Aetna "work from home" Reviews | Glassdoor

Aetna Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Aetna Chairman, President, and CEO Mark T. Bertolini
Mark T. Bertolini
1,372 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (18)

    "Breath of fresh air"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Strategic Proposal Writer in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetna full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exceptional training/mentoring process. Management is hands on and accessible. During busy times, management listens and redistributes work as necessary to alleviate stress. Big focus on communicating product and industry changes. Welcoming of new ideas and simplifying processes. Telework is available after a year of service (based on performance) and as needed (sick, weather, etc). Comforting to know that, should I move out of state, I could work from home. Company is highly transparent and wants to keep employees engaged. Volunteer opportunities galore. Company mission is one you can stand behind.

    Show More

    Cons

    High levels of turnover in the department is slightly concerning, however, understandable as majority of roles are entry-level. Busy time can mean putting in 10+ hours of overtime in a week.

    Advice to Management

    We need to hire more employees and address turnover.

    Aetna2019-05-01
  2. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Eligibility Consultant 

    I have been working at Aetna full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, vision and dental benefits

    Cons

    Not all rules are applied to every person

    Aetna2019-08-23
  3. "Good place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Learning Consultant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetna full-time

    Pros

    Flexible Work at home in current position Some room to grow

    Cons

    Lots of transition in management and overall

    Advice to Management

    One change at a time, too much gets overwhelming but still grateful for the positives as they do matter.

    Aetna2020-01-05
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Our healthcare benefits are awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Aetna

    Pros

    The people I work with. Working from home.

    Cons

    Pay is mediocre. Since CVS took over, our bonuses and raises have both been decreased. The 401k match has decreased. Our healthcare now costs much more for far inferior coverage. When you WORK FOR THE INSURANCE COMPANY, you should be able to claim your benefits are excellent. That is not the case.

    Advice to Management

    My immediate supervisors are excellent, hardworking people.

    Aetna2020-01-10
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Beware of “work from home” opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager in New Albany, OH
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Aetna full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, no commute or dress code

    Cons

    Work 60+ hours / week, no work-life balance. Your value is based solely on productivity metrics, not for your professional experience/expertise, teamwork, or other “non-numeric” (soft) skills. Management unwilling to help answer questions/provide support.

    Advice to Management

    Practice being “present” to your staff during scheduled “1-on-1” meetings, rather than on multi-tasking. Re-train by taking classes on how to communicate effectively. Gather all the facts before lashing out at and falsely accusing staff. As the saying goes, “If you can’t handle the heat in the kitchen, then get out!”

    Aetna2020-01-02
  6. "ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Grievance and Appeals Specialist in High Point, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aetna full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working from home is great

    Cons

    insurance is not great.. but it is very cheap

    Aetna2019-12-18
  7. "Better when Coventry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineer in Pittsburgh, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aetna full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Benefits not bad. Could be less expensive since company is the provider. Generous PTO Retirement 401K Work from Home

    Cons

    Management turnover/reorganization Corporate processes slow down progress Too many silos, not enough cross work

    Advice to Management

    Empower your staff to perform duties across platforms, with collaboration.

    Aetna2019-12-09
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Love my field!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aetna full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, the actual job, working from home, the pay...

    Cons

    The supervisors show favoritism and this affects raises and bonuses

    Aetna2019-12-10
  9. "Meh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Aetna full-time

    Pros

    Working from home and not in an office

    Cons

    No overtime or too much red tape

    Aetna2019-10-29
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Good Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - RN Case Manager in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aetna full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working from home and setting your own schedule for client visits.

    Cons

    Too large of a case load to manage appropriately.

    Aetna2019-10-14
Found 495 reviews