Affinity Trust Reviews | Glassdoor

Affinity Trust Reviews

Updated Sep 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
51%
Approve of CEO
Affinity Trust CEO Leo Sowerby
Leo Sowerby
57 Ratings
Pros
  • "I love working with the people we support(in 28 reviews)

  • "Affinity Trust is an excellent employer, the best employer I have had in the social care industry(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "The rotas are not given in enough time for people to plan their lives(in 10 reviews)

  • "No positive example set to the support workers(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Soul destroying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Worker in Kent, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Affinity Trust full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People you support if you do it for them and not yourself. I met the odd genuine carer but they left due to not feeling valued

    Cons

    High agency use due to treating staff so poor. Management do not listen or even know about the people supported. Management cover up safeguarding issues and make support workers feel like they are to blame for everything. Staff only follow policies and procedures when it suits them and the only one they follow is grievance over silly things.

    Continue reading
    Affinity Trust2016-05-19
  2. Helpful (13)

    "No title as only VERY offensive words come to myomd when I tnimk about this ...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Support Worker in Kent, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Affinity Trust

    Pros

    NO pros , I am sorry. NOTHING

    Cons

    Lousy management whose motto sems to be : ' The worse the better'

    Continue reading
    Affinity Trust2014-12-17
  3. "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker 

    I have been working at Affinity Trust part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to work in a team Considerate leadership Great possibility to have input in the support given Professional standards

    Cons

    Sometimes instability of rota

    Affinity Trust2019-09-22

    Affinity Trust Response

    October 3, 2019Chief Executive

    I am glad you feel you that managers are considerate, that you work with a good team, and that you feel able to contribute to the support people receive; this is so important to help people achieve the lives they want. In relation to the rota, it would be really helpful if you could speak to your Operations Manager or Divisional Director about this, so they can look at what else they can do. If you prefer, feel free to contact me at our Thame office. Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Regards Donna Leedham, Director of Operations and Quality

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "just dont bother"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lowestoft, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Affinity Trust full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    was there any.. ahh yes only those supported

    Cons

    if you want a work life balance this company def not for you.. the more you do the more expected of you.

    Continue reading
    Affinity Trust2019-09-05

    Affinity Trust Response

    October 3, 2019Chief Executive

    I am glad you enjoyed working with the people we support. Any additional shifts that staff work above their contracted hours are optional, and we do monitor the hours that staff work to keep people safe and ensure people get a proper rest/break. Thank you for your review. Regards Donna Leedham, Director of Operations and Quality

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Rotas abysmal.poor work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity Trust full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Training generally well structured but always take your own, dont even get coffees,tea or soft drinks.

    Cons

    Management at senior level not aware or not interested

    Continue reading
    Affinity Trust2019-09-05

    Affinity Trust Response

    October 1, 2019Chief Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to see that you have worked for the organisation for over five years; we value and appreciate your commitment to Affinity Trust but most importantly to the people you support. We are regularly complimented on our learning and development opportunities and this is one of the positives often quoted from people working for us. With regard to our rota systems, we are currently reviewing new systems which we believe will benefit all and enable managers to prepare staff rota plans and shift patterns more readily, giving all those involved in rota management more time . With regard to your comments about retention, please contact me to give me an opportunity to understand the points you would like to be considered. Regards, Victoria Neish, Director of Operations and Quality

    Continue reading
  6. "Brilliant place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity Trust full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Brilliant team with great atmosphere, excellent manager and flexible working. Cannot really think of anything to fault

    Cons

    None come to mind. Great company to work for

    Affinity Trust2019-07-17

    Affinity Trust Response

    July 25, 2019Chief Executive

    Thanks so much for your feedback. We know flexible working and a positive manager help create a great working environment – I’m really glad you’re enjoying it. Anne Kippax, HR Director

    Continue reading
  7. "OK to get foot in the door..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Leeds, England

    I have been working at Affinity Trust part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Training Supported people are lovely Can be a really fun rewarding job depending on sessions

    Cons

    Unsupportive management Lots of long term issues with staff teams Low salary High staff turnover

    Affinity Trust2019-07-12

    Affinity Trust Response

    July 19, 2019Chief Executive

    Many thanks for taking the time to write this review. You clearly get a great deal of job satisfaction in your role and enjoy working with the people you support. I am pleased to see that you have valued our training programme. We are regularly complimented on the training we provide as it is recognised as being of high quality and what people require to carry out their job well. With regard to the comments you have made about pay rates, this is a national issue unfortunately, and one which we hope the government will address. At Affinity Trust we aspire for every staff member to feel valued and we recognise that, without such dedicated staff, we would not be able to provide the quality support that we do. There are several initiatives across the organisation to try and reduce staff turnover and we are continually striving to make Affinity Trust an employer of choice and a place where people want to stay. Regards, Victoria Neish, Director of Operations and Quality

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Treat your support workers with respect"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Support Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Affinity Trust part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Just the people we support

    Cons

    Management don't know what their doing and are never there when there is a problem

    Continue reading
    Affinity Trust2019-08-14

    Affinity Trust Response

    August 22, 2019Chief Executive

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed working with the people we support. A Support Worker's role is indeed very rewarding as the impact the role has on people’s lives, enabling someone to meet their chosen outcomes, cannot be underestimated. As an organisation, we value the contribution of each employee and we know that, without the efforts and dedication shown by staff, we could not achieve such a high quality level of support. With regard to your comments about the management support you received, I am unable to comment without detail. We invest in a management development programme of face-to-face training for all managers which receives excellent feedback from staff. Could you please contact me so that I can look into the points raised properly. Regards, Victoria Neish, Director of Operations and Quality

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (2)

    "My experience of this company is not positive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Affinity Trust full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The only positive comment I can make is that the people we support have a far greater mentality than the upper management team

    Cons

    Long hours and little pay . This company is farcical . Totally outrageous that management can lie. No positive example set to the support workers.

    Continue reading
    Affinity Trust2019-08-13

    Affinity Trust Response

    September 17, 2019Chief Executive

    I appreciate you taking the time to complete your review, and I am pleased to see that you enjoyed and valued working with the people we support. With regard to the comments you have made regarding pay, this is a sector-wide issue and something that Affinity Trust recognise and are continually striving to improve. We raise this issue with local authority commissioners all of the time and with relevant bodies wherever we can to highlight the issue. We do however pay above the National Living Wage and have a range of benefits for staff such as affinity4u, which enables a wide range of savings with online and high street retailers. I am unable to comment on the further points you have raised as there isn’t sufficient detail. Please contact me directly to give me an opportunity to fully explore the points raised. Regards, Victoria Neish, Director of Operations and Quality

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Management never seem to be around"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Leicester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Affinity Trust full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's a job someone's got to do it

    Cons

    There are no words to describe this company which could be printed

    Continue reading
    Affinity Trust2019-05-23

    Affinity Trust Response

    June 4, 2019Chief Executive

    It is disappointing to read the comments you have made, and this is certainly not how we would like any employee to perceive their working environment. I am unable to respond in a meaningful way without having further detail and therefore could you please contact me directly at your earliest convenience to give me an opportunity to explore your views and respond accordingly. Regards Victoria Neish, Director of Operations and Quality

    Continue reading
Found 102 reviews