KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Aetna

Part of CVS Health
Is this your company?

Aetna

Add a Review

Aetna Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Dec 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 410 of over 4,008 reviews

3.6
66%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Aetna Chairman, President, and CEO Mark T. Bertolini
Mark T. Bertolini
1,830 Ratings
Pros
  • "Full time great benefits able to work from home(in 667 reviews)

  • "Strong leadership with great work life balance(in 285 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The CVS merger seems to have decreased the benefits a little(in 132 reviews)

  • "Need to be careful of work/life balance(in 129 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    What people are saying about Aetna

    Join the conversation on
    Join the conversation on

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Aetna and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great experience

      Oct 28, 2021 - Office Support Specialist in Bethesda, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Friendly atmosphere, great work life balance.

      Cons

      Training time for various projects could have been improved.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Your Experience Depends on Your Input

      Sep 21, 2021 - Customer Service Representative in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You are allowed time off of phones to assist with projects in other departments that can last for months! I have assisted the Claims dept, Special Enrollment Team, Service Advocate team. You can be appointed to leadership roles even as a CSR, I was appointed huddle champion and participated in this role until I stepped down due to work/life balance issues. The individual supervisors are wonderful. Responsiveness and effectiveness of management declines the higher you go. They send out surveys often and use them to make changes, so please complete them! The perks of the job are wonderful. They paid for my sons daycare to the tune of 500 per week for six weeks at the beginning of the pandemic, and his daycare was a family member that would come over to watch him. They approved this! There is a wonderful employee recognition site where you can acknowledge anyone and earn points yourself to really cool rewards. I could go on and on, but I love this company.

      Cons

      If you are a CSR, expect lots of changes and absolutely NO DOWN TIME BETWEEN CALLS! It is super busy and you will have no time to take a breather between calls. But, that's job stability, no?

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing place to work and grow

      Nov 23, 2021 - Product Owner in Irvine, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Being part of the Products team, I can really see how much effort Aetna puts into their products to be able really make a positive impact on their members. I love being part of an innovative, forward thinking team that looks to create solutions that can have huge impacts on people. Aetna seems to really care about their employees - their physical, mental, and emotional well being. Since day 1, I was welcomed with open arms by the team and ever since have felt like an integral part of the team, where my voice is heard and understood. Compensation is very competitive and work life balance has been great so far.

      Cons

      As everything has been virtual due to the pandemic, I'd love to attend company gatherings/events if possible.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Decent work life balance, but disorganized and dysfunctional work environment

      Jun 29, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The work life balance was good and I was getting paid a decent amount for my experience level.

      Cons

      Ever since Aetna was acquired by CVS, the work atmosphere has not been great. For one, there has been 5 re-orgs during the two years that I was there, and one had resulted in me doing a job that I wasn't hired to do three months after joining. I had tried to find ways to enrich my experience there and pursue opportunities that were closer to my interests, but I was always so busy with my current job that I didn't have the time to take on stretch assignments or network across the business. There are also limited opportunities for promotions. I was due for one and was given the response "no one has been promoted since COVID," even though I have taken on more work and responsibility since COVID. It also seems like upper management is very disorganized, judging by the constant re-orgs within the company. I've been so burnt out here, by stressing about how all of these org changes will affect me and doing a job that I haven't been fulfilled for that long.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great Benefits, Poor Compensation

      Nov 12, 2021 - Underwriting Consultant in Hartford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work, Good benefits, Gym in HQ, Solid work life balance

      Cons

      They pay less than market, and try to justify it with benefits.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Predictable

      Oct 6, 2021 - Executive Director in Hartford, CT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Predictable big company culture with great work-life balance, and a wonderful group of people to work with (all very tenured).

      Cons

      Change seems to be the only thing constant - a lot of leadership changes, new directions, and confusing organizational structures. There is a lot of "this is how we've always done it" attitudes - beware if you're a disruptive change agent.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Aug 12, 2021 - Copy Editor in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fast paced but reasonable Interesting and varied projects Supportive manager and teammates Strong parent company Nice offices and great location Good work/life balance for this role

      Cons

      Open office environment difficult for this type of work Holidays given from parent company are minimal Basic benefits could be improved

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great company to work at

      Oct 20, 2021 - Data Engineer in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good people, great environment, good work-life balance

      Cons

      Use lot of legacy tools, medium paced development

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place

      Oct 6, 2021 - Underwriter in Naples, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance is great.

      Cons

      Pay is not on par with other companies.

      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Sep 20, 2021 - Software Engineer in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Absolutely phenomenal work-life balance, and you'll still get to learn a lot here.

      Cons

      Salary not as competitive as the rest of the market, especially when compared to big tech companies.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 410 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Aetna Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Aetna? Share Your Experiences

    or