Aetion Reviews | Glassdoor

Aetion Reviews

Updated Nov 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.5
89%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Aetion Chief Executive Officer Carolyn Magill (no image)
Carolyn Magill
28 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Company with an Amazing Mission!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Partner in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An amazing group of people working towards an amazing mission! The company allows full autonomy and the opportunity to gain experience that you could not gain elsewhere! Everyone is super friendly and collaborative. The perks are also a huge plus, as they reflect the perks of a large a tech company.

    Cons

    The office location in Times Square.

    Aetion2019-11-14
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Intelligent, collaborative and kind colleagues. Clear communication from management. Organised and structured hiring and onboarding process.

    Cons

    I have not found any!

    Aetion2019-10-30
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place for a first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Clear onboarding process, lots of support from all levels, regular interaction with employees from all different teams of all different seniorities.

    Cons

    NYO has outgrown its space -- seems to be changing with move to a new office next year

    Aetion2019-10-29
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great start up to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility of work environment. Extremely smart team that is willing to help out. Best in class product. Industry leading company. Free lunch!

    Cons

    You have to actively pursue information you want. This isn't a bad thing, but if you need your hand held at every stage this isn't the right opportunity for you.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work! Proud to be an A-team'er!

    Aetion2019-10-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Exciting and Fulfilling Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Aetion continues to exceed my expectations of what an inspired and supportive workplace can do. The people I work with value relationships and collaboration. Everyone is also very supportive when I've needed to take time away to be with my family or take a vacation. The concept of "work life balance" is something that continues to be discussed on a regular basis - which brings a level of comfort motivating people... to do their best work while also understanding that if they need to refuel, the company is supportive. Other great things about Aetion are the tremendous benefits, incredibly top talent, free lunch and great atmosphere.

    Show More

    Cons

    It depends on what you are looking to do. A high growth startup like Aetion is not the place for everyone. It's constantly evolving and changing which brings with it inherent challenges.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to communicate well and regularly. Lunch and Learns and All Hands Meetings have been tremendously helpful.

    Aetion2019-10-17
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Incredible culture, work, and talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I cannot express how much I love working for Aetion. The collaboration, intelligence, and encouragement to try new things is unparalleled. If you have an idea, you are provided resources and tools to run with it and see what you can do - even if you fail, you are encouraged to give it another shot, pivot, or try again. Everyone is incredibly supportive and intelligent - I feel like every day I take on new... challenges and am met with people who push me to be my best, do my best, and think about critical problems that we are tackling in the industry. Everyone here believes in what we are doing and do their best to help one another succeed and grow. Company culture is AMAZING. Free seamless each day, plenty of social events, transparency in any and all facets, and genuinely a fun group of people to be around every day. The company is solidifying itself and growing rapidly, while still maintaining "startup culture," which I love.

    Show More

    Cons

    This is not the place for you if you are not willing to take risks and challenge yourself, or if you want a standard job where someone tells you what to do all day, you do your thing, and you leave. You need to be willing and able to tackle new problems and come up with new solutions.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing! Love the encouragement to grow and expand your skillset, feels like there is a lot of promotion from within.

    Aetion2019-10-07
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Informative interview process; comprehensive and welcoming onboarding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scientist in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Aetion offers a positive and collaborative office environment, delicious snacks, and great benefits. Also, the company is truly built upon their values of of using real world evidence for the betterment of public health.

    Cons

    The only con that I have encountered thus far is the in-flux corporate structure.

    Aetion2019-10-10
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Collaborative team, Strong Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    + People, ability to learn and advance, experienced executive team, office perks -$20 daily seamless stipend, free food, pool table, standing desks, flexible work + Spread across three offices (Boston, NY, LA) and has many remote workers, which I like because you have to be more thoughtful about how we're including and interacting the team, also forces a focus on clear goals and autonomy since we all aren't in... the same time zone and you can't just go up to someone's desk to work. This also shows that if you have a life change where you need to relocate or scale back hours, Aetion puts employees first and will flex to high performing employees instead of prioritizing face time

    Show More

    Cons

    - There can be times when intellectual humility is lacking in areas of the org. Aetion has many talented, committed employees, but our focus should be first and foremost on our mission and the overall success of the team

    Advice to Management

    VP+ leaders should continue the push on delegation to free up your calendars and make space for mentoring the team. You have a strong group of employees who are eager to take on more and make an impact.

    Aetion2019-09-26
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Great start-up with bright future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Friendly and collaborative teams with strong science expertise and technical teams that power their platform -Streamlined culture that is mission-centric and value-based -You can tell everyone knows the important implications of the Aetion Evidence Platform and is passionate about their work -Hardworking teams with good work life balance and flexible schedules -Great benefits and lunch/snack perks -Career... development and growth is highly encouraged -Central locations in NYC and Boston and WFH capabilities

    Show More

    Cons

    -same challenges as any start-up that is growing and scaling.

    Aetion2019-09-24
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Best Place I have worked at so far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HRIS Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetion full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Innovative culture, amazing benefits, autonomy, friendly people, and intriguing & meaningful work

    Cons

    There isn't always structure cause it is a startup but that's what I like! If you like building and don't want to follow a routine constantly, this is the place for you!

    Aetion2019-09-24
Found 35 reviews