Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
63%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Dave Larson
21 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and decent pay for the work(in 11 reviews)

  • "(in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "The complaint I heard most often from members was that member advisors didn't call them back(in 6 reviews)

  • "Advisors that are only responsible for basic transactions get paid the same as advisors that originate, underwrite and close mortgages(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A Company that Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time

      Pros

      Truly care about employees, great opportunities and benefits

      Cons

      Short breaks and some favoritism

      Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2019-01-11
    • "Not enough staff..."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Member Advisor 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Affinity Plus was overall a great place to work. They tried to invest in their employees and had great values.

      Cons

      I wanted to receive additional training to move up at the company and was never able to receive the training due to the branch being understaffed. I had conversations with the Branch Manager and they were supportive but were never able to get the ball rolling.

      Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2019-06-12
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great learning experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Member Advisor 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Interesting work, very menaingful. Working at A+ makes one feel as though you are making a difference in people's lives. The empowerment employees receive to solve client issues is real, and the encouragement to improve client finances translates into real-world changes. The work is varied and never boring, and you get to learn a wide variety of tasks, certifications, and it's a very fun environment.

      Cons

      Upper management can be disconnected from front-line issues. Reporting to HR did not always result in actions taken. Red tape and favoritism used to be an issue. Highly stressful work, 50% of new hires don't make it past 6 months.

      Advice to Management

      Listen to your front-line employees. They know what's going on.

      Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2019-02-25
    • "Good company decent experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Member Advisor in Roseville, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Benefits, culture, products, and coworkers

      Cons

      Job depends on your branch

      Advice to Management

      Keep efficiency and operations a priority

      Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2018-10-24
    • "Good Place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time

      Pros

      Management is approachable. Great benefits package.

      Cons

      Not the most competitive salaries in the area.

      Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2018-09-17
    • "Member Adviser 1"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union for more than a year

      Pros

      Awesome benefits. Pay starts great!

      Cons

      Pay starts great, but payment increase becomes exponentially harder to grow

      Advice to Management

      I love them! You will figure out really quick how so people work under pressure. Sometimes managers can take that aggression towards you.

      Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2018-05-08
    • Helpful (2)

      "Member Advisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Member Advisor I 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union part-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Feel valued through gifts and recognition Pays well Great benefits

      Cons

      Members feel entitled Not enough branch leader evaluation

      Advice to Management

      Continue to appreciate employees.

      Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2018-02-21
    • "Great POE!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Member Advisor 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Opportunity for Growth Great culture Wonderful coworkers Good Compensation Flexible with scheduling Transparent with what is happening within company

      Cons

      I really enjoy working here

      Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2018-01-17
    • "Member Advisor"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time

        Pros

        The best company culture I've ever seen, everyone who worked there truly loved what the did and felt like they were valued by both members and management. Management provided thorough performance reviews and wanted to see you succeed. They had great benefits and compensation. Communication between branches and back office was excellent, easy to get any questions answered correctly and quickly.

        Cons

        The only con is that this company isn't located outside of Minnesota! Would work for them in a heartbeat.

        Advice to Management

        Continue to value your employees, members and community.

        Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2017-12-28
      • Helpful (2)

        "Great benefits, no opportunities"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Great and numerous benefits are offered at low cost, feel like they do really care about their employees well being and the community. Everyone is very nice and helpful.

        Cons

        No movement in the company, if there is there are 6-15 people applying for one job opening. When there is movement its current managers or VPs getting new titles added to their jobs or promotions. Stong sense of "favoritism" within the whole company.

        Advice to Management

        I feel that the current compensation scale ins't enough to keep employees around, most (hourly) stay because of the environment and morals of the company vs. being paid enough to live on, I have to work a second job to be able to afford working here and support myself.

        Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2017-08-25
      Found 47 reviews