Aequitas Capital Management Reviews | Glassdoor

Aequitas Capital Management Reviews

Updated Apr 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
18%
Recommend to a Friend
24%
Approve of CEO
Bob Jesenik
27 Ratings
  1. "Private Equity Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Private Equity Intern in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aequitas Capital Management for less than a year

    Pros

    Aequitas Capital Management Private Equity and Credit groups are friendly, supportive, intelligent, and great people to work with. The company culture is driven and focused on the people they employ and serve.

    Cons

    Need to focus on company purpose more than extraneous things.

    Aequitas Capital Management2015-11-22
  2. "Too Good To Be True"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Administrative Assistant in Lake Oswego, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aequitas Capital Management full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fast promotions Lots of (needed) alcohol Exposure to new jobs/ positions

    Cons

    Working with executives and their assistants Being unknowingly complicit in illegal business dealings Being told not to question executives

    Advice to Management

    I would say to be open to employees who have questions, but clearly they couldn’t. I worked very close with the top executives. They know how to improve, the federal government is currently teaching them.

    Aequitas Capital Management2019-05-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Some Good People, Bad Ending"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Aequitas Capital Management

    Pros

    There were some really good people working here with no knowledge of what was happening on the business development/financing side.

    Cons

    Nothing else needs to be said. Read the newspaper.

    Aequitas Capital Management2018-05-16
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Disappointed."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aequitas Capital Management full-time

    Pros

    Smart and motivated people, talented teams.

    Cons

    Bad actors at the top took the entire firm down.

    Aequitas Capital Management2017-10-27
  5. "Former Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Aequitas Capital Management full-time

    Pros

    Great people and work environment

    Cons

    Long hours and I had a terrible commute

    Aequitas Capital Management2017-06-27
  6. Helpful (6)

    "It was only a matter of time before the lies came to light"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lake Oswego, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aequitas Capital Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best part about this company was the fact that they were so involved in the community. There was always a volunteering activity going on.

    Cons

    Everything else about this company was horrible. The management team was an absolute wreck, there were NO constructive and useful procedures put into place and people were literally running around like chickens with their heads cut off. I have never worked for a more disrespectful and unmotivating manager before in my life. As horrible as this may sound, I am very happy their dirty lies finally came to surface. I feel...

    Show More
    Aequitas Capital Management2017-06-27
  7. Helpful (1)

    "A sad end for a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in Lake Oswego, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aequitas Capital Management full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This was a challenging company to work for. But it was also a place that forced you to grow and learn new skills. The founders of the company loved it and poured everything they had into it, but it wasn't enough to save it during hard times.

    Cons

    This was a challenging and ever changing environment. Demands from the C suite changed monthly and were not usually clear or reasonable. Much of management operated from fear, so managers were not encouraged to reach their full potential.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the warning signs and listen to the highly qualified people you have in place. I don't think Aequitas had to end the way it did. This was a once great company that fizzled too early.

    Aequitas Capital Management2017-02-18
  8. "Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aequitas Capital Management full-time

    Pros

    It was a fun place to be while they were growing & thriving. Smart people, great perks, good work/life balance.

    Cons

    The rapid growth often led to constantly changing priorities.

    Advice to Management

    Be smarter with your investment portfolios.

    Aequitas Capital Management2017-02-09
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Greed will get you in the end"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aequitas Capital Management

    Pros

    PTO for volunteer work. Corporate funded parties. Schedule flexibility. Great HR. Benefits were nice

    Cons

    No consistent roadmap No infrastructure Lack of website portal No acceptance of fault Greedy expansion

    Advice to Management

    Had you heeded a majority of your employees concerns instead of surrounding yourself with Yes men, There could have been a chance a positive outcome may have occurred.

    Aequitas Capital Management2016-06-03
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Take the advice of your leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aequitas Enterprise Finance Lead in Beaverton, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aequitas Capital Management full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Top notch talent throughout the entire organization and recruited from all over the country - Ability to create new processes and controls and make a change at a department level basis - Great team spirit among various departments - Strong community ties with various organizations and schools and considerable charitable donations on an annual basis

    Cons

    - Fast paced company that grew too fast, ahead of expected business growth - Top - Down communication choppy and segmented - Ultimate decision making centralized at the executive level and primarily driven by the CEO - CEO (also owner and founder) neglected to take advice from leaders in the company and would base decisions on unrealistic expectations (or hope) instead of facts

    Advice to Management

    Given the troubles that have now befallen Aequitas, please utilize the resources available to do what's right for the customers and employees of the company.Take the advice of your people...it's why you hired them in the first place.

    Aequitas Capital Management2016-03-01
Found 35 reviews