Aegis Living "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Aegis Living Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Apr 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Aegis Living CEO Dwayne Clark
Dwayne Clark
433 Ratings
Pros
  • "Each day that I come to work I am always greeted by so many smiles(in 28 reviews)

  • "Beautiful and clean work environment(in 22 reviews)

Cons
  • "Minimum wage pay, even for care managers(in 23 reviews)

  • "No cons have been presented at this time(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Part-Time Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aegis Living part-time

    Pros

    Lovely work environment. Filled with fabulous energy and individuals who want to make a difference in our residents lives

    Cons

    No cons have been presented at this time!

    Aegis Living2017-11-09
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Aegis -Care Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Care Manager in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aegis Living for less than a year

    Pros

    $1 meals, free coffee/tea Friendly care staff, kitchen staff, residents Free street parking Beautiful and clean work environment Great online training education Benefits at low cost 1 week of on-the-job training with experienced care managers Great communication with Wellness Nurses improves job outlook and performance Trades and pickups for shifts can be made easily online, which allows for a positive work/life balance and unexpected life events Building Manager is consistently available throughout the week to check on operations and is very much approachable

    Show More

    Cons

    Very low pay is demoralizing and does not align with difficult economic times and does not match the level of work performed by care managers- compensation is a difficult subject to bring to the attention of upper management since it is uniform across -the- board. Time-based resident response system prevents individualized care, and often interrupts important radio transmissions Equipment is limited upon shift change Breaks often go unmet due to care for residents Some upper management communications with care staff are too direct and often ask rhetorical and confusing questions regarding resident care, which appear to try to elicit a wrong response- causes employee distrust with upper management and lowered morale Limited career advancement opportunities at this location and are not often presented to employees

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Provide employees better pay to improve vitality and to maintain workforce - during interview, better compensation is offerred after CNA certification is obtained, but is insignificant in the amount- pay is higher at other Aegis locations Need for more organization and upgrade from written system to computer-based for efficient and rapid notetaking - important messages sometimes get missed upon shift change Please provide more comfortable uniforms for care staff (lite shirts) Please post job openings to encourage promotions from within Please allow time during work hours to compensate for continuing online education

    Show More
    Aegis Living2019-04-13
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Aegis Living is Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medical Technician 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aegis Living part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Provides a kind, supportive work environment and good care to the older population

    Cons

    The wage is not super competitive

    Aegis Living2019-03-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Sous Chef"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aegis Living full-time

    Pros

    Great at repairs, well maintained kitchens, positive work environment

    Cons

    low wages for non-management staff makes retention difficult

    Advice to Management

    A great company

    Aegis Living2018-05-13
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place, low wage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cook 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aegis Living part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing team work Residents are fun Family members are great Fun giveaways Schedule flexibility Positive work environment Monthly incentives Diverse work environment

    Cons

    Employees are underpaid according to the industry standard. Upward mobility is not guaranteed. Can get complacent. Favoritism runs rampant. Opinions on improvement aren't taken into consideration.

    Advice to Management

    Please offer competitive wages compared to other assisted living facilities. People are leaving because other places are paying double what you are paying. A great work environment can only get you so far.

    Aegis Living2016-09-28
  6. "Aegis Care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Department in Corte Madera, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aegis Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working for Aegis Corte Madera will keep you in a "Wow" posture! From communicating with resident to Happy Hour there is never a dull moment! Aegis staff is at the top of the pyramid because Happy staff promote Happy residents! Our Care staff go over and beyond on a daily basis promoting a positive work environment! Anyone that chooses to work at Aegis Corte Madera will be making the best decision and will have no regrets! We have an amazing Nursing Dept for LVNs that want to take their careers to the next level! We are waiting for you to bring your smiling faces and expertise to the table...

    Show More

    Cons

    This is not necessarily a Con but We work extremely hard to provide quality and efficient care for all of our residents... My only Con is our community is humongous and it takes a minute to get to my destinations

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing forward, Keep teaching and Keep Loving

    Aegis Living2016-05-01
  7. "Life Enrichment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Life Enrichment Director in Dana Point, CA
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aegis Living

    Pros

    Very happy uplifting work environment. The residents are a joy. This is a real home for them

    Cons

    Occasionally there are employees who don't have good work ethics. It makes it difficult for every one. Aegis does try to hire only the best!

    Advice to Management

    The community runs smoothly with our interim GM it takes quite some time for them to find suitable replacement.

    Aegis Living2016-03-10
  8. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aegis Living

    Pros

    The work environment - very supportive Communication between staff Schedule flexibility Constantly striving to improve administrative processes Genuine love and compassion show to residents and family members

    Cons

    Limited parking onsite Communication between communities can be difficult

    Aegis Living2015-12-01
  9. "GREAT PLACE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Laguna Niguel, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aegis Living

    Pros

    staff are helpful work environment is clean and neat respectful staff members effective communication works on improving the company

    Cons

    no flexibility with schedules care manager that has been there for 10 years are not always compliant

    Aegis Living2015-07-27
  10. "Aegis is an inspiring place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Office Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aegis Living full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a privilege to serve the generation that has contributed to make the society I am able to enjoy. Dwayne Clark, the company CEO, has cultivated a work environment which encourages its employees to become the best they can be. It is truly a "family" environment and a pleasure to come to work every day.

    Cons

    We become extended family of those we work with and it is never easy to say "good bye" to our co-workers as they advance in their career path.

    Advice to Management

    Would love to have more training opportunities.

    Aegis Living2015-01-28
Found 22 reviews