Advisory Board Reviews | Glassdoor

Advisory Board Reviews

Updated Aug 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 970 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
51%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Advisory Board CEO Robert W. Musslewhite
Robert W. Musslewhite
553 Ratings
  1. "job pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - BOA 

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    you can get more here

    Cons

    the pay is not very good

    Advisory Board2019-04-06
  2. "Good Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best employee benefits for all employees.

    Cons

    No Cons I have observed throughout my job

    Advisory Board2018-08-27
  3. "Lots of growth opportunity, now owned by Optum"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    Great people. A lot of independence offered to managers. Great growth opportunity to move around in the organization and build new skills. Good diversity and respect for work/life balance

    Cons

    Hard to know what is next now that it's owned by Optum. Slowdown in sales over last years.

    Advisory Board2018-08-18
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Sorry to see it go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Lead Data Scientist in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The best part about ABC was the people. I worked alongside the best and brightest I had ever worked with in 30+ years in IT. The Austin office was really beautiful and well located.

    Cons

    The company was acquired by United Healthcare in mid-2017 and my division was axed. Otherwise, the worst thing about ABC (at least the Austin office) was the coffee, which was mediocre at best.

    Advice to Management

    I really, truly wish you had stayed independent. I have looked at the job listings at the company that acquired you, and nothing seems as compelling as the position I had when it was ABC.

    Advisory Board2018-05-01
  5. "Great Place to Start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic environment straight out of college

    Cons

    Very siloed; made integration between products difficult.

    Advisory Board2018-04-26
  6. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly in Washington, DC
    Recommends

    I have been working at Advisory Board for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent management/ team-staff Interesting Work Kept Busy

    Cons

    feel little segregated from rest of staff, only intern makes for an intimidating dynamic

    Advisory Board2018-04-25
  7. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well organized, structured, and employee focused. You will grow professionally in many ways.

    Cons

    None that I can think of, this was truly a great organization to work for.

    Advisory Board2018-04-12
  8. "Sales and Marketing Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales and Marketing in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Advisory Board has been an amazing company to start my career. While I am no longer in marketing, I really enjoyed being a sales associates because of the growth opportunities and the cool people I got to work with.

    Cons

    Sales can be stressful at times, but overall I enjoyed the role

    Advice to Management

    All managers I worked with were extremely dedicated and cared deeply about my professional success

    Advisory Board2018-03-30
  9. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Hands down the best people I have ever worked with. It is truly an incredibly smart group of people. - Very flexible, the company promotes work/life balance and lives that out. - Gives back to the community more than most companies.

    Cons

    For the past 1yr+ things have been tumultuous. I am afraid the acquisition will change the culture of ABC.

    Advisory Board2018-03-28
  10. "Great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, driven workforce, not afraid to challenge the 'status-quo'

    Cons

    Expected to take on additional responsibilities with no compensation

    Advisory Board2018-03-25
Found 970 reviews