Advisory Board Reviews | Glassdoor

Advisory Board Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Advisory Board CEO Robert W. Musslewhite
Robert W. Musslewhite
549 Ratings
  1. "Young Culture, Get through the associate role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Strategy Manager in Washington, DC

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Young culture, incredible office, work life balance

    Cons

    associate pay, associate responsibilities, lack of transparency

    Advice to Management

    You hire a large starting class every year, please invest in them or you will continue to lose your best associates to better companies

    Advisory Board2019-10-08
  2. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people, hardworking, interesting topics

    Cons

    Very long hours, up or out culture

    Advisory Board2019-10-07
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great people, but would not recommend as a coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people Location is pretty good Work/Life balance There is room for career growth, but not in the coordinator position

    Cons

    Career opportunity/advancement limited in coordinator role. There isn't a whole lot of room to learn about healthcare as the responsibilities have nothing to do with healthcare. Position is advertised as a coordinator, but it essentially a personal assistant position. Pay is very low, especially for a city like DC. You could learn the same amount as an executive assistant/admin assistant and get paid more.... Work is not intellectually stimulating, very tedious tasks. Lots of false promises, stretch projects that are meant to give you more experience are essentially tasks that no one else wants to do. Have to be in role for typically 18 months before any sort of promotion, you have to 'Master' the role to be eligible for one. Constantly runover by other positions in the company and asked to do tasks that no one else wants to do.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It looks like the senior staff try to recruit people with bachelors degrees and people with a background in healthcare to do work that does not require a college degree and work that has nothing to do with healthcare. I would advertise the position and clearly outline that the responsibilities are administrative more than anything else so that people who accept the job know what they are getting into. I would... also try and have the coordinators to more tasks related to healthcare. I felt like I knew more about healthcare coming out of college than I did after my experience here which is ultimately one of the reasons I decided to leave. I wasn't even given the courtesy of an exit interview which pretty much details how much they cared about my opinion on the position and the role itself.

    Show More
    Advisory Board2019-09-30
  5. "Growing Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Director in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great potential for growth and promotion

    Cons

    Office politics, especially within IT senior leadership

    Advisory Board2019-09-30
  6. "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dedicated Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great environment, great people, good benefits

    Cons

    Lots of travel, long hours, lower pay

    Advisory Board2019-09-18
  7. "Good skill building. Low morale."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of smart people. Good opportunity to build business experience and management skills that can be applied anywhere. Company has strong reputation.

    Cons

    New managers get minimal coaching and training. Thus, some managers are really terrible. Morale after Optum purchase and subsequent layoffs was very low.

    Advisory Board2019-09-07
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Director 

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    great work life balance all around

    Cons

    opportunity for better salary for dedicated advisor role

    Advisory Board2019-08-30
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    Got hands on experience in tech

    Cons

    Not inclusive, no transparency in appraisal process, poor management

    Advisory Board2019-08-22
  10. "Great people, great place, wish there was higher pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board

    Pros

    Amazing teams Lots of innovation Smart and has a lot of opportunities to learn

    Cons

    The pay is below market value by a lot

    Advice to Management

    Pay your employees more when budget permits

    Advisory Board2019-08-12
  11. "Great company. Upper management wasn't fully transparent."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Great benefits - Flexible hours - Great staff

    Cons

    - Overworked at times - Pay was slightly below average

    Advisory Board2019-08-01
Found 947 reviews