Advisory Board Reviews | Glassdoor

Advisory Board Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 944 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
52%
Recommend to a Friend
70%
Approve of CEO
Advisory Board CEO Robert W. Musslewhite
Robert W. Musslewhite
546 Ratings
  1. "This is nerdy work, and I like it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Arlington, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of smart colleagues. My manager is helpful, and open. Also, after half a year I feel like many of my colleagues respect my contributions and effort.

    Cons

    The position includes lots of report writing. The editing process and scripting processes can be mundane and repetitive even when the research is interesting.

    Advice to Management

    It would be nice to hear more about overall strategy (as opposed to simply trotting out new products to tell us about). Also, associates rarely receive feedback on their work from clients, or hear about feedback. It would be helpful to expand that channel.

    Advisory Board2017-08-28
  2. "The Advisory Board is great, especially if you get a good manager. They give jr staff an opportunity to contribute"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work-life balance is good for the most part. Managers tend to be flexible and understanding of life outside of work.

    Cons

    There are really busy times where you'll feel like there's not enough time in a day to get it all done. But I imagine many people have that problem.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being flexible

    Advisory Board2017-08-19
  3. "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work among peers with respectable/strong intellect and work ethic. Work life balance and company benefits are hard to beat.

    Cons

    Growing pains for a healthcare company that is relatively new to tech.

    Advisory Board2017-07-19
  4. "Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    You get experience with projects early on, a lot of training, good place to start working

    Cons

    Confusing structure, a lot of different divisions

    Advisory Board2017-07-16
  5. "Managing Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Managing Director 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great culture with lots of opportunity for advancement. Managers care about their employees and advocate on their behalf. Most importantly, the work is both challenging and rewarding.

    Cons

    Expect high standards of excellence and a lot of constructive criticism. Employees who can't adapt to that management style don't last long.

    Advisory Board2017-07-01
  6. "Great company to start career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    Extremely positive work environment and supportive managers

    Cons

    Sometimes it can feel like a big clique but overall good

    Advisory Board2017-06-04
  7. "Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance Great entry level company Help with career pathing

    Cons

    Minimal female executive leadership Lots of changes happening with company

    Advisory Board2017-06-01
  8. "Great place to start company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    Intelligent people, great opportunities. Upper management seems to really care about the success of junior staff. Young and fun atmosphere as well.

    Cons

    Variable management, future of company is unclear. Work-life balance can be great, but some managers stick out like sore thumbs.

    Advice to Management

    Put more investment in training your managers before they actually are promoted or become managers.

    Advisory Board2017-05-18
  9. "Great place to be right out of college and years down the road!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board full-time

    Pros

    management, work life balance, career pathing, stretch roles, networking

    Cons

    reducing number of office locations

    Advisory Board2017-05-15
  10. "Great working enivornment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advisory Board

    Pros

    Good employees, time management, salary, movement advancement

    Cons

    Some of the employees are not friendly, keep work areas messy, weekends, holidays

    Advisory Board2017-05-10
Found 944 reviews