Advisory Board Associate Reviews | Glassdoor

Advisory Board Associate Reviews

Updated May 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 147 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Advisory Board CEO Robert W. Musslewhite
Robert W. Musslewhite
102 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture is incredible. Peers are highly motivated and intelligent. Great place to begin a career.

    Cons

    Entry level positions can feel stagnant at some points, always a lot of change.

    Advisory Board2018-01-12
  2. "Great experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Research Associate, Senior 
    Recommends

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really supportive managers and co-workers

    Cons

    Long work hours, little pay

    Advisory Board2019-05-31
  3. "Good position for someone with no experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Membership Associate in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Social perks and prizes/bonuses to compete or. Good position to gain work experience if you don't have any in an office setting.

    Cons

    Prizes and bonuses don't make up for the fact that they take advantage of young people entering the workforce by low-balling them with a salary that cannot support independent living in Washington, DC.

    Advisory Board2019-03-19
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Scam for college graduates who are interested in health care -this is a cold calling job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I loved who I worked with. The company is essentially full of young talent that is very smart and likes to have fun. There used to be fun events under the Advisory Board budget, but those stopped when the Optum budget took over. Lots of vacation time - 23 days.

    Cons

    There is a constant shifting of people. A number of well-performing executives were fired because they were the top paid. There went a large number of the firms relationships. Also, this company does a great job of luring in college students who are interested in health care. They promise you'll learn a great deal about hospital organizations and build these great relationships with executives. They're lying! You... are basically a glorified administrative assistant and cold caller. Depending on your department, you're basically there to schedule meetings with a director or cold-call executive offices with hopes they'll take a meeting. It's basically a game of luck. It's a horrible job with very very low pay. 40k is barely enough to scrape by in Washington, DC.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop promising these college graduates that this is a healthcare job because its not. Also- Pay your employees more. UnitedHealth Group does not even have a pay band that is as low as the Advisory employee pay!

    Advisory Board2019-01-16
  5. Helpful (6)

    "STAY AWAY- Unless you are willing to be treated poorly and paid below market rate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Associate in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people. The associates you work/sit with for the most part are really nice. - Health benefits offered are pretty good -23 days PTO

    Cons

    Before you accept an offer here, please read this entire review. 1. The sales role just entails cold calling and scheduling. Essentially you are an assistant and will be treated poorly. You are required to schedule 16 visits per month for your marketer. Hitting those numbers is highly dependent on time of year (if it's the holidays), and you can't force a Director of Cardiology for example, to take a meeting... with your marketer. If you don't consistently hit those numbers, management will act passive aggressive even though they know and claim to see "how hard you are working." 2. Management has poor communication skills. There was a point where I had to schedule for three marketers for a few months, and was not given clear instructions on where to schedule for whom. Also, this information was not communicated to the marketers, so when marketers felt like we were stepping on their toes for scheduling in the wrong territories, to save themselves, management blamed me and I was put on a "pacing guide" (not a formal plan, but what management uses to scare associates into thinking that they will get fired, just so that they will perform better). I printed out documents and proof of poor management and discrimination, and it was brought to upper management's attention. They knew they were in the wrong, so they immediately took me off the guide for fear of being sued since I had a big folder with documented proof of consistent pattern of poor treatment. 3. Favoritism. If you are anything like me, who is slightly on the shyer side, respectful, but not a kiss up, you will not be welcome here. This environment is very much like a fraternity and sorority. I've seen associates who are favorites get a free pass for not filling out invitations on time, scheduling in the wrong territories, etc. Some of these poor performers even advanced within advisory board purely because they were really liked by management. 4. Scare tactic. Like I said earlier, "pacing guides" are used to scare associates. I know numerous people, including myself who were put on a guide simply because management believed that by putting them on a pacing guide, their visit numbers would magically increase. Meanwhile, some of the "favorite" associates who were performing similarly or worse, were never put on such guide. 5. Pay is terrible. Sales Associates get paid 41,000 USD per year, and even if you work overtime, a manager will have a meeting with you about how it's not in the budget to pay for overtime. 6. You can't truly enjoy all your benefits. Sales Associates are allowed to work from home twice a week after a few months of working, but managers highly discourage associates from using these "benefits." If you want to work from home, you need to let them know one week in advance and need to provide a reason for why you think you've earned a work from home day. This needs to be discussed with your manager, which is an awkward conversation to have.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat all associates with the same level of respect, otherwise the company might be slapped with a lawsuit down the line. Get your act together asap, and stop using pacing guides as a tactic to improve performance. It just makes the associate resent the environment, and is another reason why turnover for this role is so high. Note to everyone reading this: I am still working in healthcare, and the company I... currently work for has many former Advisory Board employees. Some of my managers worked for the Advisory Board and share the same sentiments. Management creates a toxic environment across the organization. Not just within sales. Look elsewhere. You'll find a better place to work with higher pay. I'm now being paid 68 k, a huge jump from 41.

    Show More
    Advisory Board2019-01-24
  6. "Great people, poor pay, lack of communication, great mission, driven people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Sales Associate in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Advisory Board for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people, great mission, driven people, great training

    Cons

    Poor pay, lack of communication

    Advisory Board2018-08-30
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Great until it wasn't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Associate in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    ABC was an incredible place to work while it was growing. Great place to get your career started with good name recognition. Intelligent coworkers, managers who cared about your career trajectory, nice facilities, strong benefits including a ton of vacation time as well as hours for volunteering and working out, great work-life balance for the most part.

    Cons

    Pay has gotten a bit better in the last couple years but was extremely low especially for entry-level employee. Clear favoritism put some employees on the fast track to Director-level by age 25 while others were stuck with promotions every 1.5-2 years with no clear correlation to performance. I ultimately left due to job insecurity after the mass layoffs. When things started to go south prior to the United... acquisition, it was beginning to morph into a shell of the successful company it had been and by now much of the talent and things that made it a great place to work are gone.

    Show More
    Advisory Board2018-08-12
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible company - stay far away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Associate in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good colleagues and fun events/happy hours

    Cons

    Horrible pay, especially for DC Mind-numbing work: You basically had to call healthcare executives and assistants to get them to take a meeting with your boss to sell a product, but you had very aggressive goals for meetings. Because the pay was so low, we couldn't work overtime and they actually came around to make sure we were leaving. But then they would get mad when you weren't hitting your numbers. Terrible... management: Both upper and middle management seemed to have no focus and didn't know how to lead effectively. Middle management was a joke because it was basically 25-year-olds who were successful in the MA role but had no idea how to be a manager

    Show More
    Advisory Board2018-08-02
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Former Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazing coworkers, good location in D.C.

    Cons

    I have never seen an acquisition handled with such disorganization and utter chaos. Raises and opportunities for growth were given to some, and not others. I was constantly berated by my boss about how I was not accomplishing enough, despite often working 12 hour days (oh, and then you get yelled at for working overtime). I struggled initially in my new job (post-Advisory Board) because I wasn't used to a place... that actually valued my opinion and thoughts. Morale was so low among colleagues. Before the acquisition, this was a company I could see going places; now I would just tell all job-seekers to steer as far away as possible.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your staff, and value their opinions and feedback. Respect and recognize the hard work your employees put into every day, even the ones who are lower down on the food chain. Be transparent with your staff, and don't promise things you won't be able to deliver.

    Advisory Board2018-07-03
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Take the name recognition and get out of there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Marketing Associate in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The culture had generally been trending in a positive direction in my time here with a more concerted effort to diversity and inclusion. I'd say as long as you don't drink the koolaid and get at least a year of experience here building on your resume, ABC has great brand recognition and you can move on to any company in DC for higher salary.

    Cons

    Many have said it before, but i'll say it again. The pay is downright laughable, especially for those coming straight out of college that have little leverage to counter an offer. The business basically depends on them, but the way middle management can treat them is insulting. I was fortunate enough to have a decent manager, but ABC makes no effort to train those managers who desperately need it. There are a... frustrating amount of overlap in roles and responsibilities, the organization of the company clearly spiraled out of control about 5 years ago. The way the business is organized has a direct, negative impact on members. Training and skill development opportunities are scarce and you really have to take up the saddle yourself if you want any type of mentorship or development.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    ABC has been on the decline since early 2017, and there is still uncertainty on what the firm will look like in the future. No too much advice for current management because I imagine they'll all be gone in a short time. For those new to management at ABC/Optum, make sure you are transparent and honest as possible. It shows you are organized and care about the outlook of employees. The communication prior to the... split left a bad taste in our mouths.Those who have stayed loyal to ABC through the past year of turmoil deserve to know that they are appreciated, and in tangible ways. On the other side of that coin, understand that some of those who have stayed the longest can be the most damaging to progression and new ideas. Foster a culture that welcomes new ideas. ABC got sold for a reason, you refused to embrace change and now you're forced to with the split.

    Show More
    Advisory Board2018-03-15
Found 147 reviews