Aesop Reviews | Glassdoor

Aesop Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 105 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
44%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Aesop CEO Michael O'Keeffe (no image)
Michael O'Keeffe
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "You get lots of free products to the point where you'll be begging friends and family to take them from you(in 13 reviews)

  • "Engaging working environment, great colleagues with an emphasis on effective team work(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "The interview process for head office roles can be lengthy(in 12 reviews)

  • "Management training is the same as consultant training- therefore more tenured consultants are expected to "show new store managers the ropes"(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Lovely Retail Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aesop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Products, development opportunities, meaningful interactions with customers. I've worked with many different retailers and since working at Aesop, I have found a brand that I want to stick with. I love the values, culture, and people that I get to work with and be around.

    Cons

    Scheduling can be challenging, but other than that, nothing.

    Aesop2019-07-12

    Aesop Response

    July 15, 2019HR, Americas

    Dear Current Employee, Your feedback is very much appreciated. It is wonderful to hear from a current colleague. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences at Aesop.

  2. "Full-time unavailable to retail consultants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Consultant in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at Aesop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product discount and allowance. You’d be set for life with how much you are able to take home.

    Cons

    Weekly hours are strategically capped so full time and benefits are not available to retail consultants. Not ideal for anybody trying to make a living wage.

    Aesop2019-07-21

    Aesop Response

    July 31, 2019HR, Americas

    Dear Former Employee, Thank you for taking the time share your thoughts with us. Your views help us identify areas in which we could improve.

  3. "Sophisticated Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Skin Care Consultant in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aesop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing discount Small staff in store Good communication between corporate and retail staff Monthly meetings to touch base Well paid

    Cons

    Start as a 90 day contract where you could be let go in that time Not many people of color in power or hired Hard to move up without having to commit years to the company Each manager runs things very differently and can sometimes be too intense or stiff.

    Advice to Management

    Loosen up a bit.

    Aesop2019-05-24

    Aesop Response

    May 26, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Dear reviewer, thanks for your feedback, we certainly appreciate the time you have taken to write this. We would like to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Pleas feel free to email us a little more detail at hrhelpdesk.americas@aesop.com

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Lofty goals with low result"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aesop full-time

    Pros

    Interesting and diverse coworkers, lots of work to keep busy and ways to stay engaged.

    Cons

    High level of focus on company culture which is ultimately undermined by upper management, low pay for work done.

    Aesop2019-05-22

    Aesop Response

    May 26, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Dear reviewer, we are committed to creating a culture, which enables our business and people to achieve success, so I'm disappointed to hear that that your time at Aesop did not match our expectations of the employee experience. . Should you wish to discuss your concerns further, ...

    Show More
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Deeply Dysfunctional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aesop full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The actual product and staff discount are nice.

    Cons

    Retail is bafflingly undermined at every turn by upper management and HR. Severe understaffing that forces retail staff and managers to work long hours at short notice. Very tight retail budgets that mean far too few hours for the staff in any given location to survive on but also not enough staff on the floor to maintain the store, stock, and serve clients, even as stores get busier and busier. Valued high... performing colleagues disappear and are not replaced. Vacant mangers positions are not filled leaving retail staff to perform their duties and fill extra hours with no extra pay. RBMs are absent and unhelpful. Head office staff do not seem to have any idea what actually happens in store and what the needs are of retail staff and clients. No opportunity for career grown and no pay increase, regardless of performance. Stores are often falling apart or freezing and requests for practical solutions or support go ignored. Don't expect to be able to take any time for vacation with reasonable notice to fly, or have free weekend days, especially around the holidays. HR is utterly incompetent, hiring at a glacial pace and providing no actual solutions for staff who deeply want to continue contributing to the company but need better working conditions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the store managers and retail staff. Stop opening stores you can't support.

    Aesop2019-06-06

    Aesop Response

    June 10, 2019HR Advisor

    Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, which we value and consider an opportunity for us to reflect and improve. We are committed to creating a culture, which enables our business and people to achieve success, so I'm disappointed to hear that that ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (5)

    "It started out ok but then..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aesop part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great products given to you at discount

    Cons

    no work life balance understaffed

    Advice to Management

    Listen in order to run a business you need to hire more people, especially for the stores that are performing. This seems like a problem all over and you really need to listen. Also, please stop pretending that we are not just a number in this business. All I hear is about KPI and UPT. Be more honest on how you translate information. Focus on like hiring people so stores can reach their goals.

    Aesop2019-05-13

    Aesop Response

    May 13, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Dear reviewer. Thank you kindly for your feedback, we appreciate the time you spent in writing a review. If you are open to a further discussion please email your Human Resoures team on peopleservicesanz@aesop.com.

  7. Helpful (6)

    "Needs to seek qualified and ethical people for management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Consultant 

    I worked at Aesop part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The products are the best part of working at Aesop

    Cons

    Store managers and RBMs are unethical and extremely unqualified for the positions they're in. They have zero leadership skills and are only concerned with progressing their individual career instead of helping to mentor and manage their employees.

    Aesop2019-06-01

    Aesop Response

    June 3, 2019HR Advisor

    Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback, we certainly appreciate the time you have taken to write this. We would like to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please feel free to email us a little more detail at peopleservicesanz@aesop.com.

  8. Helpful (5)

    "Not a place for work life balance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Skincare Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aesop part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing products available to you at a very generous discount. Some of the most wonderful and interesting customers. Intelligent co-workers

    Cons

    Aesop is chronically understaffed. This is not just an issue in individual regional markets, but at headquarters as well. Aesop will demand a lot from you without providing the resources to accomplish those goals, such as appropriate staffing. They will work you to the bone and do not care about providing you a schedule that allows for a work life balance. I am part time and work about three days a week, of those... three days I am consistently scheduled for Saturdays and Sundays every single weekend, despite having ample availability on week days. Its May and I haven't been able to go to my visit my local parents since Christmas because they work weekdays. Schedules are only published one week in advance, so say goodbye to making plans with friends or even scheduling something as simple as a doctor's visit. Even though you may work part time and be compensated part time, Aesop feels entitled to all 7 days of your week. They don't make taking vacation easy- the earliest they will approve vacation time, no matter how small (say a long weekend), is 1 month out. This makes travel plans involving airfare and hotels next to impossible. Lastly, I have worked a store where heat was frequently 10 degrees below federal labor laws. Numerous communications were sent to corporate who respond promptly, but failed to get a repairman in promptly. During the winter, I often felt sick leaving from severely cold temperatures in store. Aesop never apologized for such an unacceptable operational failure and instead blamed unpredictable weather. I was expected to be in an amazing mood performing at 100% when I literally could not feel my toes. During these winter months, I realized that Aesop is not the company that I had once so much admired as a customer. RBMs are not as responsive or attentive because they have too many stores under their wing, so don't expect them to be of any assistance.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bring more consistency to your scheduling practices, publish schedules earlier, give every employee at least one weekend day off to enjoy, and don't ask so much of your employees if you are not going to staff stores sufficiently.

    Aesop2019-05-06

    Aesop Response

    May 7, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Dear reviewer, thank you for the feedback. We appreciate that you have taken the time to write a review. Given your concerns, we hope that you’ve raised these with the leadership directly since you wrote this post. If you are uncomfortable doing so, please make contact with the ...

    Show More
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Wabi sabi"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager 

    I have been working at Aesop full-time

    Pros

    Product, coworkers, beautiful work environment

    Cons

    Low salaries for what’s expected of you. Hard to sustain a living on their full-time salary.

    Aesop2019-04-10

    Aesop Response

    April 17, 2019Talent Acquisition

    Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us, your views help us identify areas in which we could improve.

  10. Helpful (9)

    "The talent is right under their nose"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Consultant in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aesop full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy going coworkers, comps, discounts, working environment(beautiful stores, snacks, music), exceptional products. Base pay can be high if you are new to retail.

    Cons

    1. Understaff issues: Understaff in the whole NY area, afraid to take sick leave because literally no one can cover for you. You feel bad for your coworker who is working with you that day. The hiring process is very lengthy, which helps HR find the most "Aesop aligned" person, but it also works against the company by taking too long to find proper support for staff that is already overworked and tired. 2. No... room for growth, even harder if you were interested in another department: I have seen too many talented people left the company (who were tenure and passion with strong KPI's). If you studied a major and had career goal within another department it is impossible for you to transfer, reason being you don't have experience, experiences you can't learn while you're in the store.... Aesop HQ love to hire externally, including positions that made sense to hire internally (Store managers, Visual Merchandising positions) Retail consultants are there to train a new manager while acting like one and getting hourly pay. 3. Store budget issues: Most stores operate with mainly PT staffs, the excuse is that the budget for stores is not high enough to have more than one FT consultant and a store manager. Some stores have a budget for "Senior Retail Consultant" (essentially, Assistant Store Manager) but depending on how busy the store is, that may not be enough coverage on the floor. FT employees only get health benefits and not PTO, while senior retail consultants gets both. 4. Responsibilities / Compensation: This is not the kind of job where you can just show up and clock in. There are a lot of small tasks you are required to complete even for a PT consultant, which can change if you work at a busier store that has no manager (which happens often). Upper management will say you're not responsible for certain tasks, but you may find yourself doing them anyway because if not the store won't be operating properly (responding to head office emails, ordering product, communicating with other stores for transfers, all this on top of actually selling and working the sales floor.) 5. Hourly Rate: With the increase of minimum wage in NY area, the salary is not competitive enough. it used to be $5 dollars higher, and now it's $3 dollars higher and compared with the amount of work you do, it's not enough.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - More support should be lended to consultants/ manager in stores. Career development is too lengthy and shows no desire to keep tenured consultants (should implement automatic pay raises for tenured consultants, or at least have the room to negotiate). - Focus less on KPI- most consultants manipulate their sales in order to meet KPI standards, that indicates that the current KPI system is not working and... unrealistic. - More compensation to hard working employees who act as a "temporary manager" when there were no manager in the store to function. Consultants who work based on hourly shouldn't do any kind of small tasks unless clocked in. - Provide both health and PTO benefits to FT and Senior consultants. This increases stability of scheduling to the store as well as making higher sales. - Increase hourly rate, be mindful of why the turnover rate is high, people working in the store are not being compensated based on how much work they are doing. There is no personal commision compared to other luxury skincare brands so no matter how much you sell or which high traffic store you are working in everyone gets the same rate(non-negotiable).

    Show More
    Aesop2019-04-11

    Aesop Response

    May 3, 2019HR, Americas

    Dear Former Employee, Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. The feedback addressed are taken into consideration. Kindly note that both health and PTO benefits are eligible for all full time employees regardless of being a Full Time Retail Consultant ...

    Show More
Found 105 reviews