Affordable Solar Reviews

Updated Mar 1, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
58%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
Affordable Solar CEO Ryan Centerwall (no image)
Ryan Centerwall
21 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work, friendly people!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affordable Solar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I’ve been employed at Affordable Solar for a while now and I can tell you that they live up to their reputation of being one of the best places to work in New Mexico. I’ve found the employees friendly and the management staff knowledgeable and helpful. All members of the senior leadership team are approachable and willing to help. I highly recommend Affordable Solar as an employer of choice for anyone looking for a great opportunity, friendly people and casual lighthearted working environment.

    Cons

    None that I can see.

    Continue reading
    Affordable Solar2019-08-15
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Dead end Company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Operations Supervisor in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Affordable Solar full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Interesting projects. Doing work that benefits the planet, the State of New Mexico and the citizens on New Mexico.

    Cons

    Extremely top heavy company. Inequitable compensation to work load expectations. Plummeting morale among the field laborers due to unfair compensation for the work load and brutal work conditions. Terrible work/life balance. Terrible benefits and compensation packages. Bully management style is rampant within the company. Very unsophisticated training leads to mistakes which are dealt with by management in a less than professional manner. Punitive managment style from the top down. Zero incentive to go above and beyond the daily work demands.

    Continue reading
    Affordable Solar2020-03-01
  3. "CEO can't be bothered to join company at company thanksgiving"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solar Consultant in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Affordable Solar full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    we had thanksgiving meal before the holiday

    Cons

    CEO is now too good to sit with the people who make the company run on a daily basis. I guess it means more to him to sit in his Tesla now and look down on us while he laughs. Greed has overtaken the company now. WEEST wouldn't be happy about CEOs treatment of female employees. TK

    Continue reading
    Affordable Solar2019-11-28
  4. Helpful (1)

    "I can't believe I made it as long as I did"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Residential Project Manager in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Affordable Solar full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    snacks during the middle of the week

    Cons

    loud, obnoxious co-worker drove me to no end and I had to find something else clueless management no accountability for employees c suite execs like to spend money that could be spent on better the company and employees on tesla's to boost the ego

    Continue reading
    Affordable Solar2019-11-23
  5. Helpful (1)

    "This place is desperate for workers, don't fall into the trap"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Site Superintendent in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Affordable Solar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you're management or higher you can have/do whatever you want

    Cons

    If you're a regular worker not in the office you will be reprimanded for any mistakes even if they're out of your control

    Continue reading
    Affordable Solar2019-11-16
  6. Helpful (1)

    "No HR, CEO, only the COO and all decisions are made through her *DO NOT APPLY!*"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Construction Lead in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Affordable Solar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company events Non-upper management are reasonable people

    Cons

    COO is complete control HR department is clueless and won't take corrective action against overbearing power trips CEO allows all this to go one as a majority owner in the company now he doesn't care about anything but his profit share CFO and Founder both sold shares back to company to "retire" but they can see what is on the horizon and did the smart thing and got out while they had a chance. You have to be in with the COO or be on edge about your job every day.

    Continue reading
    Affordable Solar2019-11-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Good growing company."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Current Employee, Commercial in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affordable Solar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Growing company. No micromanagement. Expectations are set and you are given resources to do your job. Everyone's input is valued and I feel my opinions and ideas are heard, considered, and in many cases have been implemented. Everyone is encouraged to be a contributing member and bring new ideas to the table. I've been at Affordable Solar for almost 5 years and have had several job titles. If you work hard and do your job well they recognize it and you move up in the company. I truly feel like they care about me as an employee and care about my life outside of work. In my time with the company, I have witnessed tremendous growth. Naturally with rapid growth comes growing pains. Our new COO has taken the reins and staffed up much-needed help in the office, she's upgrading our customer management systems, and continues to seek input from everyone on the team to find things that aren't working and improve every possible process we can. I respect her as a leader and manager and not because I have to. Every job here is crucial to our success and I feel proud to be a part of it. We've gotten so busy that we've had to look at the way we were doing things and strategize on better ways so we can keep up without sacrificing quality. Change is hard for many people however it's unavoidable in this industry for a growing company. We're constantly looking at our past, learning from our mistakes, sharing best practices and are looking forward to our future. If you quantified our growth over the last 6 years there's no denying that we're doing a lot of things right. We only get better and better.

    Cons

    It's not always easy. It's pretty hard work. The Solar Industry, AKA the "Solar Coaster", is heavily influenced by everchanging tariffs, material availability, logistics, government incentives, manpower, client contracts, etc. Nothing about this business is easy. The biggest cons I can think of are not tied to Affordable Solar alone, it's just the nature of the business that affects all solar companies. The one major con I can think of related to the company itself is waiting as long as they did to upgrade our customer management system. In their defense, I'm not sure they expected to grow our pipeline exponentially the way they did over the last year. It's tedious to bring in a new system. It takes months to get it set up, tailored to our needs, and it takes time away from our daily responsibilities to learn it. It's quite miserable in fact. With that said, I'm thankful we are doing it now and not later. Couldn't be happier.

    Continue reading
    Affordable Solar2019-05-30
  8. "Great local company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affordable Solar full-time

    Pros

    A very innovative company that is constantly trying to improve and increase efficiency in every process. Management is not afraid of implementing new ideas and listen to the input of every employee. They value their human resources and make it known by offering great benefits and an amazing work culture. They want their employees to experience a good work/life balance. The company truly cares about environmental stewardship and being a leader in clean renewable energy.

    Cons

    Fast moving company requires the ability to adapt to new roles and responsibilities constantly, The industry is influenced by many factors outside of their control and that can be difficult to contend with at times.

    Continue reading
    Affordable Solar2019-05-31
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be great"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Affordable Solar full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Pay, Good Coffee, Good Coworkers

    Cons

    Increasing Typical Corporate Culture, Bad Management

    Continue reading
    Affordable Solar2019-05-08
  10. "Top Company in Albuquerque"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commercial Solar in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affordable Solar full-time

    Pros

    By far the best company that I have worked for. Professional, attentive to employees needs, incredibly forward thinking and innovative.

    Cons

    None that I can think of at the moment.

    Continue reading
    Affordable Solar2019-04-25
Found 26 reviews