Advisor Group Reviews

Updated May 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Advisor Group Chief Executive Officer Jamie Price
Jamie Price
106 Ratings
Pros
  • "Within my first 3 months of being at Advisor Group I had already met the CEO which was exciting(in 18 reviews)

  • "They promote a healthy work/life balance(in 15 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "No Cons for working for Advisor Group/Woodbury Financial Services(in 8 reviews)

  • "We're doing a lot of growing and sometimes it feels like we can't keep up with everything the leadership team is doing to grow the company(in 6 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Gender

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Advisor Group and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company to take part of, very dynamic and resourceful.

      Apr 25, 2021 - Human Resources in Oklahoma City, OK
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Terrific tools, career development and training

      Cons

      No cons to discuss that I had encountered.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Heavy HR Focus; Poor Executive Leadership

      Apr 19, 2021 - Communications Manager in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Responsive to remote work needs during pandemic

      Cons

      Executive leaders *extremely slow* to act to the needs of organization and tone deaf to the needs of financial professionals and employees. They will simply not respond if you reach out to them and raise a potentially sensitive issue. As a private-equity-owned firm, there is a heavy fiscal focus on their bottom line. AG sends out an over abundance of trifle communications regarding HR topics and requests, but exhibits little true care for employee workforce. They're cheap (holiday gifts during the pandemic were AG-branded Yeti mugs (!), even though they saved an obscene amount of money per firm by not having parties). Salary abysmal compared to competitors. (Don't take their first offer, they'll low ball you.) No work-life balance (expect to work evenings and weekends for no extra pay or perks) but AG will pay lip service to how they provide work-life balance.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Advisor Group Response

      CHRO

      Thanks for your feedback. Your point about being responsive to our employees is something we strive to improve and make note of your comment. We also understand about AG being heavily fiscally focused and it’s true. We will continue to make AG a sustainable strong business to serve our client without burdensome cost. We understand that our employees make the difference and will continue to focus on making AG a great place to work and again we appreciate your feedback.

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place for Professional Growth

      Jan 12, 2021 - Communications Manager in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Advisor Group is a rapidly-growing company, so if you are looking to grow yourself professionally there is plenty of opportunity to do so as long as you are willing to do the work and be knowledgeable about new roles or positions you might want. The company is constantly rolling out new learning opportunities and engagement initiatives for employees as well as initiatives for our advisors, and it really shows that they care about developing employees internally as much as they care about our customers externally. Their COVID-19 and BCP response has been tremendous. Communication has been frequent and I really feel as though they have the employees health and best interest at heart at all times. No one has been forced to enter into the offices, and health screenings are required if you do wish to do so. Overall, my 3+ years at Advisor Group have been nothing short of great! I have an incredible team that pushes me to be better and match the level and quality of their work, and the work-life balance is hard to beat.

      Cons

      Because Advisor Group is growing so quickly, it's easy to feel behind or overwhelmed with all of the changes. Personally I find it motivating to push myself to keep up, however at times it can be stressful to comprehend and then act upon all of the changes that are happening.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great people and place to work

      May 6, 2021 - Regional Supervision Manager in Oakdale, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work and great management

      Cons

      I can not think of any real cons.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Driving Success and Support

      Jan 25, 2021 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Despite economic challenges of 2020 along with a pandemic and unpredictable market conditions - the team has remained focused on growth, prioritized service to our clients, and worked hard to meet the needs of employees. These are themes I hear in meetings across the company at every level - focus, service, engagement. The pandemic response has been tremendous. Although AG is a lean company by design, the challenge and personal development I've experienced because of the company's culture and drive is substantial. I've had the chance to work on things that a larger company or more generously resourced company would have been available to me for my own career expansion. have an AMAZING team and truly enjoy working with colleagues across the company. Senior leadership is highly visible and easily accessible. Stretch assignments are the norm.

      Cons

      We pride ourselves on being lean, but we are still a start-up. There is still build work simultaneous to advance/grow/expand work that is quite stressful and time -consuming. The ramp up time for new employees can be quite overwhelming for new hires and frustrating for managers who need team members up to speed quickly. We run a bit too lean.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good place to work

      May 2, 2021 - Senior Desktop Support Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great collaboration and opportunities to grow

      Cons

      Benefits (Medical) cost a bit high

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      HR Driven Company Dabbles in Finance

      Jan 31, 2021 - Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's always the people you work with that make the work bearable.

      Cons

      As the headline implies, human resources is involved in everything and is extremely overbearing. This is felt in back-filling positions, "merit" increases (AKA cost-of-living adjustment only), and a lengthy process to complete an annual review. For the most part, it's HR work for the sake of HR, not for the benefit of the advisors. Inconsistent enforcement of any policies or procedures is the norm around here and don't even think about trying to be innovative unless you can do it on the cheap.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Advisor Group Response

      CHRO

      First of all, we want to thank you for the feedback. Every department including HR is doing their part to make Advisor Group a better place to work as well as listen to any feedback given. I encourage you to meet with you HR business partner and discuss specific things to improve our department. As you mention culture matters and we take culture very seriously here at Advisor Group. Every process, policy or procedure can be discussed and challenged to ensure that this activity is producing the results needed for Advisor Group to be a better place to work. Thanks again for caring enough to make this comment.

    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to learn

      Apr 13, 2021 - Financial Advisor in Richmond, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The training you get is pretty great, and the people are cool.

      Cons

      longer hours, it is a grind for a bit.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      What's it worth to you?

      Jan 15, 2021 - Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pleasant coworkers. Easy commute. Free food or meeting leftovers.

      Cons

      LOW PAY. They are comfortable hiring remote workers or remote contractors, but expect home office workers to work in the office (because HO employees can't be trusted to maintain the same productivity". Sounds pretty hypocritical to me.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Data Analyst

      Apr 13, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      stable company, friendly people, nice office

      Cons

      too many M&As,change name, reorganize

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 172 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Advisor Group Job Seekers

    Operations Processing Specialist
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Alternative Investment Analyst
    Learn About the Job
    Technical Support Specialist I
    Learn About the Job
    Investment Advisory Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Advisor Group? Share Your Experiences

    or