Aegion Reviews | Glassdoor

Aegion Reviews

Updated Dec 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
33%
Recommend to a Friend
40%
Approve of CEO
Aegion Interim Chief Executive Officer  Charles R. Gordon (no image)
Charles R. Gordon
15 Ratings
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Coming Back!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aegion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I was a former Aegion employee that pursued a different opportunity in 2016. This opportunity did not pan out as expected but the first place I looked was back with Aegion. Fortunately, there was an opportunity open to come back to a top notch company that positions employees to succeed.

    Cons

    A thorough review of industry standards relating benefits would be nice. I would think a company of Aegion's size would be able to offer gym subsidies or other unique perks.

    Aegion2017-08-04
  2. "Don’t work there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Asset Coordinator in Carson, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aegion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None to talk about at all.

    Cons

    Worked there and hated it. Run by all men and think they can take advantage. Harassment all the time. People sleeping around with others. Not cool.

    Aegion2019-12-20
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Going nowhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aegion full-time

    Pros

    Many of the people in the operating profit centers are dedicated and enthusiastic.

    Cons

    A mediocre company with no clear long term strategy other than to get through the next quarter. they have been "restructuring" for 5 years and the stock has been flat. A lot of apologizing, a constant turnover of division leaders. they fill spots with the cheapest and easiest solution, not the best. The CFO is a lawyer with no financial experience. The CEO has been acting president of 2 of the 3 divisions. There has been no year in which all divisions were profitable. They held a "women's conference" to try and show diversity, and the did candle making. How demeaning. There is little diversity. Benefits are mediocre and expensive. The 401k is virtually useless, with a nominal match and a very low cap on employee participation. The company isn't going anywhere, just treading water. Despite their core values, every decision really is about how to avoid spending money or cutting expenses to try and hit an unrealistic budget.

    Aegion2019-09-04
  4. "Great people in local business unit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - R&D Supervisor in Tulsa, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aegion full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great local team that cares.

    Cons

    Horrible corporate structure that wonders why they lose good people

    Continue reading
    Aegion2019-06-06
  5. "OK.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PCB Assembler in Tulsa, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aegion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The area I worked in had only a handful of people so everyone got along well. If there is a bad egg, than tough luck!

    Cons

    Doesn't normally hire temps which would be what you will almost always start off as if you are not in a professional or management position. Filled with ragtag individuals, who doesn't push to get the job done.

    Continue reading
    Aegion2019-03-12
  6. "Unsafe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technical in Joliet, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aegion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Their are NO Pros* at all!!!!

    Cons

    First they rushed me through H.R. then rushed me through 10 hr. OSHA TRAINING. After all of that get me to my first job site the logistics of that was all messed up

    Continue reading
    Aegion2019-03-12
  7. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chesterfield, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aegion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Engineers and highly talented team in San Diego

    Cons

    The leadership that dealt with sales was less than stellar. It was treated as a lesser division (Fibrwrap) and really had some issues with their hiring of management at the time.

    Continue reading
    Aegion2018-12-09
  8. "Okay Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aegion full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are decent. People are friendly and professional.

    Cons

    They hire too many mid-managers and executives, while simultaneously understaffing various departments. The people who do all the work are buried under an unreasonable task load, and are frustrated and often burned-out.

    Continue reading
    Aegion2018-01-12
  9. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - LA in New Iberia, LA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Aegion full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Work is steady but work hours are unpredictable.

    Cons

    Does not bring employees up from within company. Almost always hires from outside.

    Continue reading
    Aegion2018-01-03
  10. "Great Benefits / Not So Great Career Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aegion full-time

    Pros

    Aegion does great with work/life balance and it really feels like leadership is trying to "get it right".

    Cons

    Poor job recognizing contributions and advancing employees. If feels like executives and middle management are constantly moving up or receiving increases, while lower level individual contributors are skipped over.

    Continue reading
    Aegion2017-11-13
Found 30 reviews