Advisory Board Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Advisory Board Consultant Reviews

Updated 28 Mar 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 24 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Advisory Board CEO Robert W. Musslewhite
Robert W. Musslewhite
13 Ratings
  1. "Excellent. Great place to work that takes care of it's employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Benefits -respect for time off -Cool offices -Smart and nice colleagues

    Cons

    -deadlines can be too tight -saying yes to everything for clients -underpayed

    Continue reading
    Advisory Board2014-08-27
  2. "Great place to get career started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consulting Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - fast paced, challenging - customizable - ask for what you want to learn or do more of, and if you’ve mastered the basics of your role your manager is likely to help you get what you want BEST place to start your career - I learned so much in my 4 years at AB and got way more experience in each of my roles than I could have in a similar role at another company

    Cons

    Now part of Optum, which has pros/cons in and of itself - but in this case, adds more red tape and bureaucracy (but better business sense, honestly) to a company that has historically rewarded intelligence and strategic / critical thinking above all

    Advisory Board2019-03-29
  3. "It's what you make it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work options, fast-paced environment, mission-driven

    Cons

    Recent acquisition causing change/unknown circumstances

    Continue reading
    Advisory Board2019-01-04
  4. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Team members are highly valued and growth opportunities are wide open.

    Cons

    Lots and lots of reorganization.

    Advisory Board2018-05-11
  5. "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Collaborative, innovative, career development

    Cons

    Unpredictable with Optum acquisition

    Advisory Board2017-09-22
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Good for a little while"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Washington, DC
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Collaborative, smart, young - Respected in the industry for research insights - Flexibility to work from home - Lots of PTO

    Cons

    - Lack of transparency from the top - Difficulty materializing innovative ideas - lack of stable direction - High turnover rate, especially among young consultants - Compensation not up to market standard

    Continue reading
    Advisory Board2017-09-04
  7. Helpful (4)

    "analyst consulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    ok pay could be better

    Cons

    bad culture toxic culture very favorism

    Continue reading
    Advisory Board2017-05-14
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Senior consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Consultant in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work life balance work life

    Cons

    low low low low salary

    Advisory Board2016-12-16
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great work environment, very collaborative with folks that want to make healthcare better

    Cons

    Salary is not comparable to other consulting firms; 5 stars if this isn't a factor in your decision

    Advisory Board2016-04-18
  10. Helpful (3)

    "consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    great executive exposure with clients, freedom to take on stretch roles to advance in your career. a wealth of healthcare best practices/white papers allows you to learn a lot.

    Cons

    pay is awful, people are very self-interested and neglect employee development, a very self-promoting culture and a "raise your hand" ethos will get you promoted the fastest

    Continue reading
    Advisory Board2016-04-27
Found 24 reviews