a privately-held company. Advisor Group enjoys strategic investment from our private equity owners which allow us to grow and invest in key areas, including investing in our employees through annual merit increases and performance-based bonuses. I would encourage you to speak with your manager regarding your pay concerns. Advisor Group utilizes market data to make data-driven compensation decisions commensurate with experience and job position.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good but could be better"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    IT Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends

    I have been working at Advisor Group

    Pros

    Pay is above market. Lots of room for promotion. Good team.

    Cons

    Growth pains. Overworked. Lack of prioritization.

    Continue reading
    Advisor Group2020-03-21
Found 125 reviews