Aegon Administrator Reviews | Glassdoor

Aegon Administrative Reviews

Updated Aug 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 14 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
40%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Aegon CEO Alexander R. Wynaendts
Alexander R. Wynaendts
5 Ratings
  1. "No sense of direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Platform Administrator in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aegon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some nice people to work with

    Cons

    Management is horrible not friendly at all

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees...

    Aegon2019-08-13
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad. Not great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Investment Administrator in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aegon full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Depending on your role, you're trusted to get on with your daily tasks, with little interference. Support is normally available when you need it. Training is generally good. Onsite parking and canteen. When overtime is available, you're not expected to do it.

    Cons

    You're very much a small cog within a big machine. Little, if any, recognition given to your abilities, achievements or loyalty. Opportunities to progress career ladder and pay grades are few and far between. Have seen too many examples of cliquey groups getting ahead. Don't expect any pay rise except the bare minimum each year.

    Aegon2019-06-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Platform Administrator in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aegon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice people who were engaging

    Cons

    Not that many opportunities, not enough training

    Aegon2019-05-28
  4. Helpful (2)

    "What is was like to work at Aegon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Platform Administrator in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aegon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    What made my job enjoyable were the people I worked with.

    Cons

    It was very disorganised in terms of managing employees and there were a lot of times where myself and my colleagues were left in the dark about certain new aspects of the business.

    Advice to Management

    I understand that the business world is subject to constant change but make sure to keep employees in the loop. They will be much happier.

    Aegon2019-05-06
  5. "Worst employer in the UK"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Platform Administrator in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aegon for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job, good relationship with my colleagues

    Cons

    I was promised a permanent contract after 3 months of employment. Then I was told that I needed 3 months of good stats. Then I was told I needed 3 consequent months of good stats. After I had 3 months of good stats, I was told that because I was off sick 4 times, I wouldn't become permanent or have an contract extension. They knew I had some serious health issues, but they didn't quite care. The company is in shambles,...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Try and respect your employees, it's not that hard.

    Aegon2019-06-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Financial Administrator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Administrator in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aegon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good opportunities and experience. Good people to work with.

    Cons

    Too much work and pay could be better

    Aegon2019-04-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Back Office Administrative in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aegon full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    parking is good that is all

    Cons

    everything is bad at aegon

    Advice to Management

    get to know your staff

    Aegon2019-05-16
  8. "“Front office administrator”"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Office Administrative in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aegon full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good people however a lot don’t stay around for long. Overtime available regularly

    Cons

    Poor pay, they recently upped it for new comers, higher than everyone else that was on floor already which is a bit of a kick in the face. If you’re a contractor stay away - I seen about 6 contractors in one week be taken away into a room and told to leave. Shift pattern can change very last minute. If you have a medical appointment to attend you have to ether do it out with work time, work back the hours or take annual...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn the products, be around more for your team. In fact know your team!

    Aegon2019-04-11
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not for the career driven"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrator in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aegon full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Canteen is good quality - Co-workers were always friendly

    Cons

    - No loyalty to senior team members who have been within the business/team for years - False promises are a daily occurrence - Will only be able to progress if 'Your face fits' -Very 'Cliquey'

    Advice to Management

    Address your "reward and recognition" if you want to retain the experience and expertise of senior staff who know they can paid a lot more elsewhere for a lot less stress

    Aegon2018-06-25
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Decent Employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Platform Administrator in Edinburgh, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aegon full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    great people, great customer focus, lots of exciting changes in the business

    Cons

    difficult to progress within organisation, poor pay in comparison with rest of market and operational changes are turning the platform into a call centre

    Advice to Management

    You need to address your reward and recognition if you want to retain the experience and expertise of SMEs who know they can paid a lot more elsewhere

    Aegon2018-03-05
Found 14 reviews