Aegis Capital Reviews | Glassdoor

Aegis Capital Reviews

Updated Jan 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.2
52%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Aegis Capital CEO Robert Eide (no image)
Robert Eide
21 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Class Act"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aegis Capital full-time

    Pros

    Senior Management treated me like gold and the opportunities to grow were boundless.

    Cons

    There are no cons to speak of.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to maintain your standards.

    Aegis Capital2018-10-24
  2. Helpful (1)

    "not a great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Analyst in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aegis Capital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    allowed me to obtain my series 7 and 66

    Cons

    clients come last in importance to the company, no upward movement, not receptive to change

    Advice to Management

    do opposite of cons...

    Aegis Capital2019-01-24
  3. "Senior"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Aegis Capital full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You have one good benefit: Schedule flexibility

    Cons

    Compliance will stop you from doing anything, so they can do nothing

    Aegis Capital2018-09-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Shaking my head"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Wealth Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aegis Capital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The fact I was able to get out of there

    Cons

    Everything, from reception on down to the CEO, is pure garbage. Yes, down to the CEO, as in this firm the Admins control everything, and the CEO resides in the sewer. Sour grapes? Not really, I had great success at this firm, but that's because I am smarter then all of the management there combined, and I didn't even finish college.

    Advice to Management

    Resign and , sell the BD shell to a reputable group. Advice to employees, and reps. There are options, regardless of what management tellss you. And if you all leave, they can't sue, with no revenue to support legal fees

    Aegis Capital2018-10-06
  5. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aegis Capital part-time

    Pros

    As a summer intern at Aegis Capital, I had a fantastic experience. I was able to dive into multiple facets of the finance industry and work with closely with financial professionals. Overall great experience.

    Cons

    Within my time at Aegis, I did not have any cons to report.

    Advice to Management

    No advice, great firm.

    Aegis Capital2018-02-23
  6. Helpful (1)

    "great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aegis Capital full-time

    Pros

    huge earning potential, great products for SternAegis

    Cons

    If you don't come prepared to work you wont last long.

    Aegis Capital2017-10-25
  7. Helpful (2)

    "CSA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CSA in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aegis Capital full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good restaurants nearby to enjoy

    Cons

    Poor Branch management very poor

    Advice to Management

    Care about your employees

    Aegis Capital2017-09-29
  8. "Registered Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Reg Representative in North Tonawanda, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aegis Capital full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Provide amazing tools to succeed, but you need to be the self starter to fin them and use them. This industry has no ceiling for growth, however it's pure;ly up to you

    Cons

    see advice below as there are really no cons

    Advice to Management

    The need for Mentorship is obvious. Embrace technology, and you will win the millenials, who are starting to inherit the money.

    Aegis Capital2017-04-08
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aegis Capital full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people, fast paced environment

    Cons

    salary could be better, really cant think of anything else.

    Aegis Capital2017-03-07
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Mismanaged, no support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aegis Capital full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    9-5 if you're in Operations. Don't expect any training on new systems. Since you are discouraged from leaving your desk, lunch is frequently bought for you. Good holiday party.

    Cons

    Technology and clearing are both last century. As a salaried employee, there is no HR dept or actual vacation or sick day policies. 10+ year's and I've never taken more than 10 -12 days total a year, no matter how sick or how much snow, you are expected to be there. And what the H*ll is a lunch break??!! And forget about sexual harassment, you're expected to suck it up and take it. Compliance is a joke. Everyone... has differing interpretations of the rules and they change constantly and deny what they told you a week prior (even if you show it to them in writing).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire capable Operations people and make them available when needed. The top operations person works from home in Florida with two small children. So rarely answers the phone and hours lapse before emails get answered with generally a useless response that requires 5-10 more emails taking several days and often not answering the issue anyhow.

    Aegis Capital2017-03-17
Found 39 reviews