Affymetrix Reviews in Santa Clara, CA | Glassdoor

Affymetrix Santa Clara Reviews

41 reviews

Filter

Filter

Santa Clara, CA

41 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • Many changes with the Thermo Fisher Acquisition (in 4 reviews)

  • Manager depent on employees too much, they have no scientific knowledges (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Helpful (2)

    "workday HcM Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Workday HCM Consultant in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Employee - Workday HCM Consultant in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Affymetrix (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Its awesome company to work

    Cons

    Not much locations ,no more comments

    Affymetrix Response

    Feb 8, 2016 – Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition and HRBP

    I appreciate you taking the time to write a review; thanks for your feedback!


  2. Helpful (2)

    "Research Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Affymetrix full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Awesome team and great work life balance. Great cafeteria and health benefits. Management tried to give room for learning and would present new opportunities to excel in the lab.

    Cons

    The work was repetitive and sometimes the team had to do tasks that did not match the scope of the role which included admin stuff. Junior manager who did not have prior experience managing people was tricky as well.

    Affymetrix Response

    Jan 29, 2016 – Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition and HRBP

    Thank you for your feedback!

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Global reach - local feel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Research Associate in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affymetrix full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Flexibility: My department understands there's more to life than what happens inside this building. I am a proven producer, and have a lot of autonomy. My manager is comfortable with my judgment about taking a few hours for a Dr's appointment, leaving early to volunteer at my kids' schools, or flexing my start/end times around to fit with other commitments in my life

    Cons

    For a while, IT Helpdesk support was flaky or slow to respond. That seems to have gotten better over the last few months.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the team together! With changes in the business world, relying on the horses what brung ya will keep us going strong.

    Affymetrix Response

    Jan 15, 2016 – Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition and HRBP

    Thank you for your commitment to Affymetrix!


  4. Helpful (3)

    "Not a Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Affymetrix (More than a year)

    Pros

    If you're a scientist this may be the place for you.

    Cons

    If you're on the business side of things marketing, sales, finance, IT, etc. there's not much of a future here.

    Affymetrix Response

    Aug 6, 2015 – Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition and HRBP

    Thank you for your candid feedback. Regarding the comment about having a future at Affymetrix, sometimes in smaller environments, it is a little more difficult to see a progression or future as... More


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Finance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Affymetrix full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits! People within immediate department are helpful and friendly.

    Cons

    Too new with company to comment

    Affymetrix Response

    Jul 17, 2015 – Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition and HRBP

    Thank you for recognizing our benefits program! It is very comprehensive and one of the best plans I have worked with. Welcome to the Affy team!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA

    I have been working at Affymetrix full-time

    Pros

    Work with great minds and very goal driven individuals

    Cons

    competitive workplace and difficulty moving up

    Affymetrix Response

    Jun 25, 2015 – Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition and HRBP

    Thank you for your review!


  7. Helpful (1)

    "One of the best companies I have ever worked for :)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Since Affy is a midsize company there is a lot of opportunity to learn and grow within the company. Colleges are very helpful and extremely friendly. Even the senior leadership is very approachable unlike other big companies. Employees are recognized for their work. I have been with the company for 4 yrs. and have no plans of leaving anytime soon.

    Cons

    It's a small company so one side you get to learn a lot but the only problem is when an employee leaves it really impacts as we have limited resources and along with that the subject matter knowledge also is gone with that employee and due to lack of documentation sometimes it's a challenge to keep systems running.

    Affymetrix Response

    Apr 22, 2015 – Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition and HRBP

    Happy to read this positive review! Keep up the good work! Yes, sometimes resources might be limited but it sounds like you work with a strong team that helps one another. Thank you for taking the... More

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Affymetrix could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Scientist in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Employee - Scientist in Santa Clara, CA

    I worked at Affymetrix full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Good benefits and nice people

    Cons

    low salary, slow promotion, bad manager quality

    Advice to Management

    Annual review should be more stringent to higher level managers

    Affymetrix Response

    Apr 6, 2015 – Sr. Manager, Talent Acquisition and HRBP

    Thank you for your response. Is it possible for you to elaborate more on the last comment about "annual review should be more stringent to higher level managers?"


  9. "Great company to work for, even when the company was going through it's growing pains."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Library Technical Assistant in Santa Clara, CA
    Former Contractor - Library Technical Assistant in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Affymetrix as a contractor (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    There are always ways to proof yourself. Individual Managers are great in parsing out workloads.

    Cons

    Like any other company, have to make the most of a roller-coaster economy, which means being lean and mean.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees more, they do make a difference.

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 31, 2014 – Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    Here at Affy we feel that it's very valuable to be able to hear from our employees. It's nice to see that employees are able to voice their opinions here on Glassdoor. This will allow us to better... More


  10. "Great place to work, and help make a better world!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Santa Clara, CA
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Santa Clara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Affymetrix full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    I've been an Affy employee for 4 years, and am happy to be part of a company that is making a difference in the world in so many ways. I enjoy being with my friendly, down-to-earth, hard-working and very smart co-workers. Our CEO, Frank Witney, has done an amazing job of turning around the company; and he's also a genuine, caring, and extremely conscientious leader. There is a lot of opportunity ahead for Affymetrix, and for employees who are willing to make the extra effort.

    Cons

    Affymetrix went through some hard times, and is making huge progress. Sometimes, employees need just a little more patience, and realize that we still have to keep watching the bottom line. Like every company I've ever worked in, we need to keep focusing on simplifying processes, and finding ways to keep the workload manageable while getting the best productivity we can.

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating openly -- even if there is unpleasant news. Keep caring -- it shows that you are now better aligned and working together to help the company succeed.

    Affymetrix Response

    Oct 9, 2014 – Mgr, Global Staffing & HRBP

    Thanks for your feedback. Glad to hear that you are having a positive experience here at Affymetrix.


Showing 41 of 126 reviews
Reset Filters