Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Dave Larson
22 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Great benefits, no opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great and numerous benefits are offered at low cost, feel like they do really care about their employees well being and the community. Everyone is very nice and helpful.

    Cons

    No movement in the company, if there is there are 6-15 people applying for one job opening. When there is movement its current managers or VPs getting new titles added to their jobs or promotions. Stong sense of "favoritism" within the whole company.

    Advice to Management

    I feel that the current compensation scale ins't enough to keep employees around, most (hourly) stay because of the environment and morals of the company vs. being paid enough to live on, I have to work a second job to be able to afford working here and support myself.

    Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2017-08-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are very good Senior management and CEO seem good

    Cons

    Difficult to keep up with demand and frequently understaffed Some members are very entitled and impossible to please Not very many opportunities for advancement in outlying branches Sub-par leadership in branches

    Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2017-08-10
  3. "information security intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Paul, MN

      I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union for less than a year

      Pros

      Great people, great place and culture

      Cons

      Nothing bad to say about them

      Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2017-03-31
    • Helpful (1)

      "True the the tag line "Not for profit. For people""

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Branches in Saint Paul, MN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      I'm general, credit unions tend to offer a much better environment to work in. That said, I've talked with and visited dozens of credit unions over the last 20 years and Affinity Plus is doing some incredible things! I started with Affinity Plus late last year and have been impressed with the people and beliefs of leadership. We hold ourselves accountable to our values: Care. Excellence. Integrity. In addition to a...

      Show More

      Cons

      Affinity Plus went some difficult times leading up to 2013. Dave Larson, the current CEO who took over in '13 and longtime employee, has performed a small miracle since taking over. If you Glassdoor read reviews prior to 2013 you'll know what I mean...don't let those dated reviews sway you from considering Affinity Plus. We are getting better each day, and we have come a loooongggg way.

      Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2017-02-21
    • "Awesome employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Member Advisor II in Bemidji, MN

        I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union

        Pros

        Great benefits and decent pay for the work. The hours are good and lots of days off with good pto

        Cons

        Will be asked to do more and more work without pay increase. No overtime allowed if you would like to work.longer

        Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2017-02-22
      • "Good place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time

        Pros

        Starting salary, co-workers, members, benefits

        Cons

        Micro-managing, takes "doing what's best for a member" to an extreme and judges your decisions, very little actual job training--mostly company culture training

        Advice to Management

        Don't micromanage. Let your employees decide what is best for members after THEY have the conversations. Train employees more on job-related tasks.

        Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2016-11-11
      • "Loan Officer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time

        Pros

        Co-workers Benefits Generous vacation and sick time

        Cons

        Constantly understaffed More responsibilities but pay isn't commensurate to work load Open works setting which leads to constant interruption by members thus affecting work quality and completion for members that are being served

        Advice to Management

        Raise incentives that reward performance to retain high performing staff Ensure that busy branches are always adequately staffed

        Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2016-08-09
      • Helpful (2)

        "Optimistic"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        The senior team and CEO continue to drive an engaging business culture, and are making efforts to improve training, develop employees and their managers through an investment of time and funds into coaching and training their managers to be better accountable leaders to their teams.

        Cons

        With any business, you'll find pockets of "groups" within middle management not interested in engaging with others outside their "group" or who are very self-serving, and in need of learning better soft-skills. They seem to hold onto under-performing managers and employees resulting in a negative impact others working with or around them, and productivity. Some of these managers will not dedicate time to mentor and develop...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Get to know the talent the organization possesses. I think Senior, Management, and HR do not realize some of the talent within the organization outside of those who work closely at corporate office or see the senior team often. Outlook seems optimistic with the leader training implemented, however, it would be nice to be able to provide anonymous reviews about managers of areas for improvement and see the follow-through...

        Show More
        Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2016-06-24
      • "great company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Member Advisor in Rochester, MN
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Really supports the customers and is service driven

        Cons

        It was in MN....Freezing weather

        Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2016-05-14
      • "Great benefits, team and pay is tons of perks!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Member Advisor 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        - Great team, coworkers are amazing. Friendships are built! - Pay is ok. Not too bad, but could always improve. - Benefits are amazing! - Stable jobs, advancement always offered. (They prefer inter-hiring) - Stable hours - Bonuses and gifts. - Donations/Plus it forward - Not sales based/no pressure to sell

        Cons

        - Some of the members can be a much. They have are big on self entitlement, and can be very nasty. (Had someone threaten to urinate on the property!) - I have been asked to do more than my job description, without pay increase. (I.e. Open memberships) - Nothing gets done about not as "aware" employees. - Raises are only UP TO 4% of current pay rate - Inconsistent - Training/Product Knowledge

        Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2016-02-24
      Found 48 reviews