Advocate Aurora Health "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Advocate Aurora Health Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Advocate Aurora Health CEO Jim Skogsbergh
Jim Skogsbergh
49 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits/facility/staff and organized(in 18 reviews)

  • "Great team members to partner with who are intelligent, professional and dedicated(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (3)

    "Reimagining Health"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Rolling Meadows, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advocate Aurora Health full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very forward thinking and innovative Co-CEOs lead with integrity and strong leadership Work life balance Work family Risk taking encouraged Not micromanaged Team approach Physician led governance

    Cons

    Multiple competing priorities requires delegation and reprioritization

    Continue reading
    Advocate Aurora Health2019-03-02

    Advocate Aurora Health Response

    March 12, 2019Social Media Specialist

    Thank you for providing such a thoughtful review. We agree - there are a lot of priorities as a growing/changing healthcare organization, so we appreciate the strong leadership, flexibility of team members and willingness to innovate by all.

    Continue reading
  2. "Excellent Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Certified Medical Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advocate Aurora Health full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family like atmosphere, friendly work environment, flexible hours to fit work life balance.

    Cons

    Some late nights and weekends

    Advocate Aurora Health2019-10-15
  3. "Fair employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Registered Nurse in Milwaukee, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Advocate Aurora Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    work/life balance, advancement opportunity, ethical employer, educational reimbursement

    Cons

    Benefits dwindling yearly, employer match retirement less yearly, change no one can keep up with

    Continue reading
    Advocate Aurora Health2019-11-09
  4. "Culture is getting worse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advocate Aurora Health full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is good, benefits are good if you have an Advocate Doctor.

    Cons

    No work life balance in my department. Asking to work from home for a day is like selling your soul to the devil.

    Continue reading
    Advocate Aurora Health2019-11-20
  5. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Former Employee 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Advocate Aurora Health full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for, my immediate supervisor and manager made me feel as though my voice was heard and my opinion mattered.

    Cons

    Always understaffed, did not allow for work/life balance.

    Advocate Aurora Health2019-10-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Alright as a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior IT in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Advocate Aurora Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    This is a pretty good job for someone who is fresh out of school Coworkers are friendly Ample amount of PTO

    Cons

    Severely understaffed with no plan to replace coworkers who have left Below average pay Poor benefits that continue to be made worse each year Lack of growth opportunities Absolutely useless management Jurassic-era tech stack Poor work/life balance

    Continue reading
    Advocate Aurora Health2019-09-11
  7. "Good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Call Center Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Advocate Aurora Health full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay is great and it’s a busy environment

    Cons

    No work life balance or consideration for illness

    Advocate Aurora Health2019-06-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Alot going on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Administrative Assistant 

    I worked at Advocate Aurora Health full-time

    Pros

    Have excellent people working here. They do try to be proactive about the health care needs in the communities.

    Cons

    The management team is so busy they don't know how to acknowledge good work from employees. Way too many meetings and management isn't able to follow up on what they meet about. Work life balance is a struggle.

    Advocate Aurora Health2019-06-04
  9. "It IS possible to work for an organization lets you have it all: work life balance, great pay, excellent benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources/Onboarding Coordinator in Normal, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Advocate Aurora Health full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance, excellent benefits, great pay - and merit-based increases ev. year when you rank "Meets Expectations" or higher on performance review. Endless opportunities for professional growth.

    Cons

    Sometimes - as is true for most health care organizations - when patient census is low, team members on that unit may be flexed for the day, and would need to use any banked PTO they have to cover it, or else lose out on that day's pay.

    Continue reading
    Advocate Aurora Health2019-05-03
  10. "Wonderful Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Advocate Aurora Health part-time

    Pros

    Good benefits/facility/staff and organized

    Cons

    Work/Life balance depends on the department and work title but a lot of time was required outside of work schedule to attend education/compliance training. For someone who is part-time with other priorities, that was difficult to keep up with.

    Advocate Aurora Health2019-04-30
Found 23 reviews