Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union Reviews | Glassdoor

Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 48 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Dave Larson
22 Ratings
  1. "MA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union

    Pros

    Great coworkers Good pay Good management team

    Cons

    Difficult and demanding members Can be overwhelming

    Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2016-02-16
  2. "Member Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Phenomenal Benefits, friendly co-workers, respect among all employees, complete transparency, accumulate vacation and sick hours from day 1, ability to contribute to 401k from day 1, real 'team' feel and a lot of growth opportunity. Senior management is super approachable and truly listens to the concerns of employees and cares about your professional growth within the company

    Cons

    lack of training (which they have an entire team dedicated to improving) other than that, a lot of members have a sense of entitlement which comes from being a 'member-owned' co-operative and can get quite nasty if you don't give them what they want

    Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2016-01-20
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Member Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union

    Pros

    Great Benefits. Easy to get hired. Lots of turnover

    Cons

    Low Pay; company brainwashing is true. Credit union has a roll it out and see if it works mentality. The customer facing employees get to clean up the mess. The company looks into your debit and credit card transactions to approve loans. They will continually add more responsibilities with no pay increase.

    Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2015-09-26
  4. "Great company, poor training"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time

    Pros

    Great company, great vision, good pay, great benefits. The organization genuinely cares about its members and employees.

    Cons

    Poor training of new employees and nearly no ongoing training, few opportunities to advance

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, but training still needs work, and more opportunities for advancement would be appreciated

    Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2015-08-05
  5. "Member Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union

    Pros

    Pay was ok for small town

    Cons

    Not much room for advancement

    Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2015-07-20
  6. "Always supported, lots of learning opportunities for self starters."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union

    Pros

    Great benefits, people, and culture.

    Cons

    Base compensation is lower than market.

    Advice to Management

    Take serious stock of the value of retention in order to pay for and keep quality employees.

    Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2015-01-03
  7. "Could be a great company "if""

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of the people are great and are great with customers

    Cons

    Complete lack of training, was told if I wanted to learn anything or be trained to find someone willing to show me. Basically stuck behind a computer and expected to know everything.

    Advice to Management

    Come up with a training plan and use it, don't just throw a new hire out there to flounder and drown

    Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2014-12-28
  8. "Great work culture, grossly underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent coworkers and supportive environment. Everyone is willing to answer questions at any time, all while friendly. The majority of managers are willing to help. Great benefits package. You have the opportunity to learn a LOT about financial services if you are motivated and make an effort to take on more.

    Cons

    Hourly pay is terrible compared to the industry standard. Advisors that are only responsible for basic transactions get paid the same as advisors that originate, underwrite and close mortgages. Workload is extremely intense, and pressure to multitask can cause a decrease in productivity and quality of work. There is occasionally a lack of consistency across branches, which can complicate member interactions. The membership...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue creating consistency across all branches and processes. Increase training for advisors that don't have a financial service background. Increase pay to retain an outstanding employee base.

    Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2014-11-27
  9. "Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very good working culture Good coworker Good distance

    Cons

    Lack of management skills Low pay Lack of development

    Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2014-08-18
  10. "Great work expereince - crap Management!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lien Specialist in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I like the culture of the Organization. Affinity Plus has great State Benefits - Phenominal!!!! The values of the Organization are also amazing! :D Makes me happy to work for the Oranization - to be a part of something greater!

    Cons

    Management is not trained well and pulled from hourly employees. Idealy a great idea if again they were trained better. I started as a temp and I basically taught myself everything I know.

    Advice to Management

    Get a clue

    Affinity Plus Federal Credit Union2014-07-11
Found 48 reviews