Aetna "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Aetna Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Aetna Chairman, President, and CEO Mark T. Bertolini
Mark T. Bertolini
1,369 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "NA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Engineer in Wellesley, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetna full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance, quite innovative stack we work upon given the fact that we work in health care domain.

    Cons

    There are no cons, believe me !!

    Aetna2019-12-17
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Beware of “work from home” opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager in New Albany, OH
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Aetna full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, no commute or dress code

    Cons

    Work 60+ hours / week, no work-life balance. Your value is based solely on productivity metrics, not for your professional experience/expertise, teamwork, or other “non-numeric” (soft) skills. Management unwilling to help answer questions/provide support.

    Advice to Management

    Practice being “present” to your staff during scheduled “1-on-1” meetings, rather than on multi-tasking. Re-train by taking classes on how to communicate effectively. Gather all the facts before lashing out at and falsely accusing staff. As the saying goes, “If you can’t handle the heat in the kitchen, then get out!”

    Aetna2020-01-02
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Great Company To Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Medicare Implementation Manager in Sacramento, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetna full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Telework options, which is a MUST these days. Work / Life balance and great IT support when needed. Very flexible company.

    Cons

    Health plan could be better. Would like to have HMO options.

    Aetna2019-12-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Pharmacy Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Sandy, UT
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Aetna full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits and bonus.

    Cons

    There is no work-life balance here. I was always working weekends and putting in mandatory overtime. I started working here in 2014 when Coventry was still a separate Med D sponsor. Aetna bought us out and things were fine for a while till CVS came along. Everything has only gotten worse since about 2016. If you enjoy being micromanaged and treated like a robot, by all means, Aetna is the place for you!

    Advice to Management

    Treat people like human beings. Stop being so hung up on numbers and money. Put more effort into creating a positive team morale.

    Aetna2019-12-18
  6. "Average"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Chantilly, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Aetna

    Pros

    Convenient location, cutting edge technology

    Cons

    No work life balance. Non flexible work hours.

    Aetna2019-12-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Challenging work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Provider Relations Representative in Overland Park, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Aetna full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am paid well and bonus structure is generous.

    Cons

    No work life balance, all over the place and the changes are not taking into account the time it takes to research the root cause of claims issues so work is overwhelming.

    Advice to Management

    Hire a claims support team that specifically researches claims issues timely with answers and language to either reprocess or understand Kansas legislation. Configure the system to pay claims correctly the first time.

    Aetna2019-11-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Associate 

    I have been working at Aetna full-time

    Pros

    Benefits and work life balance.

    Cons

    Company outsources many positions regularly.

    Aetna2019-11-08
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Aetna was great, but CVS..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Aetna full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Aetna had good people and a good comp packages. When CVS came in they wrecked the place.

    Cons

    CVS is a bad company to work for - no work/life balance, much lower comp packages, very poor management.

    Aetna2019-11-08
  10. "Fair job for some people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Hartford, CT
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Aetna full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Healthy work-life balance with ability to work from home

    Cons

    Glass ceiling in tech, difficult to work up unless towards management

    Aetna2019-10-31
  11. Helpful (5)

    "CVS takeover changed the company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Finance 

    I worked at Aetna full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company with name recognition

    Cons

    The culture at Aetna has been regressive since the CVS takeover. Aetna was a very progressive company and had lots of benefits for employees and really focused on work/life balance. Now, things have gone downhill fast and there's a reason there's been a mass exodus of upper management over the last few months.

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees and understand that Aetna is a corporate company, not a retail business like CVS. Give back many of the benefits that were taken away and go back to trying to be a leader and being progressive.

    Aetna2019-10-14
Found 292 reviews