Aesir Media Group Reviews | Glassdoor

Aesir Media Group Reviews

Updated Nov 26, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Aesir Media Group CEO John Ledford (no image)
John Ledford
5 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I love this company - And no, I am not a bot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aesir Media Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule. Middle and upper management is readily accessible and more than willing to work with you should something arise.

    Cons

    As we say in-house, "Anime never sleeps." That's just the nature of the industry. There may well be "OMG, drop everything and get this done by yesterday!!" moments where things get pretty crazy, but I have never once failed to be compensated in such an event, either via corresponding time off or other incentives.

    Advice to Management

    No advice really, just honest thanks. This can be a tough industry to work in, but management has always had an open-door, speak-your-mind policy. I can go right up to the CEO and voice any questions or concerns I have, if need be. These guys take a personal and vested interest in their employees. (And again, nope, I'm not a bot - these are my honest thoughts about having been a part of this company.)

    Aesir Media Group2018-10-13

    Aesir Media Group Response

    December 4, 2018Director of Operations

    Thank you for your review. It is great to hear you have had a positive experience as part of the team. We appreciate the hard work you and the rest of the team contribute each day. Each of you is the measure of our collective success!

  2. Helpful (3)

    "Poor Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aesir Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    HIDIVE is a cool and creative industry to work in. As a fairly new company, it can be exciting to build it from the ground up. A lot of the people that work here are very talented and unique in their own ways. The CEO is a really great person and has done many selfless acts to help his employees in desperate situations, but due to his travel schedule, he is not always in the loop of everything.

    Cons

    A very fast paced environment with very little work-life balance. It seems like certain departments are consistently working over 40 hours a week (including weekends) on a regular basis. Those same departments tend to have a revolving door causing a lot of extra strain on the rest of the team who is already working on a full plate.

    Advice to Management

    Be more open to ideas outside the box. Don't fall into the trap of hindering creativity and business growth due to typical corporate structures.

    Aesir Media Group2018-11-26

    Aesir Media Group Response

    December 4, 2018Director of Operations

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear you have experienced issues with work/life balance. We strive to provide a great experience for all team members, including offering flexible work schedules and providing a generous PTO plan. But, sometimes, we need to do more as ...

    Show More
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Cool industry and fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aesir Media Group full-time

    Pros

    -The casual environment is fantastic and something you won't find in many other Houston companies. -Everyone is very easy to talk to and get in contact with, including upper management. Everyone is equal here. -John, the CEO, is very accessible and easy to talk to. He truly cares about all of his employees, and he takes any feedback seriously. He wants this to be a great place to work, and he will actively try... to improve things and make his employees happy. -Free drinks and snacks are always great, along with occasional catered events. -The PTO plan is fantastic, and work hours can be flexible.

    Show More

    Cons

    -No 401k matching -Lack of structure can make future opportunities unclear

    Advice to Management

    Make it a point for managers to have one-on-one meetings more often. This would allow employees to discuss future career goals, problems they are encountering, and it would be a great way to discuss current/future projects. The managers are all great, but I feel like there should be some more processes in place all around.

    Aesir Media Group2018-10-22

    Aesir Media Group Response

    December 4, 2018Director of Operations

    Thank you for your feedback. It is great to hear positive experience working at AMG as well as your recommendation for more frequent 1-to1 visits. We will pass this along to each of our managers. We take pride in our unique culture and work environment, and we always welcome feedback ...

    Show More
  4. "Fun Industry and Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aesir Media Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Anime is a fun industry and I am allowed to be myself. Leadership has changed and made a difference in the output of teams and provided much needed direction.

    Cons

    Sometimes too much to get done and not enough people to accomplish that. I guess that's always the way as companies grow and hopefully will be solved soon.

    Advice to Management

    Be open and honest with your team. Share what you can, we can handle knowing the good, the bad and the ugly.

    Aesir Media Group2018-10-12

    Aesir Media Group Response

    December 4, 2018Director of Operations

    Thank you for your review. We strive to maintain an open and accepting environment and we encourage you to reach out to managers about any issues that arise. We also understand that there are times when there is a lot of work to do, but if you ever feel overwhelmed you can speak to ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Interesting Industry, Poorly Managed Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aesir Media Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting Industry CEO is actually a wonderfully interesting and caring person

    Cons

    Terribly managed product management and development

    Advice to Management

    If you want to grow your current product further take a look at the current product management. Having a vision that includes people with ideas other than those of their own is crucial. But if innovation is completely suffocated simply for being conceived by someone other than the product management the the company is going to fail. Remember people do not leave companies they leave management.

    Aesir Media Group2018-07-10

    Aesir Media Group Response

    July 11, 2018Director of Operations

    Thank you for your review and feedback. Even though you’ve indicated that you are no longer an employee, we want you to know that your voice matters. As an organization, we encourage our team members to speak up when they identify opportunities for improvement even if those views ...

    Show More
  6. "Professional and Very Friendly, Excellent Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Recommends

    I have been working at Aesir Media Group full-time

    Pros

    Outstanding people, you can learn a lot from industry masters, fun events and parties. Advancement and bonus if you do good job, helps career paths and goals.

    Cons

    Politics, deficient middle tier managers, work volume can be overwhelming

    Advice to Management

    Great place to work. Owner very supportive and friendly.

    Aesir Media Group2016-10-20

    Aesir Media Group Response

    December 4, 2018Director of Operations

    Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoy being a member of the team, and we’re glad you see the opportunities for learning and advancement as we continue to grow. We are always looking for new ways to improve as a company, and that includes a focus on bringing in ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (11)

    "Cool industry, bad company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Aesir Media Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are among some of the most creative and talented and employees get along well for the most part.

    Cons

    There's a lot to be said here, but to sum management up in a sentence or two: Aesir functions like a startup in which management is also trying to embed a corporate structure. It's so bizarre. Things change a lot. There's definitely an identity crisis going on with management. Aesir Media is the parent company to subsidiaries such as Sentai Filmworks and about 3 other companies, which in itself is not terrible,... but employees basically perform functions across all subsidiaries for pretty low pay. CEO is overall a pretty cool guy, but his vision is so fleeting. One minute he wants one thing. The next, another. Decisions seem extremely arbitrary. There is no longer a full service kitchen. It's basically been reduced to what amounts to a water closet, so no one can really eat their lunches there comfortably. Lastly, there's not a lot of growth or earning potential.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Overall, I'd say just decide what kind of company you want Aesir to be. Listen to your employees and make active strides to improve morale.

    Aesir Media Group2016-02-26
  8. Helpful (2)

    "You can't judge a company off of one review; so here's another."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Aesir Media Group full-time

    Pros

    The work environment is very open and free thinking. This is great for sharing ideas and spreading knowledge. Everyone in the company is considered an equal when it comes to presenting ideas or helping create new business. Ideas are shared and not coveted or hidden from others in order to gain a leg up in the company. The CEO is very approachable and friendly and has a very good knowledge of the industry. He... is very much invested in his staff's well being. IT department is by far the most knowledgeable and friendly guys you will ever meet. The accounting and HR department staff are very kind and are very understanding of personal needs and open to working with you. The production staff is one of the most hard working staff I've ever had the pleasure of working with. Even the back office and sales team are on par with that of a fortune 500. At the current location, there are amenities like a full service kitchen, dining area, free soft drinks and coffee.

    Show More

    Cons

    Five hour long meetings and disorganized email carbon copies aren't as effective as a well thought out project gantt chart. Also a task assignment check list shared and updated regularly to the people involved in the project can get the same job done in less time and everyone can see who's responsible for key elements of the project with just one glance.

    Advice to Management

    Let go of the out dated 1990s corporate structure mentality. Structure IS important, but this specific industry is built on creativity. The old school corporate ideals of yesterday get in the way of todays type of original out of box creative processes and hinder productive business development practices in the long run.

    Aesir Media Group2015-08-20
  9. Helpful (18)

    "Don't bother working here. All you'll get is a headache."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Aesir Media Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The office culture was always very informal. I'd describe it as a work hard/play hard environment. Could be fun environment at times.

    Cons

    Total compensation is extremely low, considering each person handles the amount of work of at least two people. For a professional title with a lot of responsibility, employees earn slightly above retail money. The last year, things started to really shift. Management changed many policies or implemented policies where there were none previously. Instead of being forthcoming with this information, employees are... reprimanded for not following policies they had no idea were in place or created. There is also a great deal of favoritism, particularly from the Vice President. Additionally, they lead you to believe that you have a future within the company and that you're going places. That is not so. It's an extremely small company in a very tiny industry. All the executives and upper management are already in place. The people who do all the heavy lifting will never go higher than they've already gone. In fact, the entire company will probably go under within the next few years if things don't turn around as a result of bad decisions that have resulted in major profit loss for the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay your workers more, especially since you're asking for a lot out of them. Additionally, consider half-day Fridays or M-Th work weeks to reward them for working so hard and spending so much time to meet deadlines. Also, maybe consider promoting the people who have been there, particularly during the sparse times (Aesir is the former ADV), instead of promoting individuals who have been there all of 20 minutes to... head departments. Speaking of departments, you might try establishing departments and promoting internally vs. hiring, establishing a department, allowing new employees who don't understand the company or the business to run them, and then selecting people who have been there 4 years or more to work beneath new employees. Rewarding loyalty helps your employees WANT to work hard for you. There is also an utter LACK of management on the parts of the company's executives. They will be gone sometimes for weeks at a time, available only through email. When you relay important business matters to them, they never get back to you or if they do, it's in an untimely manner.

    Show More
    Aesir Media Group2014-10-28
Found 9 reviews